Display goes off during installation of Porteus 3.1

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
skjaiswal
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 25 Aug 2016, 08:56
Distribution: Slax 6
Location: India

Display goes off during installation of Porteus 3.1

Post#1 by skjaiswal » 26 Aug 2016, 10:11

I am trying to install Proteus 3.1 on my thin client machin with 2 gb HDD and 2 gb RAM. This PC has VGA card via chrom9 hcm. I am installing with bootable cd but during installation display goes off. Pls help me to install

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1061
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: Display goes off during installation of Proteus 3.1

Post#2 by wread » 26 Aug 2016, 15:32

How are you installing and to what are you installing?
Can you run Porteus direct from cd?
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

skjaiswal
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 25 Aug 2016, 08:56
Distribution: Slax 6
Location: India

Re: Display goes off during installation of Proteus 3.1

Post#3 by skjaiswal » 27 Aug 2016, 10:16

wread wrote:How are you installing and to what are you installing?
Can you run Porteus direct from cd?

Thanx for listening me..
I am installing Proteus 3.1 iso bootable from cd on my thin client PC which has via chrom9 hcm VGA card. It is booting from cd but where Root login appear the display gets blank. I think this the problem of VGA card . Because the same cd is installed in other desktop pc.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1061
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: Display goes off during installation of Proteus 3.1

Post#4 by wread » 27 Aug 2016, 11:02

skjaiswal wrote:I am installing Proteus 3.1 iso bootable from cd on my thin client PC which ha via chrom9 hcm VGA card.
It seems to me that Porteus won't run from a thin client PC.. :sorry:
A couple of years ago I was teaching Informatics for Civil Engineers at the Uni and they changed me to a classroom with thin clients PC and I didn't know what to dowith my students. I had to switch to theories in the whiteboard.
Maybe one could install Porteus in the server, but I have no experiences....perhaps brokenman or fanthom could help you!

Regards
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

skjaiswal
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 25 Aug 2016, 08:56
Distribution: Slax 6
Location: India

Re: Display goes off during installation of Proteus 3.1

Post#5 by skjaiswal » 27 Aug 2016, 12:29

Thanx
But this is the problm because of via chrom9 hcm VGA card...I think brokman is the right person to help me

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Display goes off during installation of Proteus 3.1

Post#6 by brokenman » 27 Aug 2016, 22:21

Well I would have thought that xf86-video-openchrome would handle that card. Have you tried using vesa?

1) Boot into text mode
2) Give me the output from: lspci
3) Copy /etc/X11/xorg.conf-vesa to /etc/X11/xorg.conf
4) startx.

I would also need a copy of your logs to fully troubleshoot. Thanks.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

skjaiswal
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 25 Aug 2016, 08:56
Distribution: Slax 6
Location: India

Re: Display goes off during installation of Proteus 3.1

Post#7 by skjaiswal » 28 Aug 2016, 09:51

Thanx ..
By your copy cmd I have got the desktop and install Proteus into my 2gb hard disk. I removed cd and restart my PC the same problem exist....the desktop is again blank.
:o
I typed uname -r
3.17.4-porteus
How to send you the image file of $ lspci
In this chat

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Display goes off during installation of Proteus 3.1

Post#8 by Jack » 28 Aug 2016, 10:53

skjaiswal wrote:Thanx ..
By your copy cmd I have got the desktop and install Proteus into my 2gb hard disk. I removed cd and restart my PC the same problem exist....the desktop is again blank.
:o
I typed uname -r
3.17.4-porteus
How to send you the image file of $ lspci
In this chat
This is mind and do it in terminal and do it this way. And the password is toor.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 0c)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (primary) (rev 0c)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (secondary) (rev 0c)
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1a.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 02)
00:1a.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 5 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev f2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HM (ICH8M) LPC Interface Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801HM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA Controller [AHCI mode] (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
02:09.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller (rev 05)
02:09.1 SD Host controller: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter (rev 22)
02:09.2 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C592 Memory Stick Bus Host Adapter (rev 12)
02:09.3 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd xD-Picture Card Controller (rev 12)
09:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller (rev 12)
0b:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG [Golan] Network Connection (rev 02)
root@porteus:/home/guest#
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Display goes off during installation of Proteus 3.1

Post#9 by brokenman » 28 Aug 2016, 14:31

After you install to the hard disk, copy the good xorg.conf into rootcopy/etc/X11/xorg.conf
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

skjaiswal
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 25 Aug 2016, 08:56
Distribution: Slax 6
Location: India

Re: Display goes off during installation of Proteus 3.1

Post#10 by skjaiswal » 29 Aug 2016, 05:19

brokenman wrote:After you install to the hard disk, copy the good xorg.conf into rootcopy/etc/X11/xorg.conf
Ok I copied the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf-vesa to /etc/X11/xorg.conf in root....Now both the files xorg.conf-vesa and xorg.conf are available in root /etc/X11.
But when I restart my pc display is again blank...I think the xorg.conf file is removed automatically from root /etc/X11
I again do following in root
root@porteus:# cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf-vesa /etc/X11/xorg.conf
And then # startx
Then display comes again....
Last edited by skjaiswal on 29 Aug 2016, 09:38, edited 1 time in total.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1116
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Display goes off during installation of Porteus 3.1

Post#11 by donald » 29 Aug 2016, 06:56

@ skjaiswal

Please read again carefully brokenmans advice.
"copy the good xorg.conf into rootcopy/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(e.g. /mnt/sda1/porteus/rootcopy/...)
not "copy to root" :wink:

skjaiswal
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 25 Aug 2016, 08:56
Distribution: Slax 6
Location: India

[Solved]: Display goes off during installation of Porteus 3.

Post#12 by skjaiswal » 29 Aug 2016, 15:42

Yessssssss
It's done...........
Thankyou....brokenman...You are genius......so nice of you..
:Rose: :beer:
I will use Proteus forever....will it ask me any license or activation key????
Last edited by skjaiswal on 30 Aug 2016, 14:06, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1061
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: Display goes off during installation of Porteus 3.1

Post#13 by wread » 29 Aug 2016, 20:08

@skjailwal
you may now edit your post adding [Solved] to the subject :Yahoo!:

Cheers!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

Post Reply