Fixing Boot Locations

Non release banter
Post Reply
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3402
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Fixing Boot Locations

Post#1 by Ed_P » 04 Dec 2016, 19:14

When I boot an ISO I don't specify the /dev/sd*#/ with the from= command.

grub4dos code

Code: Select all

set ISO30=Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0.1-x86_64-nu.iso

title Porteus 3.0.1 extramod=     \n213MB\n %ISO30% 
find --set-root                       /ISOs/%ISO30%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /ISOs/%ISO30% (0xff) 
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO30% extramod=/porteus3.0/Modules;/porteus3.0/modsavedat volume=33 reboot=cold
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ bootdev.sh x
System Memory:  1735M
Boot device:   /mnt/sda5
Boot device format: "ntfs" 
Boot folder:   /porteus3.0/
Boot mode:     ISO /ISOs/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0.1-x86_64-nu.iso
OS:       Porteus-v3.0.1
ARCH:     x86_64
Kernel:   Linux porteus 3.14.15-porteus
Cmdline:  quiet from=/ISOs/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0.1-x86_64-nu.iso extramod=/porteus3.0/Modules;/porteus3.0/modsavedat volume=33 reboot=cold

Porteus-Livedbg log: 
# Recognized devices:
/dev/sda1: LABEL="PQSERVICE" UUID="9894832D94830CC6" TYPE="ntfs" 
/dev/sda2: LABEL="SYSTEM RESERVED" UUID="ECF483DEF483AA02" TYPE="ntfs" 
/dev/sda3: LABEL="Acer" UUID="48168114168103E2" TYPE="ntfs" 
/dev/sda5: LABEL="Data" UUID="01CD20066B8BF780" TYPE="ntfs" 
/dev/sda6: LABEL="BKUPS" UUID="1ECAD5A8CAD57C89" TYPE="ntfs" 

# Booting device:
/mnt/sda5

# Porteus data found in:
/mnt/isoloop/porteus

# Changes are stored in:
memory

# Non standard /rootcopy dir:
none

# Modules activated during boot time:
/mnt/isoloop/porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm
/mnt/isoloop/porteus/base/001-core.xzm
/mnt/isoloop/porteus/base/002-xorg.xzm
/mnt/isoloop/porteus/base/003-razor.xzm
/mnt/sda5//porteus3.0/Modules/001-core_alldesktops-150124.xzm
/mnt/sda5//porteus3.0/Modules/002-xorg_alldesktops-150119.xzm
/mnt/sda5//porteus3.0/Modules/002-xorg_alldesktops-150126.xzm
/mnt/sda5//porteus3.0/Modules/04-firefox.xzm
/mnt/sda5//porteus3.0/Modules/07-printing.xzm
/mnt/sda5//porteus3.0/Modules/OOoLight1.1_120606_LinuxX86-64.xzm
/mnt/sda5//porteus3.0/Modules/Wine-1.7.26-x64-GeckoMono-1.xzm

etc
grub2 code

Code: Select all

menuentry "Porteus LXQT ISO" --class slackware   --class icon-porteus  {
     echo Boot disk address is: $root
     echo Prefix is:                      $prefix
     echo The boot mode is:     $grub2win_bootmode

     set iso=/ISOs/Porteus-LXQT-v3.1-x86_64-nu.iso

     search -f $iso --set=root
     echo ISO root is:       $root
     echo ISO is:               $iso
     if [ -f (hd0,1)/USB_INSTALLATION.txt ]; then
         set linux_drv=/mnt/sdb1/porteus3.1
     else
         set linux_drv=/mnt/sda5/porteus3.1
     fi
     echo Porteus extramods     $linux_drv
     set porteus_parms="extramod=$linux_drv/Modules;$linux_drv/modsavedat volume=33 reboot=cold"
     echo Porteus parms are:    $porteus_parms
     echo
     loopback loop $iso
     sleep -v -i 17
 
     linux  (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$iso $porteus_parms
     initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
}
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Small things to polish in Porteus 3.2

Post#2 by Bogomips » 04 Dec 2016, 20:24

Ed_P wrote:When I boot an ISO I don't specify the /dev/sd*#/ with the from= command.
Means a search will be made and first fitting directory structure will be used, and sure as God made little apples one is bound for some reason or other to have a duplicate directory structure with an outdated ISO file on some other medium. Then one wastes lots of time before going to livedbg to check the iso used. :twisted:
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3402
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Small things to polish in Porteus 3.2

Post#3 by Ed_P » 05 Dec 2016, 02:11

Bogomips wrote:Means a search will be made and first fitting directory structure will be used, and sure as God made little apples one is bound for some reason or other to have a duplicate directory structure with an outdated ISO file on some other medium. Then one wastes lots of time before going to livedbg to check the iso used. :twisted:
A valid concern, been there done that, to which adding a UUID:17C8-CC62/, obviously tuned to your drive, or changing the directory structures to remove duplicates works. /tmp10/iso or /tmp.I/iso is easier to type than /dev/sda10/tmp/iso/. :)

BTW livedbg??
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Small things to polish in Porteus 3.2

Post#4 by Bogomips » 05 Dec 2016, 14:18

Ed_P wrote: A valid concern, been there done that, to which adding a UUID:17C8-CC62/, obviously tuned to your drive, or changing the directory structures to remove duplicates works. /tmp10/iso or /tmp.I/iso is easier to type than /dev/sda10/tmp/iso/. :)

BTW livedbg??
It's horses for courses.
  1. adding a UUID:17C8-CC62/, obviously tuned to your drive
    A Fixed drive so don't need a UUID. Only been using such for USBs, Since it's fixed it's also a form of documentation, and can see at a glance from which partition loaded.
  2. /tmp10/iso or /tmp.I/iso is easier to type than /dev/sda10/tmp/iso/
    Don't like cluttering up filesystem with different named directories. For me the less the better as gets confusing. Fewer directories makes for easier housekeeping. Also don't usually type location more than once, just use copy and paste. :)
  3. BTW livedbg??
    /var/log/porteus-livedbg
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Post Reply