Porteus 3.2 and Firefox/Flashplayer problem

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus 3.2 and Firefox/Flashplayer problem

Post#1 by Ed_P » 22 Nov 2016, 22:23

Cinnamon 64-bit ISO boot 4.8.8 kernel.

I have been having a problem with Firefox and the Flashplayer since 3.2 rc5 ( viewtopic.php?f=117&t=6345&p=50057#p50057 ) and would like to do 2 things at this point. 1. resolve the problem and 2. determine it's cause.

Whether I use

Code: Select all

firefox-51.0b2-x86_64-1.xzm
flashplayer-plugin-23.0.0.207-x86_64-1.xzm
which I created with the Porteus 3.2 final update scripts last night or

Code: Select all

firefox-50.0b5-x86_64-1.xzm
flashplayer-plugin-23.0.0.205-x86_64-1.xzm
I end up with

Image

Why? What's wrong?? :wall:

I thought it might be a problem with my save.dat file and started over with a new one a couple of weeks ago but the problem continues.
Ed

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1123
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.2 and Firefox/Flashplayer problem

Post#2 by donald » 22 Nov 2016, 22:44

Hi Ed
Why?...look:
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/op ... in-firefox

Cisco provides an OpenH264 codec (as a source and a binary),
which is their of implementation H.264 codec, and they cover all licensing fees for all parties using their binary.
This codec allows you to use H.264 in WebRTC with gstreamer and Firefox.
It does not enable generic H.264 playback, only WebRTC.

Upstream Firefox versions download and install the OpenH264 plugin by default automatically.
https://brendaneich.com/2013/10/ciscos-h-264-good-news/
and
https://andreasgal.com/2014/10/14/openh ... n-firefox/

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus 3.2 and Firefox/Flashplayer problem

Post#3 by Ed_P » 22 Nov 2016, 23:36

donald wrote:Hi Ed
Why?
I don't care about the OpenH264 codec plugin donald, I care that the Flashplayer plugin isn't showing up. and these links don't work.

http://www.uclick.com/client/adn/pff/

http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

:)
Ed

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1123
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.2 and Firefox/Flashplayer problem

Post#4 by donald » 23 Nov 2016, 00:00

ah okay,
I thought you were worried about the codec download.

fulalas
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 579
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Re: Porteus 3.2 and Firefox/Flashplayer problem

Post#5 by fulalas » 23 Nov 2016, 00:24

Can you try on Always Fresh mode, activating just Flash and Firefox?

Also, try with an older Firefox version: http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/Porteus-v3 ... 6_64-1.xzm

Here it works flawlessly with Porteus 3.2 x64 kernel 4.8.8 and this Firefox version with this Flash: http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/Porteus-v3 ... 6_64-1.xzm

I use this to test (if the game loads, your Flash player is fine): http://www.donkey-kong.org/

Relax. We'll find out :)

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1123
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.2 and Firefox/Flashplayer problem

Post#6 by donald » 23 Nov 2016, 00:36

@ Ed
Downloaded flash via usm (1st entry)-flash-plugin-11.2.202.644-i686-2gv
No prob with PaleMoon:
Image

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus 3.2 and Firefox/Flashplayer problem

Post#7 by Ed_P » 23 Nov 2016, 01:50

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ ls /home/guest/.mozilla/extensions
guest@porteus:~$ 
guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/live/memory/images
000-kernel.xzm/    07-printing-x86_64-21.11.2016.xzm/
001-core.xzm/      changes/
002-xorg.xzm/      firefox-50.0b5-x86_64-1.xzm/
003-cinnamon.xzm/  flashplayer-plugin-23.0.0.205-x86_64-1.xzm/
guest@porteus:~$ 
guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/live/memory/images/changes/home/guest/.mozilla/extensions
guest@porteus:~$ 
Is the guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/live/memory/images/changes/home/guest/.mozilla/extensions a clue? I boot without the flashplayer, shutdown and save the changes which don't include the extension, reboot and add the flashplayer mod but the save.dat file overrides the extensions folder??

-update-

Apparently not.

In AF mode:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ sh /mnt/sda5/porteus3.2/Guest/afmode.sh
Release: 4.8.8-porteus
Cmdline: quiet from=/ISOs/Porteus-CINNAMON-v3.2-x86_64-nu.iso kmap=us extramod=/porteus3.2/Modules  
Modules: ls -h /mnt/live/memory/images/
000-kernel.xzm	  07-printing-x86_64-21.11.2016.xzm
001-core.xzm	  firefox-50.0b5-x86_64-1.xzm
002-xorg.xzm	  flashplayer-plugin-23.0.0.205-x86_64-1.xzm
003-cinnamon.xzm

guest@porteus:~$ ls /home/guest/.mozilla/extensions
guest@porteus:~$ 
Even in AF mode the extensions folder is empty. :unknown:

But the flashplayer does work. The firefox/flashplayer combination works, something in the save.dat folder is the problem, again.

-more-

Because I use a save.dat file I normally change some of the Firefox settings to reduce the space it uses. I change:

browser.bookmarks.max_backups from 15 to 1
browser.cache.disk.capacity from 225280 to 10240
gfx.xrender.enabled from false to true

But I don't see why they would impact the flashplayer plugin.
Ed

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1123
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.2 and Firefox/Flashplayer problem

Post#8 by donald » 23 Nov 2016, 03:17

Ed
(loop)-mount the flash-module and check where the files go to when activated.
mine are in
/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/ which is a link to /usr/lib/flashplugin/libflashplayer.so.
(lib64 if x86_64) :wink:

fulalas
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 579
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Re: Porteus 3.2 and Firefox/Flashplayer problem

Post#9 by fulalas » 23 Nov 2016, 03:46

Please, extract Flash xzm module to a folder, enter in terminal and type ls -R. Here's mine:

Code: Select all

usr/  var/

./usr:
bin/  lib/  lib64/  share/

./usr/bin:
flash-player-properties*

./usr/lib:
kde4/  mozilla/

./usr/lib/kde4:
kcm_adobe_flash_player.so@

./usr/lib/mozilla:
plugins/

./usr/lib/mozilla/plugins:
libflashplayer.so*

./usr/lib64:
kde4/  mozilla@

./usr/lib64/kde4:
kcm_adobe_flash_player.so*

./usr/share:
applications/  icons/  kde4/  pixmaps/

./usr/share/applications:
flash-player-properties.desktop

./usr/share/icons:
hicolor/

./usr/share/icons/hicolor:
16x16/  22x22/  24x24/  32x32/  48x48/

./usr/share/icons/hicolor/16x16:
apps/

./usr/share/icons/hicolor/16x16/apps:
flash-player-properties.png

./usr/share/icons/hicolor/22x22:
apps/

./usr/share/icons/hicolor/22x22/apps:
flash-player-properties.png

./usr/share/icons/hicolor/24x24:
apps/

./usr/share/icons/hicolor/24x24/apps:
flash-player-properties.png

./usr/share/icons/hicolor/32x32:
apps/

./usr/share/icons/hicolor/32x32/apps:
flash-player-properties.png

./usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48:
apps/

./usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps:
flash-player-properties.png

./usr/share/kde4:
services/

./usr/share/kde4/services:
kcm_adobe_flash_player.desktop

./usr/share/pixmaps:
flash-player-properties.png@

./var:
log/

./var/log:
packages/  removed_packages/  removed_scripts/  scripts/  setup/

./var/log/packages:
flashplayer-plugin-23.0.0.205-x86_64-1

./var/log/removed_packages:

./var/log/removed_scripts:

./var/log/scripts:
flashplayer-plugin-23.0.0.205-x86_64-1*

./var/log/setup:
tmp/

./var/log/setup/tmp:
As you can see, there's this:

./usr/lib/mozilla/plugins:
libflashplayer.so*

./usr/lib64:
kde4/ mozilla@
(<- symlink)

So my theory is that you either have a broken Flash xzm module or a broken Firefox installation. With those two xzm modules I linked before I can see 'Shockwave Flash' on Plugins section of my Firefox and, of course, Flash player works. :good:

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus 3.2 and Firefox/Flashplayer problem

Post#10 by Ed_P » 23 Nov 2016, 04:29

donald wrote:Ed
(loop)-mount the flash-module and check where the files go to when activated.
mine are in
/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/ which is a link to /usr/lib/flashplugin/libflashplayer.so.
(lib64 if x86_64) :wink:
In my AF mode with the flashplayer working:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ ls /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/
libflashplayer.so*
guest@porteus:~$ ls /usr/lib/flashplugin/
/bin/ls: cannot access '/usr/lib/flashplugin/': No such file or directory
guest@porteus:~$ ls /usr/lib64/flashplugin/
/bin/ls: cannot access '/usr/lib64/flashplugin/': No such file or directory
guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# ls /usr/lib64/flashplugin/
/bin/ls: cannot access '/usr/lib64/flashplugin/': No such file or directory
root@porteus:/home/guest# ls /usr/lib64/flashplugin/libflashplayer.so
/bin/ls: cannot access '/usr/lib64/flashplugin/libflashplayer.so': No such file or directory
And
fulalas wrote:As you can see, there's this:

./usr/lib/mozilla/plugins:
libflashplayer.so*

./usr/lib64:
kde4/ mozilla@
(<- symlink)

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/home/guest# ls /usr/lib64/mozilla/plugins
libflashplayer.so*
root@porteus:/home/guest# ls /usr/lib64

firefox@
firefox-50.0b5/

mozilla@

root@porteus:/home/guest# ls /usr/lib64/cinnamon
Cinnamon-0.1.typelib    St-1.0.typelib      libcinnamon.so*
CinnamonJS-0.1.typelib  libcinnamon-js.so*
root@porteus:/home/guest# ls /usr/lib64/firefox
/usr/lib64/firefox@
root@porteus:/home/guest# ls /usr/lib64/mozilla
/usr/lib64/mozilla@
root@porteus:/home/guest# 

So now we know where things are, or aren't, when they work in AF mode.
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus 3.2 and Firefox/Flashplayer problem

Post#11 by Ed_P » 23 Nov 2016, 18:40

And in changes=EXIT mode:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ echo Using my save.dat file
Using my save.dat file
guest@porteus:~$ ./afmode.sh
Release: 4.8.8-porteus
Cmdline: quiet from=/ISOs/Porteus-CINNAMON-v3.2-x86_64-nu.iso kmap=us changes=EXIT:/porteus3.2/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus3.2/Modules  
Modules: ls -h /mnt/live/memory/images/
000-kernel.xzm	  07-printing-x86_64-21.11.2016.xzm
001-core.xzm	  changes
002-xorg.xzm	  firefox-50.0b5-x86_64-1.xzm
003-cinnamon.xzm  flashplayer-plugin-23.0.0.205-x86_64-1.xzm

ls /home/guest/.mozilla/extensions

ls /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/
ls: cannot access '/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/': No such file or directory

ls /usr/lib64/mozilla/plugins
ls: cannot access '/usr/lib64/mozilla/plugins': No such file or directory

ls /usr/lib64/firefox /usr/lib64/firefox-50.0b5
/usr/lib64/firefox:
Throbber-small.gif  gmp-clearkey	libnss3.so	 omni.ja
application.ini     gtk2		libnssckbi.so	 platform.ini
browser		    icons		libnssdbm3.chk	 plugin-container
crashreporter	    icudt56l.dat	libnssdbm3.so	 precomplete
crashreporter.ini   libfreeblpriv3.chk	libnssutil3.so	 removed-files
defaults	    libfreeblpriv3.so	libplc4.so	 run-mozilla.sh
dependentlibs.list  liblgpllibs.so	libplds4.so	 update-settings.ini
dictionaries	    libmozavcodec.so	libsmime3.so	 updater
distribution	    libmozavutil.so	libsoftokn3.chk  updater.ini
firefox		    libmozgtk.so	libsoftokn3.so
firefox-bin	    libmozsqlite3.so	libssl3.so
fonts		    libnspr4.so		libxul.so

/usr/lib64/firefox-50.0b5:
Throbber-small.gif  gmp-clearkey	libnss3.so	 omni.ja
application.ini     gtk2		libnssckbi.so	 platform.ini
browser		    icons		libnssdbm3.chk	 plugin-container
crashreporter	    icudt56l.dat	libnssdbm3.so	 precomplete
crashreporter.ini   libfreeblpriv3.chk	libnssutil3.so	 removed-files
defaults	    libfreeblpriv3.so	libplc4.so	 run-mozilla.sh
dependentlibs.list  liblgpllibs.so	libplds4.so	 update-settings.ini
dictionaries	    libmozavcodec.so	libsmime3.so	 updater
distribution	    libmozavutil.so	libsoftokn3.chk  updater.ini
firefox		    libmozgtk.so	libsoftokn3.so
firefox-bin	    libmozsqlite3.so	libssl3.so
fonts		    libnspr4.so		libxul.so

ls /usr/lib64/moz*
ls: cannot access '/usr/lib64/moz*': No such file or directory
guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# ls /usr/lib64/moz*
/bin/ls: cannot access '/usr/lib64/moz*': No such file or directory
root@porteus:/home/guest# ls /usr/lib64/mozilla
/bin/ls: cannot access '/usr/lib64/mozilla': No such file or directory
root@porteus:/home/guest# 
So somehow the /usr/lib64/mozilla folder is missing.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/live/memory/images/changes/usr/lib64/firefox
/bin/ls: cannot access '/mnt/live/memory/images/changes/usr/lib64/firefox': No such file or directory
guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/live/memory/images/changes/usr/lib64/mozilla
/bin/ls: cannot access '/mnt/live/memory/images/changes/usr/lib64/mozilla': No such file or directory
guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/live/memory/images/changes/usr/lib64/mozilla/plugins
/bin/ls: cannot access '/mnt/live/memory/images/changes/usr/lib64/mozilla/plugins': No such file or directory
guest@porteus:~$ 
 
I'm lost. :sorry:

-update-

I deactivated the flashplayer module and then reactivated it thinking that would clear the error and be a fresh "install". Nope, still doesn't work. :wall:

-more-

I've created yet another new save.dat file. Do I need to boot into text mode, log in as root and run cache-module and slim with 3.2 final?
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus 3.2 and Firefox/Flashplayer problem

Post#12 by Ed_P » 24 Nov 2016, 18:40

Ed_P wrote:I've created yet another new save.dat file. Do I need to boot into text mode, log in as root and run cache-module and slim with 3.2 final?
:Search:


Any other suggestions for this problem?
Ed

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 790
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.2 and Firefox/Flashplayer problem

Post#13 by ncmprhnsbl » 25 Nov 2016, 03:04

Ed_P wrote: Do I need to boot into text mode, log in as root and run cache-module and slim with 3.2 final?
nope, i think was just one of the earlier RCs where brokenman forgot to rebuild the caches...

so... to summarize.. firefox and update-flash are good in AF but not when you use your save.dat file?
does the save.dat have any whiteouts lurking?
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus 3.2 and Firefox/Flashplayer problem

Post#14 by Ed_P » 25 Nov 2016, 07:26

ncmprhnsbl wrote:
Ed_P wrote: Do I need to boot into text mode, log in as root and run cache-module and slim with 3.2 final?
nope, i think was just one of the earlier RCs where brokenman forgot to rebuild the caches...
Thank you ncmprhnsbl. :friends:
does the save.dat have any whiteouts lurking?
ohhhh an excellent suggestion ncmprhnsbl. :good:

So in AF mode I found whiteouts that appeared to be related to the problem and did this:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# mloop /mnt/sda5/porteus3.2/changes/porteussave.dat
using /dev/loop4

Please wait while i gather some info ....

 #################################
 Your data file has been mounted at: 
/mnt/loop

You can unmount it by typing uloop

Here is a list of the files:
etc  home  lib	opt  root  usr	var

root@porteus:/home/guest# rm /mnt/loop/usr/lib/.wh.kde4
root@porteus:/home/guest# rm /mnt/loop/usr/lib/.wh.mozilla
root@porteus:/home/guest# rm /mnt/loop/usr/lib64/.wh.kde4
root@porteus:/home/guest# rm /mnt/loop/usr/lib64/.wh.mozilla
root@porteus:/home/guest# rm /mnt/loop/usr/bin/.wh.flash-player-properties
root@porteus:/home/guest# rm /mnt/loop/var/log/scripts/.wh.flashplayer-plugin-23.0.0.162-x86_64-1
root@porteus:/home/guest# rm /mnt/loop/var/log/packages/.wh.flashplayer-plugin-23.0.0.162-x86_64-1
root@porteus:/home/guest# rm /mnt/loop/usr/share/.wh.kde4
root@porteus:/home/guest# rm /mnt/loop/usr/share/icons/hicolor/??x??/apps/.wh.flash-player-properties.png
root@porteus:/home/guest# rm /mnt/loop/usr/share/pixmaps/.wh.flash-player-properties.png
root@porteus:/home/guest# rm /mnt/loop/usr/share/applications/.wh.google-chrome.desktop
root@porteus:/home/guest# uloop

/mnt/loop has been unmounted

root@porteus:/home/guest# exit
exit
guest@porteus:~$ 
I rebooted to my changes=EXIT save.dat mode, started Firefox, went to the Alaska link I posted previously and

It Worked!! :Yahoo!:

There was a flash warning that the version i was using (flashplayer-plugin-23.0.0.205-x86_64-1.xzm) wasn't current so I decided to update the flashplayer module.

I exited Firefox and deactivated the flashplayer-plugin-23.0.0.205-x86_64-1.xzm module. In terminal I su'd to root and ran update-flash. It created flashplayer-plugin-23.0.0.207-x 6_64-1.xzm which I copied to my Modules folder and activated. I then restarted firefox and found that the flashplayer plugin was missing again. :wall:

I reran the update-flash update again, deactivated the module in the Modules folder, copied the new flashplayer module to my Modules folder, activated it and restarted firefox. Same problem, flash plugin missing.

:evil:
Ed

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 790
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.2 and Firefox/Flashplayer problem

Post#15 by ncmprhnsbl » 25 Nov 2016, 11:34

curiouser and curiouser...
so...
when running with save.dat.. have a look in /mnt/live/memory/changes for whiteouts maybe...
deactivating a module shouldnt be creating them if theyre there ...
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Post Reply