Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1335
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Post#16 by Blaze » 05 Sep 2016, 05:31

Ed_P wrote:Keyboard icon in Taskbar shows icon for Spanish keyboard. Mine should be US. Unable to change it to US. Keyboard keys producing unexpected characters.
Try to use kmap=us cheatcode - it must to fix this issue.
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 784
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Post#17 by ncmprhnsbl » 05 Sep 2016, 07:12

brokenman wrote:Just tested asunder cd ripper and found that it freezes (for this particular CD) shortly after getting CD info. Can anyone confirm?
asunder rips okay here...(xfce 64)
but fails to find disc info > terminal output:

Code: Select all

error: connection error
EDITturning off firewall enables info to be found (rip still working)
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Post#18 by Bogomips » 05 Sep 2016, 10:50

Ed_P wrote:Cinnamon 64-bit
Keyboard icon in Taskbar shows icon for Spanish keyboard. Mine should be US. Unable to change it to US. Keyboard keys producing unexpected characters.
Did not notice this. Now on 32 bit and Old Glory is there. Loading from ISO in both instances, and running AF in RAM.
Ed_P wrote:Cursor stays on minimized window icon on taskbar when clicking on the icon rather then switching to the reopened window.
Just tested on 32 bit with geany. Cursor back (in last position before minimizing) in re-opened window, following click on taskbar.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1335
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Post#19 by Blaze » 05 Sep 2016, 12:33

For Cinnamon x86_64

Missing icon (Start > System Settings > Users and groups) /usr/share/icons/Paper/48x48/actions/cs-user-accounts.svg in the Paper icons theme.
Fix cs-user-accounts.xzm
Last edited by Blaze on 05 Sep 2016, 15:58, edited 1 time in total.
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Post#20 by francois » 05 Sep 2016, 14:40

Testing kde version in guest save changes mode.
Great improvement. Fast reaction.

Here is what I found:
1.0 unremovable panel icons konsole and dolphin and difficulty to add desktop pager:
1.1 I would like instead to have quicklaunch with smaller icons, and more of them
solution click on the right end of the panel to access icons and widget of the panel and remove icons or widget. Then install widget quicklauch and set the number of rows to get smaller icons.
1.2 impossibility to add desktop pager. It is added but does not appear when out of add widget mode.pager does not appear.
solution click on the right end of the panel to access icons and widget of the panel and to access pager and select the number of desktop and rows that you desire.
2.0 encryption only classical encryption is possible

3.0 Network wifi will not connect automatically though the SSID and password have been provided.
http://unix.stackexchange.com/questions ... ifi-in-kde
solution in "Edit Connection" of Network Manager, there are two options availalbe, that should be checked for your case: "Automatically connect to this network when it is available" and "All users may connect to this network" (not yet tested)

4.0 Bizarre message when trying to access root mode in the guest environment.
try the following command (with Linux and bash)\nexport $(dbus-launch)
should be
try the following command (with Linux and bash)\nexport $(dbus-launch)

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# dolphin
QStandardPaths: wrong ownership on runtime directory /tmp/xdg-runtime-guest, 1000 instead of 0
"Session bus not found\nTo circumvent this problem try the following command (with Linux and bash)\nexport $(dbus-launch)"
root@porteus:/home/guest# export $(dbus-launch)
root@porteus:/home/guest# dolphin
solution
https://ask.fedoraproject.org/en/questi ... on-fedora/
add export $(dbus-launch) as the last line of your ~/.bashrc file (not yet tested)
Thanks.

Edited tuesday 6th september 2016.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Post#21 by francois » 05 Sep 2016, 14:46

@brokenman:
Do you have more specific cues about what should be tested for the different desktops?
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Post#22 by brokenman » 05 Sep 2016, 16:05

Thanks ncmprhnsbl.
Thanks Blaze, I will update the iconset.
Thanks for double checking Bogomips. I am also not seeing this issue.
Francois, I also noticed a snappier reaction in the updated KDE5. The issue with accessing dolphin in root mode has always been there. Probably best put this command in your root .bashrc file.

It would be nice to have the language tools tested. Apart from this I am just bug squashing now. Final release is imminent.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
FURRY_NOVA
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 83
Joined: 11 Aug 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus XFCE v3.2 i586
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Post#23 by FURRY_NOVA » 05 Sep 2016, 16:56

I've tested Asunder CD Ripper, although I've no CD Drive for my device. It doesn't crash or freeze for any of the menus for me. But thought it ideal to test what happens without the drive. Sorry, I forgot to test that before.

Earlier today. When it shows terminal booting Porteus around the login text, the part that supposed to switch to GUI a moment after. The boot hanged with going too fast message and set a delay for 5 minutes. I tried hitting Enter and logging in root to run init 4 but didn't run GUI till turning off and on. Rare when this happens.

In Appearance menu under icons. There a warning icon and tool-tip that the icon themes have no cache file. I don't know if this is ignorable but thought I mention it.

Also, I've done the update-opera again. This time with the changes container. It showing 2 in Whisker menu again and it added an icon to Panel. It's working how it should. Just duplicate icons in Whisker.
New to Linux but learning. Hoping to help out Porteus community. :)

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1335
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Post#24 by Blaze » 05 Sep 2016, 17:20

brokenman wrote:It would be nice to have the language tools tested.

Code: Select all

locale not supported by Xlib, locale set to C
I have hieroglyphs
Image

Code: Select all

/usr/lib64/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/engines/lib murrine.so: can not open shared object file: No such file or directory
I saw this error when I run lxtask without murrine-0.98.2-x86_64-1_slonly.xzm and earlier I put this module for you with lxtask module - look at this post

In the modules folder (/mnt/sdb1/porteus/modules) I got these files:

Code: Select all

glibc-i18n-x86_64-1jay.xzm
ru-cinnamon_locales.xzm
ru-core_locales.xzm
ru-devel_locales.xzm
ru_RU-locales-files.xzm
epic fail after reboot - it gave a crash of my system (don't worry I restored Porteus without problems)

Slim is showed me this message
Falled to execute login command
I tried guest and root account.

brokenman, plus I saw that your localization is have a bug in Text mode - cyrillic text does not support. The squares instead of text.
You are need to apply console-cyrillic-0.9-16.2-3.2-noarch-1 module and script (you can put it to /etc/rc.d/rc.local) with this command

Code: Select all

cyr ru alt_shift_toggle --style=sans --size 16 -e utf-8
BTW, the path /ru-cinnamon_locales/usr/share/locale/rue/LC_MESSAGES is wrong. Not rue, must to be ru (without e)
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

jssouza
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 172
Joined: 09 Jul 2015, 14:17
Distribution: Porteus x86 arm
Location: Liechtenstein

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Post#25 by jssouza » 05 Sep 2016, 18:32

Hi brokenman,

While trying to play an mp3 file with mpg123 I got the following error:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ mpg123 Music/songs/Cavatina.mp3 
High Performance MPEG 1.0/2.0/2.5 Audio Player for Layers 1, 2 and 3
	version 1.23.4; written and copyright by Michael Hipp and others
	free software (LGPL) without any warranty but with best wishes
[src/libout123/module.c:141] error: Failed to open module pulse: file not found
[src/libout123/module.c:141] error: Failed to open module alsa: file not found
[src/libout123/module.c:141] error: Failed to open module oss: file not found
[src/libout123/module.c:141] error: Failed to open module sdl: file not found
[src/libout123/libout123.c:431] error: Found no driver out of [pulse,alsa,oss,sdl] working with device <default>.
main: [src/mpg123.c:332] error: out123 error 3: failure loading driver module
After a little debugging I found that re-installing mpg123 from the stock slackware 14.2 dvd resolved the issue. Probing further I found that mpg123 was built in slackware to load static (.la) libraries. I guess porteus has the static libraries removed while the 001.core.xzm is created and hence broke mpg123.
Indeed, extracting the mpg123 package from the slackware dvd and just copying the .la files made mpg123 working again.

Code: Select all

explodepkg /media/slackware64/ap/mpg123-1.23.4-x86_64-1.txz
cp usr/lib64/mpg123/*.la /usr/lib64/mpg123/
I checked online and found in BLFS that it is possible to make mpg123 to load only shared libraries with a compile time switch.
http://linuxfromscratch.org/blfs/view/s ... pg123.html

Is it possible to rebuild mpg123 with this switch in the next update of porteus?

Thanks!

EDIT: mpg123 is in 002-xorg

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Post#26 by Ed_P » 05 Sep 2016, 22:14

Blaze wrote:Try to use kmap=us cheatcode - it must to fix this issue.
Thanks Blaze, that removed the Spanish taskbar icon and got the keyboard to type correctly. :good:

It didn't change the mouse pointer staying in the taskbar when I minimized this FF window and then clicked on it's tab in the taskbar.

BTW I'm booting fully from the Cinnamon 64 bit rc5 iso. No extracted kernel or initrd files.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ ls -lght /mnt/sda5/ISOs/*rc5*.iso
-rwxrwxrwx 2 root 264M Sep  4 05:39 /mnt/sda5/ISOs/Porteus-CINNAMON-v3.2rc5-x86_64.iso*
guest@porteus:~$ ls -lght /mnt/sda5/porteus3.2/Modules/*.xzm
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root  77M Aug  9 04:25 /mnt/sda5/porteus3.2/Modules/002-xorg.xzm*
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root  67M Aug  9 04:23 /mnt/sda5/porteus3.2/Modules/001-core.xzm*
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root  68K Aug  5 13:23 /mnt/sda5/porteus3.2/Modules/009-caches.xzm*
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root  73M Aug  4 03:08 /mnt/sda5/porteus3.2/Modules/003-cinnamon.xzm*
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root 5.3M Jul 10 12:29 /mnt/sda5/porteus3.2/Modules/flashplayer-plugin-11.2.202.626-x86_64-1.xzm*
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root  49M Jul 10 12:24 /mnt/sda5/porteus3.2/Modules/firefox-48.0b6-x86_64-1.xzm*
guest@porteus:~$ 

Code: Select all

title Porteus 3.2   Always Fresh +\n264MB\n %ISO32% with networking & Firefox 
find --set-root                       /ISOs/%ISO32%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /ISOs/%ISO32% (0xff) 
map --hook
root (0xff)
#kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO32% kmap=us changes=EXIT:/porteus3.2/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus3.2/Modules 
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO32% kmap=us noload=base/001-core.xzm;base/002-xorg.xzm;base/003-cinnamon.xzm extramod=/porteus3.2/Modules;/porteus3.2/modsavedat 
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz

title Porteus 3.2   changes=      \n264MB\n %ISO32% with networking & Firefox 
find --set-root                       /ISOs/%ISO32%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /ISOs/%ISO32% (0xff) 
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO32% kmap=us changes=EXIT:/porteus3.2/changes/porteussave.dat noload=base/001-core.xzm;base/002-xorg.xzm;base/003-cinnamon.xzm extramod=/porteus3.2/Modules  
#kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO32% kmap=us extramod=/porteus3.2/Modules;/porteus3.2/modsavedat
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Post#27 by Bogomips » 05 Sep 2016, 23:41

Ed_P wrote:BTW I'm booting fully from the Cinnamon 64 bit rc5 iso. No extracted kernel or initrd files.

Code: Select all

title Porteus 3.2   Always Fresh +\n264MB\n %ISO32% with networking & Firefox 
find --set-root                       /ISOs/%ISO32%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /ISOs/%ISO32% (0xff) 
map --hook
root (0xff)
#kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO32% kmap=us changes=EXIT:/porteus3.2/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus3.2/Modules 
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO32% kmap=us noload=base/001-core.xzm;base/002-xorg.xzm;base/003-cinnamon.xzm extramod=/porteus3.2/Modules;/porteus3.2/modsavedat 
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz

title Porteus 3.2   changes=      \n264MB\n %ISO32% with networking & Firefox 
find --set-root                       /ISOs/%ISO32%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /ISOs/%ISO32% (0xff) 
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO32% kmap=us changes=EXIT:/porteus3.2/changes/porteussave.dat noload=base/001-core.xzm;base/002-xorg.xzm;base/003-cinnamon.xzm extramod=/porteus3.2/Modules  
#kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO32% kmap=us extramod=/porteus3.2/Modules;/porteus3.2/modsavedat
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
If booting exclusively from ISO do not need:

Code: Select all

kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO32% kmap=us noload=base/001-core.xzm;base/002-xorg.xzm;base/003-cinnamon.xzm extramod=/porteus3.2/Modules;/porteus3.2/modsavedat

# From above not needed
noload=base/001-core.xzm;base/002-xorg.xzm;base/003-cinnamon.xzm extramod=/porteus3.2/Modules

kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO32% kmap=us changes=EXIT:/porteus3.2/changes/porteussave.dat noload=base/001-core.xzm;base/002-xorg.xzm;base/003-cinnamon.xzm extramod=/porteus3.2/Modules  

# From above not needed
noload=base/001-core.xzm;base/002-xorg.xzm;base/003-cinnamon.xzm extramod=/porteus3.2/Modules  
Looks like using the old rc5- formula. :)

Here's one I make earlier:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ sudo usm -i
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
usm application information

USM version:  3.2.0
DB version:  160320
Current storage: /home/guest/p10/Por/tmp64/usm
Current config: /etc/usm/usm.conf
Current platform: Porteus-v3.2rc5
Current arch: x86_64
Current Slackware 14.1
Current kernel 4.7.2-porteus
Current distros: slackware slackwarepatches slacky salix alien ponce slackonly
quiet from=/dev/sda10/tmp/iso/rc5/x86_64/Porteus-CINNAMON-v3.2rc5-x86_64.iso copy2ram ramsize=30% noauto rootcopy=/dev/sda4/cin64rcp 
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Post#28 by Ed_P » 06 Sep 2016, 00:20

Bogomips wrote: # From above not needed
noload=base/001-core.xzm;base/002-xorg.xzm;base/003-cinnamon.xzm extramod=/porteus3.2/Modules
Yeah, I wondered about that also when I saw my boot menu.
Looks like using the old rc5- formula. :)
Or an old rc4 one. :oops: Time to start over.
Here's one I make earlier:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ sudo usm -i
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
usm application information

USM version:  3.2.0
DB version:  160320
Current storage: /home/guest/p10/Por/tmp64/usm
Current config: /etc/usm/usm.conf
Current platform: Porteus-v3.2rc5
Current arch: x86_64
Current Slackware 14.1
Current kernel 4.7.2-porteus
Current distros: slackware slackwarepatches slacky salix alien ponce slackonly
quiet from=/dev/sda10/tmp/iso/rc5/x86_64/Porteus-CINNAMON-v3.2rc5-x86_64.iso copy2ram ramsize=30% noauto rootcopy=/dev/sda4/cin64rcp 
You should try making one with Slackware 14.2 like mine.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ sudo usm -i
Password: 
I think ... err ... I think ... I think I'll go home
Password: 
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
usm application information

USM version:  3.2.0
DB version:  160830
Current storage: /tmp/usm
Current config: /etc/usm/usm.conf
Current platform: Porteus-v3.2rc5
Current arch: x86_64
Current Slackware 14.2
Current kernel 4.7.2-porteus
Current distros: slackware slackwarepatches slacky salix alien ponce slackonly
quiet from=/ISOs/Porteus-CINNAMON-v3.2rc5-x86_64.iso kmap=us noload=base/001-core.xzm;base/002-xorg.xzm;base/003-cinnamon.xzm extramod=/porteus3.2/Modules;/porteus3.2/modsavedat 

 Use: usm -i <package> 
 For example: usm -i imagemagick
Also interested to know how come my sudo required a password and yours didn't and it was the password for guest not root!!
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Post#29 by brokenman » 06 Sep 2016, 02:40

Thank you. Some useful stuff here.

locale not supported by Xlib, locale set to C

Blaze just to be straight. You started from a fresh Porteus install (in english) and chose the ru option?

@jssouza
Nice catch. I will look into this. I'd prefer not to recompile where possible so may just stop the .la files from being exported.

Also interested to know how come my sudo required a password and yours didn't and it was the password for guest not root!!
Once you enter your password it remains in memory for 15 minutes (default) which is controlled in /etc/sudoers.
This will change your timeout to 30 minutes.

Code: Select all

Defaults        env_reset,timestamp_timeout=30
This will have sudo insult you whenever you type a wrong password. Sometimes coders get bored. Go figure.

Code: Select all

Defaults insults
The sudo function should only need your guest password. That's what makes it so nice. This can be changed to ask for root password if your into that.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Post#30 by Ed_P » 06 Sep 2016, 03:04

The guest password is fine it's just I'm pretty sure when I've used sudo in the past it required the root password, even in earlier 3.2 betas.

Interesting approaches to updating the flashplayer plugin with interesting results.

update-flash

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ update-flash
[ERROR] Only root can do that
/usr/bin/update-flash: line 47: cleanup: command not found
[OK] Distro is Porteus
[OK] Flash is installed

/usr/share/porteus/porteus-functions: line 176: ip: command not found
[ERROR] An internet connection is required
guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# update-flash
[OK] User is root
[OK] Distro is Porteus
[OK] Flash is installed

[OK] Internet connection exists
Downloading live script ...
Downloading: update-flash-live  DONE

Searching online for latest flash player version ...

Installed version:	11.2.202.626
Latest version:		22.0.0.209

 Would you like to continue? [y/n]
 Would you like to create a Porteus module? [y/n]

Removing package /var/log/packages/flashplayer-plugin-11.2.202.626-x86_64-1...
Removing files:
  --> Deleting symlink /usr/lib/kde4/kcm_adobe_flash_player.so
  --> Deleting symlink /usr/lib64/mozilla
  --> Deleting symlink /usr/share/pixmaps/flash-player-properties.png
  --> /usr/share/applications/flash-player-properties.desktop was found in another package. Skipping.
  --> Deleting /usr/bin/flash-player-properties
  --> Deleting /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so
  --> Deleting /usr/lib64/kde4/kcm_adobe_flash_player.so
  --> Deleting /usr/share/icons/hicolor/16x16/apps/flash-player-properties.png
  --> Deleting /usr/share/icons/hicolor/22x22/apps/flash-player-properties.png
  --> Deleting /usr/share/icons/hicolor/24x24/apps/flash-player-properties.png
  --> Deleting /usr/share/icons/hicolor/32x32/apps/flash-player-properties.png
  --> Deleting /usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/flash-player-properties.png
  --> Deleting /usr/share/kde4/services/kcm_adobe_flash_player.desktop
  --> Deleting empty directory /usr/share/kde4/services/
  --> Deleting empty directory /usr/share/kde4/
  --> Deleting empty directory /usr/lib64/kde4/
  --> Deleting empty directory /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/
  --> Deleting empty directory /usr/lib/mozilla/
  --> Deleting empty directory /usr/lib/kde4/
Quiet mode: off
grep: /var/log/packages/flashplayer-plugin-11.2.202.626-x86_64-1: No such file or directory
flashplayer-plugin-11.2.202.626-x86_64-1.xzm: The module can't be removed, because it's busy (used).
Downloading: install_flash_player_11_linux.x86_64.tar.gz  DONE
libflashplayer.so
readme.txt
LGPL/
LGPL/LGPL.txt
LGPL/notice.txt
usr/
usr/lib64/
usr/lib64/kde4/
usr/lib64/kde4/kcm_adobe_flash_player.so
usr/share/
usr/share/pixmaps/
usr/share/pixmaps/flash-player-properties.png
usr/share/kde4/
usr/share/kde4/services/
usr/share/kde4/services/kcm_adobe_flash_player.desktop
usr/share/icons/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/24x24/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/24x24/apps/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/24x24/apps/flash-player-properties.png
usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/flash-player-properties.png
usr/share/icons/hicolor/32x32/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/32x32/apps/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/32x32/apps/flash-player-properties.png
usr/share/icons/hicolor/16x16/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/16x16/apps/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/16x16/apps/flash-player-properties.png
usr/share/icons/hicolor/22x22/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/22x22/apps/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/22x22/apps/flash-player-properties.png
usr/share/applications/
usr/share/applications/flash-player-properties.desktop
usr/bin/
usr/bin/flash-player-properties
usr/lib/
usr/lib/kde4/
usr/lib/kde4/kcm_adobe_flash_player.so
chmod: cannot operate on dangling symlink 'usr/lib/kde4/kcm_adobe_flash_player.so'

Slackware package maker, version 3.141593.

Searching for symbolic links:
usr/lib/kde4/kcm_adobe_flash_player.so	/usr/lib64/kde4/kcm_adobe_flash_player.so
usr/share/pixmaps/flash-player-properties.png	../icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/flash-player-properties.png
usr/lib64/mozilla	/usr/lib/mozilla

Making symbolic link creation script:
( cd usr/lib/kde4 ; rm -rf kcm_adobe_flash_player.so )
( cd usr/lib/kde4 ; ln -sf /usr/lib64/kde4/kcm_adobe_flash_player.so kcm_adobe_flash_player.so )
( cd usr/share/pixmaps ; rm -rf flash-player-properties.png )
( cd usr/share/pixmaps ; ln -sf ../icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/flash-player-properties.png flash-player-properties.png )
( cd usr/lib64 ; rm -rf mozilla )
( cd usr/lib64 ; ln -sf /usr/lib/mozilla mozilla )

Unless your existing installation script already contains the code
to create these links, you should append these lines to your existing
install script. Now's your chance. :^)

Would you like to add this stuff to the existing install script and
remove the symbolic links ([y]es, [n]o)? y


Removing symbolic links:
removed './usr/lib/kde4/kcm_adobe_flash_player.so'
removed './usr/share/pixmaps/flash-player-properties.png'
removed './usr/lib64/mozilla'

Updating your ./install/doinst.sh...

This next step is optional - you can set the directories in your package
to some sane permissions. If any of the directories in your package have
special permissions, then DO NOT reset them here!

Would you like to reset all directory permissions to 755 (drwxr-xr-x) and
directory ownerships to root.root ([y]es, [n]o)? n

Creating Slackware package:  /tmp/flashplayer-plugin-22.0.0.209-x86_64-1.txz

./
install/
install/doinst.sh
install/slack-desc
usr/
usr/lib/
usr/lib/mozilla/
usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/
usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so
usr/lib/kde4/
usr/bin/
usr/bin/flash-player-properties
usr/share/
usr/share/applications/
usr/share/applications/flash-player-properties.desktop
usr/share/icons/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/22x22/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/22x22/apps/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/22x22/apps/flash-player-properties.png
usr/share/icons/hicolor/16x16/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/16x16/apps/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/16x16/apps/flash-player-properties.png
usr/share/icons/hicolor/32x32/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/32x32/apps/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/32x32/apps/flash-player-properties.png
usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/flash-player-properties.png
usr/share/icons/hicolor/24x24/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/24x24/apps/
usr/share/icons/hicolor/24x24/apps/flash-player-properties.png
usr/share/kde4/
usr/share/kde4/services/
usr/share/kde4/services/kcm_adobe_flash_player.desktop
usr/share/pixmaps/
usr/lib64/
usr/lib64/kde4/
usr/lib64/kde4/kcm_adobe_flash_player.so

Slackware package /tmp/flashplayer-plugin-22.0.0.209-x86_64-1.txz created.

Verifying package flashplayer-plugin-22.0.0.209-x86_64-1.txz.
Installing package flashplayer-plugin-22.0.0.209-x86_64-1.txz:
PACKAGE DESCRIPTION:
# flashplayer-plugin (flash plugin for web browsers)
#
# Provides Adobe Flash plugin for browsers that recognize
# /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins as a valid plugin directory
#
# Plugin is subject to Adobe terms of use: 
#  http://www.adobe.com/go/labs_term_of_use
#
# Plugin is subject to Adobe Flash EULA:
#  http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/eula/flashplayer.html
#
Executing install script for flashplayer-plugin-22.0.0.209-x86_64-1.txz.
Package flashplayer-plugin-22.0.0.209-x86_64-1.txz installed.

Creating /tmp/flashplayer-plugin-22.0.0.209-x86_64-1.xzm
I'm reasonably certain I was online when I started this.

USM

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/home/guest# usm -i flashplayer

 The following items were found.
 Choose an number to confirm. 
 ctrl+c to quit

1) flashplayer-plugin-11.2.202.632-x86_64-1alien.txz
2) flashplayer-plugin-11.2.202.632-x86_64-1_slonly.txz
3) flashplayer-plugin-11.2.202.632-x86_64-2sl.txz
#? ^C
root@porteus:/home/guest# 
One creates a flashplayer-plugin-11.2.202.632-x86_64-1 module the other a flashplayer-plugin-22.0.0.209-x86_64-1 module!!

Adobe says that version 11.2 is the last Linux version. update-flash may need a tweak or two.
Ed

Post Reply