Questions about Porteus-v3.2rc5

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3424
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Post#16 by Ed_P » 03 Sep 2016, 01:33

brokenman wrote:Ed_P, the error says that your sandbox has incorrect permissions.

Code: Select all

chmod 4755 /opt/google/chrome/chrome-sandbox
Thank you brokenman. :good:
If you are using Porteus-v3.2rcX then use the update-chrome script which takes care of this and also helps to support Porteus by using DDG as a default search engine.
I only use this google-chrome thing for one thing. For everything else I use FF. :oops:

BTW Just lost the desktop background. :o
Ed

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1555
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Post#17 by Blaze » 03 Sep 2016, 08:54

Cinnamon x86_64

Missing icon (Start > System Settings > Users and groups) /usr/share/icons/Paper/48x48/actions/cs-user-accounts.svg in the Paper icons theme.
Fix cs-user-accounts.xzm
as root I could not right click, select any area, or drag & drop any items in desktop, also there are no icons on it
I think this trouble in broken patch configuration of root desktop - if I try to run this command

Code: Select all

nemo -q
I get this warning message

Code: Select all

** (nemo:2295): WARNING **: AT-SPI: Could not obtain desktop path or name
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

alexgorr
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 20
Joined: 23 Nov 2011, 12:48
Location: italy

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Post#18 by alexgorr » 03 Sep 2016, 13:50

Jack wrote:
alexgorr wrote:Hi. I''ve downloaded http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/Porteus-v3 ... x86_64.iso + files in modules (the behaviuor is the same with or without modules)
MATE -> System starts, but all icons are missing
CINNAMON (i tried also it) doen't start . All screen is black.
adding http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/Porteus-v3 ... /20160809/ to previuos version (rc4) worked fine.
I don't explayn me where i do wrong.

Code: Select all

........
│
[BOOT]
│   └── Boot-NoEmul.img
├── boot
│   ├── Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com
│   ├── Porteus-installer-for-Windows.exe
│   ├── docs
│   │   ├── GNU_GPL
│   │   ├── License.txt
│   │   ├── cheatcodes.txt
│   │   ├── install.txt
│   │   └── requirements.txt
│   └── syslinux
│       ├── boot.cat
│       ├── chain.c32
│       ├── extlinux.conf
│       ├── initrd.xz
│       ├── isolinux.bin
│       ├── isolinux.boot
│       ├── isolinux.cfg
│       ├── lilo.conf
│       ├── plpbt
│       ├── porteus.cfg
│       ├── porteus.png
│       ├── syslinux.cfg
│       ├── vesamenu.c32
│       └── vmlinuz
└── porteus
    ├── base
    │   ├── 000-kernel.xzm
    │   ├── 001-core.xzm
    │   ├── 002-xorg.xzm
    │   └── 003-mate.xzm
    ├── make_iso.sh
    ├── modules
    │   ├── 05-devel.xzm
    │   ├── VirtualBox-5.1.4-porteus-v3.2rc5-x86_64-1prt.xzm
    │   └── crippled_sources.xzm
    ├── optional
    ├── porteus-v3.2-x86_64.sgn
    └── rootcopy

When you boot up in Text Mode and after you login type cache-module then it will ask to save it type Y it will be called 009-caches.xzm move it to /mnt/sdX/porteus/base directory then when you reboot the icons will be there.
Hi Thanks. Now i have all icons, great, but neither sound nor network are up. Wired connection seems dead.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5139
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus artix
Location: C'est l'hiver: la neige soudainement est là à Montréal.

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc5 bug reports

Post#19 by francois » 03 Sep 2016, 22:08

@bogomips:
This thread is not locked!

@others:
Testing cinnamon rc5 guest mode as vbox guest. There is no internet connection.

This was an autogenerated artifact.

Thanks.
Carpe diem.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3424
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Questions about Porteus-v3.2rc5

Post#20 by Ed_P » 06 Sep 2016, 03:20

Do we still need the 009-caches.xzm module from rc4?
Ed

User avatar
ralcocer
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 146
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:53
Distribution: 3.2rc5 Xfce
Location: Puerto Rico
Contact:

Re: Questions about Porteus-v3.2rc5

Post#21 by ralcocer » 18 Sep 2016, 15:48

using XFCE just downloaded v3.2rc5,I am getting old but the black and white and the background dont work for me, I just replace the from the 3.1 because there are no options out of the box.

What happened to the image editor, the porteus menu, the QT V4l does not work, the script to put the xpanelbottom will not work unless you logout, the switch user button does not work, is there a menu item for the update entries,

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5139
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus artix
Location: C'est l'hiver: la neige soudainement est là à Montréal.

Re: Questions about Porteus-v3.2rc5

Post#22 by francois » 18 Sep 2016, 16:55

This thread is locked, for bug reports please use https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=117&t=6187
Carpe diem.

Locked