Anybody using intel/AMD hybrid graphics?

Non release banter
Post Reply
User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Anybody using intel/AMD hybrid graphics?

Post#1 by brokenman » 09 Oct 2016, 02:07

If you have a machine with intel/AMD hybrid graphics I would be interested to know.

Some cards are now supported by the amdgpu driver but I am having trouble getting the AMD card working.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1349
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Anybody using intel/AMD hybrid graphics?

Post#2 by Blaze » 09 Oct 2016, 17:07

If look at http://support.amd.com/ru-ru/download/d ... x%20x86_64
Driver for my Radeon R7 360 video card dates back to 18.12.2015
AMD sucks, but NVIDIA has a big price.
Sanctions vs Russia did their job

Code: Select all

1$ = 62,30 rub
1€ = 69,23 rub
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Anybody using intel/AMD hybrid graphics?

Post#3 by brokenman » 09 Oct 2016, 17:49

I have the Radeon R7 M260/M265 but I can't get any of the proprietary drivers to work with it.

With the latest kernel I can get decent acceleration with the onboard intel one though.

To test the difference:

Code: Select all

glxgears
export VDPAU_DRIVER=va_gl
DRI_PRIME=1 glxgears
However if I try to swap to the discreet AMD card it segfaults.

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/# xrandr --listproviders
Providers: number : 2
Provider 0: id: 0x76 cap: 0xb, Source Output, Sink Output, Sink Offload crtcs: 3 outputs: 4 associated providers: 0 name:Intel
Provider 1: id: 0x4f cap: 0xd, Source Output, Source Offload, Sink Offload crtcs: 0 outputs: 0 associated providers: 0 name:TOPAZ @ pci:0000:03:00.0

root@porteus:/# xrandr --setprovideroffloadsink 0x4f 0x76
root@porteus:/# DRI_PRIME=1 glxgears -info
Here it segfaults (you can see in the logs) and falls back to init 3
Last edited by brokenman on 09 Oct 2016, 17:50, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: typo
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Anybody using intel/AMD hybrid graphics?

Post#4 by Ed_P » 10 Oct 2016, 01:23

brokenman wrote:If you have a machine with intel/AMD hybrid graphics I would be interested to know.

Some cards are now supported by the amdgpu driver but I am having trouble getting the AMD card working.
How do I determine what graphics my machine is using brokenman.
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Anybody using intel/AMD hybrid graphics?

Post#5 by brokenman » 10 Oct 2016, 01:42

Try porteus-settings-centre. There is an information application in there to show you everything.

Another option is from a terminal: lspci | egrep "VGA|Display"
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Anybody using intel/AMD hybrid graphics?

Post#6 by Ed_P » 10 Oct 2016, 01:55

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ lspci | egrep "VGA|Display"
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Wrestler [Radeon HD 6290]
guest@porteus:~$ 
Sorry, I don't have the hybrid.

FWIW My Porteus System Info window shows Kernel, System, Processor, Motherboard, Battery, Bios, Memory, Screen and Chassis. Screen and Chassis didn't show the Display hardware.
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Anybody using intel/AMD hybrid graphics?

Post#7 by brokenman » 10 Oct 2016, 02:01

FWIW My Porteus System Info window shows Kernel, System, Processor, Motherboard, Battery, Bios, Memory, Screen and Chassis. Screen and Chassis didn't show the Display hardware.
There is a media tab which contains the graphics card information.

Can you please show the output of: lspci -k

Thanks.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Anybody using intel/AMD hybrid graphics?

Post#8 by Ed_P » 10 Oct 2016, 04:00

brokenman wrote:
FWIW My Porteus System Info window shows Kernel, System, Processor, Motherboard, Battery, Bios, Memory, Screen and Chassis. Screen and Chassis didn't show the Display hardware.
There is a media tab which contains the graphics card information.
Yes there is. :oops:

Code: Select all

GRAPHICS:

00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Wrestler [Radeon HD 6290] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
	Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0598
	Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 41
	Memory at 80000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
	I/O ports at 4000 [size=256]
	Memory at 90400000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256K]
	Expansion ROM at <unassigned> [disabled]
	Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
	Capabilities: [58] Express Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
	Capabilities: [a0] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
	Capabilities: [100] Vendor Specific Information: ID=0001 Rev=1 Len=010 <?>
	Kernel driver in use: radeon
	Kernel modules: radeon

I just don't think of graphics as media. :sorry:
Can you please show the output of: lspci -k

Thanks.
Yes sir. :)

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ lspci -k
00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 14h Processor Root Complex
	Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0598
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Wrestler [Radeon HD 6290]
	Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0598
	Kernel driver in use: radeon
	Kernel modules: radeon
00:01.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Wrestler HDMI Audio
	Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0598
	Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
	Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
00:11.0 SATA controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
	Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0598
	Kernel driver in use: ahci
00:12.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
	Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0598
	Kernel driver in use: ohci-pci
00:12.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
	Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0598
	Kernel driver in use: ehci-pci
00:13.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
	Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0598
	Kernel driver in use: ohci-pci
00:13.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
	Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0598
	Kernel driver in use: ehci-pci
00:14.0 SMBus: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 42)
	Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0598
	Kernel driver in use: piix4_smbus
	Kernel modules: i2c_piix4
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)
	Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0598
	Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
	Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
00:14.3 ISA bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 LPC host controller (rev 40)
	Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0598
00:14.4 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge (rev 40)
00:15.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB700/SB800/SB900 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 0)
	Kernel driver in use: pcieport
	Kernel modules: shpchp
00:15.2 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB900 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 2)
	Kernel driver in use: pcieport
	Kernel modules: shpchp
00:15.3 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB900 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 3)
	Kernel driver in use: pcieport
	Kernel modules: shpchp
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 0 (rev 43)
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 1
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 2
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 3
	Kernel driver in use: k10temp
	Kernel modules: k10temp
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 4
00:18.5 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 6
00:18.6 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 5
00:18.7 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 7
06:00.0 Ethernet controller: Qualcomm Atheros AR8152 v2.0 Fast Ethernet (rev c1)
	Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0598
	Kernel driver in use: atl1c
	Kernel modules: atl1c
07:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4313 802.11bgn Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)
	Subsystem: Foxconn International, Inc. Device e042
	Kernel driver in use: wl
	Kernel modules: bcma, wl
guest@porteus:~$ 
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Anybody using intel/AMD hybrid graphics?

Post#9 by brokenman » 10 Oct 2016, 14:54

Thanks. Looks like your using the radeon driver.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply