Man Pages inside KDE

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
JoeyKowala
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 23 Jun 2011, 23:53
Location: Canada

Man Pages inside KDE

Post#1 by JoeyKowala » 24 Jun 2011, 18:18

Hi !

I've been following Porteus since the start, and I'd like to say, well done !

I'm missing something, or just don't understand something.
I can access the man pages.

example:

man ls

at the command line, and it works fine.

I really like using KDE to display the manpages. When I try it, I don't get anything to display.

When typing man:command in the url, I can see the autocompletion takeover indicating that it's aware of what I'm attempting, but it doesn't ever display the manpage for the command. Everything seems fine when I'm at the command line.

Is there an obscure setting in KDE that I need to switch on ???

Joey

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Man Pages inside KDE

Post#2 by fanthom » 24 Jun 2011, 20:37

Hello Joey,

i need to admit that i was not aware of this KDE feature and never had a chance to check it.
will try to dig into it in my free time.

Thanks for the report.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Man Pages inside KDE

Post#3 by Ahau » 24 Jun 2011, 21:24

I checked it out, and couldn't get it to work in 32-bit Porteus. In 64-bit, you can enter, for example, 'man:ls' in dolphin, and it will open the man page in firefox. It will open up the man page index in 32-bit, if you type, 'man:/', but it won't open any of the man pages themselves, as far as I can tell. I'm going to try downloading and installing a slack .txz package, then opening it's man page, to see if for some reason the problem lies in how we untar manpages and then compress them into the modules.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Man Pages inside KDE

Post#4 by brokenman » 28 Jun 2011, 21:07

I hadn't used this function in a looong time. Because i am always in a console i just add: export PAGER="most" to my .bashrc file to get colorized man pages. I checked the kio slave and everything looks good for konqueror. File associations also look ok. I thought it might be the encoding of konqueror, but changing that gives no positive outcome.

The path looks correctly set in profile (man -w) and unsetting the MANPATH to force a read of man.conf doesn't help.

Installing the bluefish.txz places the file usr/man/man1/bluefish.1.gz but putting #bluefish into konqueror also gives blank page for this, as does putting in the full path. Ahau's theory seemed plausible but apparently this is not the problem. I am thinking it is something at the root of kdebase which needs a fixin. Will dig around some more.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Man Pages inside KDE

Post#5 by Ahau » 28 Jun 2011, 21:45

meh. my theory was bogus -- I tested some txz's (but apparently didn't post the results) -- it was a no-go.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Man Pages inside KDE

Post#6 by brokenman » 12 Jul 2011, 14:04

This is driving me nuts. I think i'm gonna recompile Trinity with the latest cmake port.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply