Porteus-v3.2.1 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus-v3.2.1 bug reports - kde 32 Bit

Post#76 by Bogomips » 21 Dec 2016, 15:48

Suddenly cpu load spiking at 100%, plasmashell looked like the cause as shown by top. Shortly thereafter, solid 100%, Killed plasmashell (btw this sort of behaviour also demonstrated by krunner), resulting with apps showing on black background. Ctl+Alt+Bsp got back login dialog, then blue progress bar etc. Gui returns with all widgets still working. However there is an erroneous xmessage, which if closed or acknowledged, starts up the GUI login dialog once more. :twisted: This peaking of cpu load seemed to happen upon continuation when computer unattended about 20 minutes.
ImageCould be upstream issue as there was request to generate bug report for kwin crash.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2.1 bug reports

Post#77 by brokenman » 21 Dec 2016, 23:00

plasma was bumped to the next version since the last release. I will keep an eye on it. Thanks.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

fulalas
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 577
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Re: Porteus-v3.2.1 bug reports

Post#78 by fulalas » 22 Dec 2016, 00:15

Bogomips wrote: However for vga_detec different kettle of fish

Code: Select all

	if [ $NV ]; then
	    echo $i"nvidia-$NV.xx driver will be activated -"
	    echo $i"if present in $PTH/optional folder"
	    find $PTH/optional -name "nvidia-$NV*" 2>/dev/null >>/tmp/modules
	else
	    echo $i"latest nvidia driver will be activated -"
	    echo $i"if present in $PTH/optional folder"
	    find $PTH/optional -name "nvidia-*" 2>/dev/null | egrep -v '96.43.|173.14.|304.' >>/tmp/modules
	fi
Glancing quickly, looks like only nvidia- modules would get loaded irregardless of xzm_.
Great, so it's just a matter of changing from nvidia-$NV* and nvidia-* to nvidia-$NV*.xzm and nvidia-*.xzm, right? :)

rchase
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 154
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 xfce x64
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Porteus-v3.2.1 bug reports

Post#79 by rchase » 28 Dec 2016, 00:40

While watching videos in youtube, after an extended period, the sound stutters and Pulse Audio crashes; Porteus shows no audio device until the desktop is restarted.

fulalas
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 577
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Re: Porteus-v3.2.1 bug reports

Post#80 by fulalas » 28 Dec 2016, 04:16

rchase wrote:While watching videos in youtube, after an extended period, the sound stutters and Pulse Audio crashes; Porteus shows no audio device until the desktop is restarted.
Which DE, browser, sound card, plugin (HTML5 or Flash)? I noticed that on pure OpenBox only and I have no idea why it happens. But with XFCE or LXQt I can't reproduce it.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-v3.2.1 bug reports

Post#81 by Rava » 28 Dec 2016, 04:50

^ ^^
Sometimes when I start watching a video (on a streaming website, like youtube) after a pause in doing so, and more often after resume, the video won't start. What helps is stating the mplayer and either playing a mp3, or a video clip. For some reason that does the trick, and the youtube video also starts. Dunno if that might help, but you can try. :D
Cheers!
Yours Rava

Post Reply