XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post links to your 64bit module repos here. Repo maintainers are responsible for resolving any issues caused by their xzm's.
User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#1 by wread » 17 Sep 2016, 22:42

XOscope is a digital real-time oscilloscope. It graphically displays signal amplitude or bit logic as a function of time. Signals may be displayed, saved, recalled, and manipulated by math functions.

It is an X application, so should run in all desktops of Porteus.

Enjoy!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#2 by Rava » 25 Sep 2016, 00:38

Download not working again:
Image
Looks like the folder is empty... Also, nothing happens when I click the "download" button (the green one)
Cheers!
Yours Rava

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#3 by Jack » 25 Sep 2016, 01:53

There was 2 files and here is the 2.

1. gtkdatabox-0.9.2.0-x86_64-1alien.xzm
2. xoscope-2.1-x86_64-1_slonly.xzm

I downloaded both to see if they downloaded and yes they did..
EDIT:
I found it in the internet menu. Is that the wrong menu? I thought it should have been in Sound & Video menu. I'm running Mate x86_64 rc5.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#4 by Rava » 25 Sep 2016, 06:33

Jack wrote:There was 2 files and here is the 2.

1. gtkdatabox-0.9.2.0-x86_64-1alien.xzm
2. xoscope-2.1-x86_64-1_slonly.xzm
Seems its an Palemoon bug, then, at least it could be. Me think I could post that as a bug on Puppy forum, and when I get nothing helpful, I post one in the Palemoon forum...
We do have at least one here who is also using Palemoon, he could check out if he can download from https://www.mediafire.com ...
If anyone recalls who also uses PM, or who wants to check it out with PM, please tell me. <B

(Other sites won't work right as well, e.g. stackoverflow.... As a site for coders, it is a sad thing when I told them that I cannot create an account on their site, they not said "one of us is installing a Palemoon and we look into our site code to see if we can fix it"... since it's one of the sites where the best coders hang out.... nooo, instead they told me "use firefox or chrome instead"... :bad: )

//update
Could be my adblocker (uBlock origin) issue.... I hovered over it and wanted to deactivate it on the above page... and then the 2 files suddenly appeared. I wonder why that is... I updated PM to the most recent version, but dunno if I tried the above fail and screenshot with the old version, or with the new one... :beer:
Anyhow, it now works.

wread, could you please add the md5sums (and sha256 sums) for the files?

These are my checksums:

Code: Select all

md5sum
2c27cb61b473404c888cb23982161a23  xoscope-2.1-x86_64-1_slonly.xzm
f675ed05bc88579b4b657966b1602dc0  gtkdatabox-0.9.2.0-x86_64-1alien.xzm

sha256
1abcb357bedd8c2565f3ef9ba1d116cb676e2674e89281edd168dd3932a6f09d  xoscope-2.1-x86_64-1_slonly.xzm
96af07d56a8cd9155988a8b7339915062553b46f6d7ec96f8d3a05259c43ffb2  gtkdatabox-0.9.2.0-x86_64-1alien.xzm
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#5 by Rava » 25 Sep 2016, 09:16

Back to the XOscope....

Code: Select all

# xoscope 
xoscope: error while loading shared libraries: libfftw3.so.3: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
I activated:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/mnt/x# activate gtkdatabox-0.9.2.0-x86_64-1alien.xzm 
acUpdating shared library links:  /sbin/ldconfig
tiroot@porteus:/mnt/x# activate xoscope-2.1-x86_64-1_slonly.xzm 
Updating shared library links:  /sbin/ldconfig
Updating XFCE menu: update-desktop-database
System: Port 3.1 XFCe x86-64
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#6 by wread » 26 Sep 2016, 16:08

This is the Fourier-transform functions file. It is in may system for other application; I already added it to the bundle in mediafire. Ich entschuldige mich :Rose:
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#7 by Rava » 26 Sep 2016, 18:03

Thanks for the quick fox, currently my system is too occupied (swapping all the time:)

Code: Select all

rava@porteus:/d$ fx;sx
26.09.2016 19:54:35 ____________________________________________________________
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          3393       3214        178          0         31        155
-/+ buffers/cache:       3028        364
Swap:         2726       2348        378
26.09.2016 19:54:35 ____________________________________________________________
Filename				Type		Size	Used	Priority
/dev/zram0                              partition       678     678     1000    
/dev/sda1                               partition       2047    1670    100     
rava@porteus:/d$ type fx
fx is aliased to `echo $(date +%d.%m.%Y\ %H:%M:%S) ____________________________________________________________;free -m'
rava@porteus:/d$ type sx
sx is a function
sx () 
{ 
    echo $(date +%d.%m.%Y\ %H:%M:%S) ____________________________________________________________;
    { 
        read firstLine;
        echo "$firstLine";
        while read f t s u p; do
            let "s2 = $s / 1024";
            let "u2 = $u / 1024";
            printf '%-40s%-16s%-8s%-8s%-8s\n' $f $t $s2 $u2 $p;
        done
    } < /proc/swaps
}
Cheers!
Yours Rava

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#8 by Bogomips » 27 Sep 2016, 15:01

Rava wrote:Seems its an Palemoon bug, then, at least it could be. Me think I could post that as a bug on Puppy forum, and when I get nothing helpful, I post one in the Palemoon forum...
We do have at least one here who is also using Palemoon, he could check out if he can download from https://www.mediafire.com ...
If anyone recalls who also uses PM, or who wants to check it out with PM, please tell me. <B
Got nothing until cookies allowed for mediafire.com. 8)
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#9 by Rava » 27 Sep 2016, 16:59

wread, now I got it to run, but....


I played a sound file via mplayer/alsa.
I set in xoscope the File/devive to -> ALSA, it also says so in its upper left corner: ALSA.

But all I see is static noise, no matter how loud I play my sounds, the xoscope won't register. I also went from channel 1 to 8, to no avail.

What am I missing here?
Bogomips wrote:mediafire.com. 8)
I had mediafire.com cookies blocked, removed that block and works okay, though it takes a few seconds for the files to show up.Me thinks this is meant so that you can look at the ads, which there are none when using ublock origin. :D
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#10 by wread » 27 Sep 2016, 19:14

You must slow down the sample rate to see the music....

Elemental Watson 8)
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#11 by Rava » 27 Sep 2016, 19:26

wread wrote:You must slow down the sample rate to see the music....
I did slow down to the minimal sample rate: 9 Samples/frame, but that doesn't change anything. I still only get something that looks like low static noise, and no reaction to the sounds played. There must be some other error.

Elemental Watson ? You still have to deliver, my dear Sherlock.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#12 by wread » 28 Sep 2016, 02:21

Hier is das Vokal uuuuuuuu!
Image
You must hack until it works!!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#13 by Rava » 28 Sep 2016, 03:02

wread wrote:Hier is das Vokal uuuuuuuu!
https://www.mediafire.com/convkey/829a/ ... m3s16g.jpg
You must hack until it works!!
Okay, now I set it also to 2ms/div, 11kb/s and 221 Samples/frame, still the same results.

I think the issue is somewhere else and I start presuming, my dear Sherlock that you have no clue where the error lies, but as the over proud detective that you are you won't ever admit defeat. But I got you!
Prove I am right by telling me how to solve the issue or admit defeat by your humble Watson! :D

Image
And here the proof that indeed my sound works and the Audacious Spectrum Analyser tells us so...



(In case you wonder, I had to tweak the image to make it 15 px less in height, so it's a bit distorted.)
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#14 by wread » 28 Sep 2016, 11:03

@Rava
If you compare both yours and my XScope images, you can see your Channel 1 is only grayed and mine is bright.
Try the ldd-trick, maybe you are still missing some library....

Tschüss!

P.S. Maybe you have a buggy edition of 002-xorg.xzm. In a console try glxgears to check it. If it doesn't work, I can help 8)
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: XOscope for Porteus 86_64

Post#15 by Rava » 28 Sep 2016, 11:45

wread wrote:@Rava
If you compare both yours and my XScope images, you can see your Channel 1 is only grayed and mine is bright.
Try the ldd-trick, maybe you are still missing some library....
No missin lib:

Code: Select all

$ ldd /usr/bin/xoscope|grep not
#
wread wrote:P.S. Maybe you have a buggy edition of 002-xorg.xzm.
I have 002-xorg_alldesktops-150126.xzm Is that enough fix?
In a console try glxgears to check it. If it doesn't work, I can help 8)
Seems to work okay:

Code: Select all

$ /usr/bin/glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh.  The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.154 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.993 FPS
297 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.207 FPS
I presume my sound hardware needs some tweaking, maybe in the setup file... Any ideas?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

Post Reply