Copy to RAM with updates

Arch based Porteus community project
Post Reply
Will
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 22 Sep 2016, 21:15
Distribution: Arch/Gentoo/Nemesis
Location: Brazil

Copy to RAM with updates

Post#1 by Will » 22 Sep 2016, 21:40

Hello!
I have installed Nemesis and updated it using setup-pman and pacman -Syu (because for some reason pman -Syu didn't really work after all the installation process)
I really like the modularity of packages, but that doesn't seem to work very well with arch packages because everything must be updated for new packages to work.

Everything works if I boot from the graphical entry (except very slow), and copy2ram only gives me the fresh system.

So, I wish to make the "fresh system" the updated system with the things I installed. How to do that?

I might be doing something wrong, so sugestions are very welcome!

Thanks! ;)

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Copy to RAM with updates

Post#2 by francois » 23 Sep 2016, 01:39

Good that you got to a functional system. Nemesis is in development. Presently, it has stopped to permit the main developper brokenman to work on the slackware/porteus version of this forum.

Istinjazz is the right guy to get info presently. He is from manjaro and has done some testing on nemesis, and seems quite enthusiastic about nemesis. See:

Many threads are from him in the Nemesis section.

He might be the right guy to answer your question. And to discuss of some of the issues with nemesis, Just wait for the man or send a PM.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Copy to RAM with updates

Post#3 by francois » 23 Sep 2016, 19:41

Or maybe you just want to transform the persistent changes into a module which could become with the other modules your fresh system. And from there build with pman?

In this case, I might be your man.

Especially, that I would appreciate your updated system. :twisted:

Are you on linux file system or fat32?
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Will
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 22 Sep 2016, 21:15
Distribution: Arch/Gentoo/Nemesis
Location: Brazil

Re: Copy to RAM with updates

Post#4 by Will » 24 Sep 2016, 15:20

Vonverting changes to a module is good! It might take forever though :p
Let's proceed with that.
I'm using ext4.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Copy to RAM with updates

Post#5 by francois » 24 Sep 2016, 15:47

Might be worth a try. It depends on the size of the file. Sorry that you did not used ext2 in the first place. :(

This is all I can offer now. Istinjazz might know better.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Will
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 22 Sep 2016, 21:15
Distribution: Arch/Gentoo/Nemesis
Location: Brazil

Re: Copy to RAM with updates

Post#6 by Will » 24 Sep 2016, 16:45

Whats the problem with ext4?
How I do that? dir2xzm changes modules/update.xzm?
Experience of doing that?
- It doesn't take forever. It's reasonably fast.
- Things are persistent as they should.
- Some minor issues with duplicate database. I'll try to fix them and see what happens

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Copy to RAM with updates

Post#7 by francois » 24 Sep 2016, 18:48

Once satisfied or before the system breaks you can transform the /porteus/changes folder into a module with /usr/local/bin/dir2xzm
example:
cd /porteus/changes
dir2xzm yourchangefolder nameofmodule.xzm
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Will
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 22 Sep 2016, 21:15
Distribution: Arch/Gentoo/Nemesis
Location: Brazil

Re: Copy to RAM with updates

Post#8 by Will » 24 Sep 2016, 19:02

Yep I did that :)
It worked!

Some remarks:
- I had to write a python script to remove the duplicates (they were a lot)
- Packages that are no longer needed as the time goes don`t get deleted and have to be manually removed (upower-pm-utils libdbus)
- After that system updates are a lot faster (10 packages or so instead of 300+)

This is a workaround. A better solution would be to update the "base" system as the user updates and not appending new things.

What about this?

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1345
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Copy to RAM with updates

Post#9 by Blaze » 24 Sep 2016, 20:13

Hi, Will.
Nemesis have a bug with dcadec.
For correcting updating packages of Nemesis you are need to run these commands:

Code: Select all

setup-pman
pacman -S dcadec
rm -rf /usr/lib/libdcadec.so.0
pacman -S dcadec
pacman -Syu
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Copy to RAM with updates

Post#10 by francois » 24 Sep 2016, 21:13

Posting your updated nemesis change folder as a xzm module on mediafire or the sort would be appreciated. :D
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Will
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 22 Sep 2016, 21:15
Distribution: Arch/Gentoo/Nemesis
Location: Brazil

Re: Copy to RAM with updates

Post#11 by Will » 26 Sep 2016, 01:38

I could upload it but I have custom software installed. The update.xzm is about 1gb. :p
If someone explain how to make that base system .xzm I can make an updated version of it. Or even a script to update it for new users so Nemesis can be more useful.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Copy to RAM with updates

Post#12 by francois » 26 Sep 2016, 03:03

To decompress each unit of base do:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/mnt/sda5/1_nemesis/porteus/base# mkdir 002-gui
root@porteus:/mnt/sda5/1_nemesis/porteus/base# xzm2dir 002-gui.xzm 002-gui
Parallel unsquashfs: Using 4 processors
2304 inodes (2652 blocks) to write

[=====================================================================-] 2652/2652 100%

created 1984 files
created 796 directories
created 310 symlinks
created 0 devices
created 0 fifos
root@porteus:/mnt/sda5/1_nemesis/porteus/base#
Packages are located at:
/mnt/sda5/1_nemesis/porteus/base/002-gui/var/lib/pacman/local/

To rebuild modules:
dir2xzm /path/dir /path/dir.xzm

or look at:
http://www.porteus.org/component/conten ... udies.html
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Post Reply