Keyboard using Citrix Receiver

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
user123
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 07 Sep 2016, 12:13
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Ireland

Keyboard using Citrix Receiver

Post#1 by user123 » 07 Sep 2016, 12:26

I've just installed Kiosk with a view to running Citrix XenDesktop.
Everything works a treat, I get to the login page, login, then the desktop launches. Once in the desktop however my keyboard no longer works. The mouse works fine.
I read on Citrix forums you can change some parameters in the receiver etc or add some config in the Linux OS. However I'm presuming I can't do this in Kiosk?
Has anyone else come across this issue and if so how did you resolve?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Keyboard using Citrix Receiver

Post#2 by fanthom » 07 Sep 2016, 14:09

Hello user123,

Please point me to this solution and perhaps i could provide updated ISO with a fix implemented.

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

user123
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 07 Sep 2016, 12:13
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Ireland

Re: Keyboard using Citrix Receiver

Post#3 by user123 » 07 Sep 2016, 15:05

I just noticed the resource relates to Mac onll and some of the others are 10 years old so probably no longer relevant.
http://www.kylewise.net/citrix/citrix-r ... to-citrix/
I am still searching and testing and will provide more updates as I sift through the issue.

Any idea what version of the Citrix Client is in the latest Kiosk distribution?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Keyboard using Citrix Receiver

Post#4 by fanthom » 08 Sep 2016, 07:11

We use latest receiver for Linux:
icaclient-13.3.0.344519-r1

Did you do the keyboard test using Kiosk version with receiver working as Firefox plugin or did you use receiver as standalone application in ThinClient variant? I have tested second scenario and everything works for me. Any chance you could give me an access to your environment? If yes then please send login details to support@porteus-kiosk.org.

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

user123
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 07 Sep 2016, 12:13
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Ireland

Re: Keyboard using Citrix Receiver

Post#5 by user123 » 08 Sep 2016, 08:42

Hi,
Many thanks for the response. I will do the tests using both Kiosk and Thin Client variants and revert back.

user123
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 07 Sep 2016, 12:13
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Ireland

Re: Keyboard using Citrix Receiver

Post#6 by user123 » 08 Sep 2016, 09:11

Hi,
I have tested using ThinClient and the result it the same - keyboard does not work.
I'm not sure I can do a Keyboard test with the receiver enabled as my understanding I have to right through the config after which the receiver then installs.
We are using XenDesktop 7.8, its still not Live. I can't give access as we don't yet have the desktop enabled externally.

user123
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 07 Sep 2016, 12:13
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Ireland

Re: Keyboard using Citrix Receiver

Post#7 by user123 » 08 Sep 2016, 09:52

One suggestion on a forum for keyboard problems was to edit the config/module.ini file in the client dir ( /usr/lib/icaclient ??) find the line "UseLocalIM=True" and change this to False.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Keyboard using Citrix Receiver

Post#8 by fanthom » 08 Sep 2016, 11:32

Please try this parameter:

Code: Select all

run_command=sed -i 's/UseLocalIM=True/UseLocalIM=False/' /opt/Citrix/ICAClient/config/module.ini
and let me know if that helped.

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

user123
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 07 Sep 2016, 12:13
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Ireland

Re: Keyboard using Citrix Receiver

Post#9 by user123 » 08 Sep 2016, 13:42

Hi, I tried this and still no joy. Very frustrating as everything else works perfectly.
I entered the parameter in the run command from the initial config page.

Post Reply