NetworkManager Applet (3.2rc5)

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
FURRY_NOVA
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 83
Joined: 11 Aug 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus XFCE v3.2 i586
Location: United Kingdom

NetworkManager Applet (3.2rc5)

Post#1 by FURRY_NOVA » 24 Sep 2016, 20:24

When booting, there's a 2/3 chance NetworkManager Applet will fail starting up at boot resulting in no WiFi and Internet access. I mostly have to reboot and hope it starts next time to be able to get online. :(

A video was posted not long ago with same issue in main index chat not long ago by someone else. Looks like it effecting other GUI than XFCE users too: https://youtu.be/w2XC_FTZeyc?t=1m52s (From this time frame for next few seconds shows what it looks like.)

I've tried disabling IPv6 and restarting applet with with Blaze's root command didn't work.

Code: Select all

/etc/rc.d/rc.networkmanager restart
One time, it show disabled status when my device was 99% non responsive when it was working fine before. Also, if I try click around the applet which shows no signs of response and I shut down after, it shows critical and warning messages related to network. But I don't know how to grab logs to be able to post here to help assist.

Is there a temporary fix till this bug is squished?
New to Linux but learning. Hoping to help out Porteus community. :)

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1353
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: NetworkManager Applet (3.2rc5)

Post#2 by Blaze » 24 Sep 2016, 20:42

Hi, FURRY_NOVA.
Can you show logs of these commands?

Code: Select all

su
toor
lspci -knn
dmesg | grep -i wlan
dmesg | grep -i wireless
cat /var/log/syslog | grep wlan
iwconfig wlan0
iwlist wlan0 scan
ifup wlan0
ifconfig wlan0
ping router-ip-here
ping google.com
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
FURRY_NOVA
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 83
Joined: 11 Aug 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus XFCE v3.2 i586
Location: United Kingdom

Re: NetworkManager Applet (3.2rc5)

Post#3 by FURRY_NOVA » 24 Sep 2016, 21:46

I've sent results to Blaze in PM, was concerned about revealing my WiFi name due to privacy.

Here's the lspci -k results, @ brokenman:

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password:
root@porteus:/home/guest# lspci -k
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GSE Express Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff60
Kernel modules: intel_agp
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GSE Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff60
Kernel driver in use: i915
Kernel modules: i915
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff60
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff6e
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
Kernel modules: shpchp
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
Kernel modules: shpchp
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family PCI Express Port 4 (rev 02)
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
Kernel modules: shpchp
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff60
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1d.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff60
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1d.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff60
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1d.3 USB controller: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff60
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1d.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff60
Kernel driver in use: ehci-pci
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff60
Kernel modules: intel_rng
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) IDE Controller (rev 02)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff60
Kernel driver in use: ata_piix
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801GBM/GHM (ICH7-M Family) SATA Controller [AHCI mode] (rev 02)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff60
Kernel driver in use: ahci
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family SMBus Controller (rev 02)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff60
Kernel driver in use: i801_smbus
Kernel modules: i2c_i801
03:00.0 Network controller: Qualcomm Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)
Subsystem: Askey Computer Corp. Device 7159
Kernel driver in use: ath9k
Kernel modules: ath9k, wl
root@porteus:/home/guest#
New to Linux but learning. Hoping to help out Porteus community. :)

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: NetworkManager Applet (3.2rc5)

Post#4 by brokenman » 24 Sep 2016, 21:58

No problem.

I can confirm that the Atheros 9565 is working ok here. You guys with a problem seem to be using Atheros cards too. Let's wait for Blaze to test a little with dhcp.
Try putting:
dhcp=internal in /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
FURRY_NOVA
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 83
Joined: 11 Aug 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus XFCE v3.2 i586
Location: United Kingdom

Re: NetworkManager Applet (3.2rc5)

Post#5 by FURRY_NOVA » 24 Sep 2016, 22:04

I got this error while running the command.

root@porteus:/home/guest# dhcp=internal in /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
bash: in: command not found
root@porteus:/home/guest#
New to Linux but learning. Hoping to help out Porteus community. :)

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 793
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: NetworkManager Applet (3.2rc5)

Post#6 by ncmprhnsbl » 24 Sep 2016, 22:31

I got this error while running the command.
thats because its not a command ;)
/etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf is a text file to be edited .. ie add dchp=internal to it...(via su filemanager/editor)
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: NetworkManager Applet (3.2rc5)

Post#7 by brokenman » 24 Sep 2016, 22:45

Sorry. I didn't explain it thoroughly. Thanks ncmprhnsbl.

Anybody else having connection problems please post here too. I need to collect information to see where the problem lies. I can't reproduce it so every little detail you can provide helps.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
FURRY_NOVA
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 83
Joined: 11 Aug 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus XFCE v3.2 i586
Location: United Kingdom

Re: NetworkManager Applet (3.2rc5)

Post#8 by FURRY_NOVA » 24 Sep 2016, 23:28

No worries about the command thing, mate.

I've tested it out. First time it worked. Then I tried to test it 2 more times by rebooting. But after first it kept failing same way.
New to Linux but learning. Hoping to help out Porteus community. :)

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: NetworkManager Applet (3.2rc5)

Post#9 by brokenman » 25 Sep 2016, 02:09

I've tested it out. First time it worked.
Could it be that the change you made the first time when it worked didn't persist a reboot?

If the above works then could someone please compile and install dhclient, remove dhcp and then put in /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
dhcp = dhclient

Restart network manager and see if it fails.

This will tell us if it is ipv6 trouble.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
FURRY_NOVA
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 83
Joined: 11 Aug 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus XFCE v3.2 i586
Location: United Kingdom

Re: NetworkManager Applet (3.2rc5)

Post#10 by FURRY_NOVA » 25 Sep 2016, 02:40

I think I just got lucky the first time. The success and fail ratio feels the same out of the 3 attempts. The conf file I edited still has the new replaced value of dhcp=internal.

I'll try doing some testing. I'll let you know if I find anything.
New to Linux but learning. Hoping to help out Porteus community. :)

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: NetworkManager Applet (3.2rc5)

Post#11 by brokenman » 25 Sep 2016, 14:32

Ok thanks. You may try setting your IP manually and see if that works before ding anything else.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1353
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: NetworkManager Applet (3.2rc5)

Post#12 by Blaze » 25 Sep 2016, 17:02

FURRY_NOVA, try this solution
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
FURRY_NOVA
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 83
Joined: 11 Aug 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus XFCE v3.2 i586
Location: United Kingdom

Re: NetworkManager Applet (3.2rc5)

Post#13 by FURRY_NOVA » 25 Sep 2016, 19:40

It didn't work. It made the problem worse I'm afraid. Even though it sometimes failed starting. When it worked it wouldn't let me connect to the WiFi even if I tried manual connecting by direct hidden WiFi method. :(
New to Linux but learning. Hoping to help out Porteus community. :)

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1353
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: NetworkManager Applet (3.2rc5)

Post#14 by Blaze » 26 Sep 2016, 19:56

Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
FURRY_NOVA
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 83
Joined: 11 Aug 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus XFCE v3.2 i586
Location: United Kingdom

Re: NetworkManager Applet (3.2rc5)

Post#15 by FURRY_NOVA » 27 Sep 2016, 01:06

The issue has changed for me now. I kinda corrupted my .dat container by accident the other day and had to make a new one. (Note to self: do not backup a .dat container in GUI mode again. :wall: )

The NetworkManager seems to start up okay now only except that I need to click on it and manually connect to the WiFi after it fully boots. It doesn't ask for password luckily.
From: https://forum.manjaro.org/t/network-manager-applet-error-after-suspend/1385/3 wrote: Workaround:
- downgrading to nm 1.0.12-1 resolves the issue but .. you know :))
Edit:
Downgrading network-manager-applet resolves this issue
I was thinking about doing that since it was fine on v3.1. But I don't know if it safe to run latest from base and downgraded xzm in modules. This probably make a suitable solved solution if it works but I no longer have my old .dat to test it on. The dat container recovery still doesn't work for me.

Before I forget. I'm using a laptop like the person who reported here. Chances it's laptops that cause the issue: viewtopic.php?f=117&t=6237 Also the person on this link says it a laptop for extra confirmation:
From: https://forum.manjaro.org/t/network-manager-applet-error-after-suspend/1385/3 wrote:To reproduce:
- suspend laptop turn back on
- turn of WIFI by hardware switch turn back on
I just found this while tested in a new container. If you take too long to enter the password. The notification will say disconnected and disappear. Then entering the password won't let it connect. Tested it 2 times, same outcome till I entered it faster.

This was tested in a base_only use of a new container just to note.
New to Linux but learning. Hoping to help out Porteus community. :)

Post Reply