3.2rc5 and Chromium

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
Post Reply
jesmith
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 16 Jan 2012, 18:48
Location: USA

3.2rc5 and Chromium

Post#1 by jesmith » 19 Oct 2016, 20:40

I tried chromium-53.0.2785.92-i486-1alien (the 14.2 build) in 3.2rc5 and it's dying because it cannot find libavahi-common.so.3

Obviously, I can go hunt that and any dependencies it has down, but since chromium builds from http://www.slackware.com/~alien/slackbu ... romium/pkg were working clean out of the box before, I thought you might want to include that (and its dependencies) in 002-xorg.xzm

-Joshua

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Post#2 by francois » 19 Oct 2016, 23:53

The process of getting or updating google-chrome is in a terminal. Building it from the usm package is more problematic:

Code: Select all

update-chrome
firefox:

Code: Select all

update-firefox
etc.

Try it its great. :)
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

jesmith
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 16 Jan 2012, 18:48
Location: USA

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Post#3 by jesmith » 21 Oct 2016, 16:45

Unfortunately, I need to stay at 32-bit (I don't want to re-build the entire software stack I'm using), and that command says it only works with 64-bit.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1337
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Post#4 by Blaze » 21 Oct 2016, 17:22

jesmith, run these commands as root user

Code: Select all

su
toor
update-chrome
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Post#5 by brokenman » 21 Oct 2016, 21:34

This is from the chromium page:
https://chromium.googlesource.com/chrom ... uctions.md

System requirements

64-bits: x86 builds are not supported on Linux.
Memory: >16GB is highly recommended.
Disk space: Expect a full checkout and build to take nearly 100GB.
Distribution: You should be able to build Chromium on any reasonably modern Linux distribution, but there are a lot of distributions and we sometimes break things on one or another. Internally, our development platform has been a variant of Ubuntu 14.04 (Trusty Tahr); we expect you will have the most luck on this platform.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

jesmith
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 16 Jan 2012, 18:48
Location: USA

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Post#6 by jesmith » 25 Oct 2016, 18:34

As I said at the top of this thread, I've been using chromium-52.0.2743.116-i486-1alien.xzm which is a 32-bit build that works just fine.

I get that they don't "officially" support it, but until it actually stops working, I'm not going to go rebuilding the rest of a mature and robust existing software stack to move to x64.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Post#7 by wread » 28 Oct 2016, 01:53

Here https://slackbuilds.org/result/?search=avahi&sv=14.2 you can make the module you are needing...
It contains the library libavahi-common.so.3 :)
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

alienbob
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 14
Joined: 17 Nov 2015, 21:06
Distribution: Slackware
Location: Eindhoven

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Post#8 by alienbob » 04 Nov 2016, 20:48

My chromium packages DO NOT depend on avahi. If you get an error about missing libavahi then this is caused by a Slackware library which is needed by chromium and which you replaced with a 3rd-party precompiled version which DOES depend on avahi.
I'd suggest checking your system.

burdi01
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 46
Joined: 18 Aug 2013, 12:09
Distribution: Slackware, Xubuntu
Location: The Netherlands

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Post#9 by burdi01 » 05 Nov 2016, 11:23

Using the Porteus-MATE-v3.2rc5-i586.iso dated Sep 4, 2016 as distributed (no patches, no saved files) I downloaded and instalpkg'ed the chromium-54-0.2840.90-i486-1alien.txz, chromium-pepperflash-plugin-23.0.0.205-i386-1alien.txz and chromium-widevine-plugin-48.0.2564.116-i386-1alien.txz packages.

Running "chromium" as user guest is OK: no complaints about libavahi or whatever.
Running "chromium --user-data-dir" as root fails with "[2591:2591:1105/114635:FATAL:setuid_sandbox_client.cc(126)] Check failed: IsFileSystemAccessDenied()." followed by "[2582:2582:1105/114635:FATAL:zygote_impl_linux.cc(196) Check failed: ReceiveFixedMessage(dfs[0], kZygoteHelloMessage, sizeof(kZygoteHelloMessage), &real_pid)."

An ldd scan of all (but a few) executables and libraries gave no hits for avahi.
:D

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Post#10 by francois » 05 Nov 2016, 13:54

I used to run chromium as root too. But was no more able to run root with the most recent versions, and I think that google purposedly had made it impossible. If you find the solution good for you.

Personally, I run chromium or google chrome guest within root environment with the following command:

Code: Select all

su -c chromium guest
If you really want to be able to use a browser in root mode, you can resort to the use of firefox.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Post#11 by brokenman » 06 Nov 2016, 17:06

Well, I wasn't even aware you could run chromium on 32bit. Apologies. I just installed alienbob's package and it runs nicely. As mentioned, no avahi required.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

neko
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 864
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Post#12 by neko » 29 Dec 2016, 06:47

@jesmith

May be, you could use the Arch packages in Porteus 3.2 environment.
Therefore download "spm-16.12.24-noarch-1.xzm" and activate it.
viewtopic.php?f=75&t=4997#p36687

GUI menu:
"archSPM commnans" ---->mkapl---->chromium

You will get chromium.xzm.
chromium-widevine-1:1.4.8.824-i686-1: Version is fixed. will not be updated.
Other packages/libraries are the latest versions at the created time.
(chromium-55.0.2883.87-i686-1: 2016.12.29)

This is chromium.xzm that was gotten by the above procedure.
chromium.xzm (75 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/5j0bfctqe ... romium.xzm
md5sum: 1c6684c4a0529244b648e9fddce1edc2 chromium.xzm


Thanks.

Post Reply