Question about intel compute sticks.

New features which should be implemented in Porteus Kiosk Edition and the kiosk wizard.
Post Reply
LordMS
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 02 Sep 2016, 22:20
Distribution: Mint, Symphony
Location: Estonia

Question about intel compute sticks.

Post#1 by LordMS » 02 Sep 2016, 22:34

Hello.

Sorry if my topic is in the wrong subforum.

I want to buy Intel Compute stick but from research i have found out that linux distros might have problems with them.
I want to know if community knows witch compute sticks work best with Porteus kiosk ?

In my country i can get following models.
BOXSTCK1A8LFC
STK1A32SC
STCK1A32WFC
STK1AW32SC

Also, want to know how easy it even is to install Porteus at these devices.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5571
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Question about intel compute sticks.

Post#2 by brokenman » 02 Sep 2016, 22:39

I think somebody here already installed porteus on one of these. I just bought one (STK1AW32SC) but I haven't had the time to start playing with it yet. I would also be interested to know if anyone else has done it and what steps they took. Porteus is ideal for these types of devices.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5571
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Question about intel compute sticks.

Post#3 by brokenman » 02 Sep 2016, 22:47

First find a way to image the existing partitions on the compute stick in case you want to go back to the original state.

http://liliputing.com/2015/07/simplest- ... o-far.html
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

LordMS
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 02 Sep 2016, 22:20
Distribution: Mint, Symphony
Location: Estonia

Re: Question about intel compute sticks.

Post#4 by LordMS » 02 Sep 2016, 22:59

Well. I do not have device yet. But probably will in October.
Since i need it for kiosk system for school it seems to be "smallest" thing so far to hide behind TV what will show school website.

I maybe could get one for testing but not sure.

So yeah, right now i am gathering all information about Intel compute sticks capability to run Porteus Kiosk.
And no i dont need original Windows/ubuntu what is already in the stick.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5571
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Question about intel compute sticks.

Post#5 by brokenman » 02 Sep 2016, 23:22

At the time I bought mine the Ubuntu one had less RAM. Buy the windows version. It's quite snappy running windows. Porteus will fly. The thing that isn't apparent in the advertising is that the cheaper model (~$160AU) needs to be powered. I believe the future plans are to have the HDMI port power the stick. Perhaps the more expensive model already has this, not sure.

I just read up on it and installing Porteus should be trivial and you can dual boot. Installing Porteus Kiosk may be another story, I'm not really sure.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4617
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Question about intel compute sticks.

Post#6 by fanthom » 03 Sep 2016, 10:28

Hello LordMS,

Intel released two versions of Intel Compute Stick. Both works pretty well with Porteus Kiosk except that:

1) first generation needs 'out of the kernel tree' wifi driver:
https://github.com/hadess/rtl8723bs

2) second gen has better specs (wifi is supported ootb) but is lacking audio support and requires 'out of the kernel tree' hdmi driver:
http://www.cnx-software.com/2016/04/19/ ... eased/[url]
[/url]
Both issues could be resolved by the customized build (kernel recompilation needed):
http://porteus-kiosk.org/builds.html

Caveat:
There is no guarantee that 3rd party patches will ever be mainlined or even maintained in the future. That means you may no be able to upgrade kiosk to never release in the future (it uses latest kernel).

Thank you.

BTW: Moving thread to kiosk section of the forum.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

LordMS
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 02 Sep 2016, 22:20
Distribution: Mint, Symphony
Location: Estonia

Re: Question about intel compute sticks.

Post#7 by LordMS » 03 Sep 2016, 11:21

Hmm. Sound is not really issue.

But as i do understand. I can only run live iso or something like that in compute stick ? or off from usb stick?
Or i am completely wrong ?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4617
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Question about intel compute sticks.

Post#8 by fanthom » 03 Sep 2016, 13:15

You can burn kiosk installation ISO on USB stick:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/download.html#usb

then boot it on Intel Compute Stick and install kiosk on its internal storage. It works as every other installation on the PC with a hard drive.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply