XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post links to your 64bit module repos here. Repo maintainers are responsible for resolving any issues caused by their xzm's.
User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1064
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#16 by wread » 28 Sep 2016, 20:13

Ok,now check if the application is constantly polling the input source. For that you have to open a console and do a

root@porteus# strace xoscope

you should get an infinite loop of input readings...

Try to close the console clicking at the "x" at the top right...if ok the base line of xoscope will do a snake movement.
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#17 by Rava » 28 Sep 2016, 20:47

^

Hmmm okay, so I started xoscope. Dunno if that was right.

I open a root terminal, did the "strace xoscope", a new xoscope opened, and when I exited the terminal, that xoscope was killed, the original did not show anything...
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1064
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#18 by wread » 29 Sep 2016, 14:10

strace does step for step what the program executes. It opens the main window ok, then it should poll the "Y" input of the xoscope for a signal input. In the console this appears as an infinite loop: read, no signal, wait; read, no signal, wait; etc until it finds a signal and processes it. If the signal processing is linked to xoscope and you close the application by killing the console you will get a dynamic transient response that shows in the screen as a "kurze schlangenartige Schwingung" des baselines..

if this last condition is not present, the signal processing of your program is not linked to the output of xscope :sorry:

If you cannot detect the infinite loop (you didn't mention it in your post!) you signal polling is not working, that is: the "Y" voltage is not being read. Then you must check the settings of your pulse.conf or so...Try also /usr/man/man1; there is info about the application related to the system.

Hack, hack, until it works! don't give up!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#19 by Rava » 29 Sep 2016, 17:19

^
I cannot say for sure if there is an infinite loop. The info on the terminal is too quick to be read. Maybe I should do a screenshot?
And when I kill the root terminal, the running xoscope is killed instantly so I am not sure if there was a snake like output or not...

What do you suggest I do?

What I can see in the root term is this:

Code: Select all

EAGAIN /resource temporarily unavailable)
And now when killing the terminal the xoscope still runs, but shows no snakelike output...

Seems, my "channel 1" is deactivated. But how, and why?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1064
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#20 by wread » 29 Sep 2016, 22:00

Is your system 3.1-x86_64 Xface? I may try it in Virtualbox, if I find the iso in the Porteus site...or maybe i can send you a video of mine....
How about running it in plain x?
Start Porteus in textmode and type xinit and then xoscope ad see if you get the same performance as within XFace. Xoscope is a pure X application and maybe Xface is breaking it.

Hack, hack until it works!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#21 by Rava » 29 Sep 2016, 23:25

What do you mean with XFace? Do you mean XFCE with it?


I don't think that XFCE is breaking anything when it comes to a plain X Windows program...

But for what might be the reason... do you know where XOscope has its support forum?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1064
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#22 by wread » 29 Sep 2016, 23:52

Does your system (XFCE) have /dev/dsp or /dev/snd? XOscope has them hardcoded, so you must have one of them.
I have no /dev/dsp but I have /dev/snd....
Read https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1674376, you will find a solution if that is your case.


Hack, hack, until it works!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#23 by Rava » 29 Sep 2016, 23:57

wread wrote:Does your system (XFCE) have /dev/dsp or /dev/snd? XOscope has them hardcoded, so you must have one of them.
I have no /dev/dsp but I have /dev/snd....

Code: Select all

# l  /dev/snd/
total 0
drwxr-xr-x  3 root     200 2016-09-17 15:56 .
drwxr-xr-x 14 root    4300 2016-09-29 19:23 ..
drwxr-xr-x  2 root      60 2016-09-17 15:56 by-path
crw-rw----  1 root 116,  0 2016-09-17 15:56 controlC0
crw-rw----  1 root 116,  4 2016-09-17 15:56 hwC0D0
crw-rw----  1 root 116, 24 2016-09-29 19:13 pcmC0D0c
crw-rw----  1 root 116, 16 2016-09-29 18:19 pcmC0D0p
crw-rw----  1 root 116, 17 2016-09-17 15:56 pcmC0D1p
crw-rw----  1 root 116,  1 2016-09-17 15:56 seq
crw-rw----  1 root 116, 33 2016-09-17 15:56 timer
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1064
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#24 by wread » 01 Oct 2016, 00:16

Maybe you can try with another system or with an updated XFCe...

One last possibility is you added some application that is breaking Xoscope: Start Porteus with cheatcode "baseonly" and then install Xoscope and check if it works...if it does, then an application is downgrading your system. You must find it by installing every single application and testing Xoscope until you fin who is culprit. Then update the bad one.

Good luck! :)
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1064
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#25 by wread » 03 Oct 2016, 22:53

@Rava
In your glxgears-report you don't mention a gears image when you run it from the console, do you have that image?

I also edited my last post thinking of an application that may be breaking your system..

Hack hack until it works!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

Post Reply