no audio in rdp

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
User avatar
bshogeman
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 27
Joined: 10 May 2013, 13:12
Distribution: Porteus 2.0 x64
Location: Lisse, the Netherlands
Contact:

no audio in rdp

Post#1 by bshogeman » 30 Sep 2016, 14:24

Upgraded Porteus to the latest version Porteus-v3.2rc5 with kerenel 4.7.2 but audio works within porteus but not within a terminal session. It doesn't mater if I use rdesktop or xfreerdp. Same result.

rdesktop:
ALSA lib pcm.c:2266:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM pulse
ERROR: snd_pcm_open: No such file or directory
WARNING: no working audio-driver found

xfreerdp:
No error but also no sound. It doesn't mater if I use alsa or pulseaudio.

Again within porteus itself the audio is working fine.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1095
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: no audio in rdp

Post#2 by wread » 30 Sep 2016, 20:56

@bshogeman
If you don't state which desktop you are using, it will be very difficult to help you. Please be more specific...and some one will come help you.

Regards!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1505
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: no audio in rdp

Post#3 by Blaze » 01 Oct 2016, 06:59

Hi, bshogeman.
Do you try VNC server (port 5900) + TigerVNC client (usm -g TigerVNC)?
More info you can find here.
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
bshogeman
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 27
Joined: 10 May 2013, 13:12
Distribution: Porteus 2.0 x64
Location: Lisse, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: no audio in rdp

Post#4 by bshogeman » 05 Oct 2016, 07:45

I use the XFCE version of porteus. And what I try to connect is a Windows Terminal Server. But that is the only thing you can connect with the named tools xfreerdp and rdesktop.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1505
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: no audio in rdp

Post#5 by Blaze » 05 Oct 2016, 19:31

bshogeman, do you try to connect to PC via Window$ Remote Desktop Connection?
Open Remote Desktop Connection by clicking the Start button Start button icon.
In the search box, type Remote Desktop Connection, and then, in the list of results, click Remote Desktop Connection.
In the Computer box, type the name of the computer that you want to connect to, and then click Connect. (You can also type the IP address instead of the computer name.)
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

Post Reply