Power setting not working

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
Jeff66
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Sep 2016, 17:16
Distribution: Porteus-MATE-v3.1-i486
Location: Idaho

Power setting not working

Post#1 by Jeff66 » 10 Sep 2016, 17:36

Hello. I am trying to get a power setting to work. I have set the Power Management Preference, When the power button is pressed to suspend. It never works. It will only shutdown. If I change it to ask me, it will only shut down. Any ideas?

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4905
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Power setting not working

Post#2 by francois » 11 Sep 2016, 20:33

Welcome to porteus Jeff:

What version of porteus you are using and what desktop?
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1358
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Power setting not working

Post#3 by Blaze » 11 Sep 2016, 20:41

Hi, Jeff66. Welcome on the board!
You can try last RC version of Porteus distro from here
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4905
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Power setting not working

Post#4 by francois » 12 Sep 2016, 00:50

Under porteus 3.1 lxqt and kde:
Use the hibernate function to shutdown, that will replace the effect of changes cheatcode. You have to use the resume cheatcode instructing where to save the state of the system and instruct the computer to save the information in a swapfile:
http://unix.stackexchange.com/questions ... t-settings
where sdxy=the identity of the swap file (to find swap file use fdisk -l command)
Example (the resume cheatcode as to be added to the appropriate location in the /boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg file:

Code: Select all

LABEL gui
MENU LABEL Graphics mode (LXQT)
KERNEL vmlinuz
APPEND initrd=initrd.xz changes=/porteus resume=/dev/sda8
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Jeff66
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Sep 2016, 17:16
Distribution: Porteus-MATE-v3.1-i486
Location: Idaho

Re: Power setting not working

Post#5 by Jeff66 » 12 Sep 2016, 18:00

Thank you for all your comments. Sorry I should have said this in the original post. I am running Porteus-MATE-v3.1-i486 on USB formatted to ext4.

Jeff66
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Sep 2016, 17:16
Distribution: Porteus-MATE-v3.1-i486
Location: Idaho

Re: Power setting not working

Post#6 by Jeff66 » 12 Sep 2016, 19:48

Hey Blaze, if I want to try out the latest RC can I just copy over the base modules or should I reformat, copy everything and run the installer?

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Power setting not working

Post#7 by Bogomips » 12 Sep 2016, 19:55

Jeff66 wrote:should I reformat, copy everything and run the installer?
If successful doing this previously, then best to start with a clean slate. :wink:
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1358
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Power setting not working

Post#8 by Blaze » 13 Sep 2016, 15:34

Jeff66 wrote:should I reformat, copy everything and run the installer?
Yep, it's better way.
Cheers
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4905
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Power setting not working

Post#9 by francois » 13 Sep 2016, 23:23

It depends if you are able to erase all the files or not. Try it. 8)
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Post Reply