HDMI output settings [Solved]

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
2012firstuser
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 19 Aug 2016, 20:47
Distribution: 4.0.0
Location: US

HDMI output settings [Solved]

Post#1 by 2012firstuser » 19 Aug 2016, 20:50

Hi
I'm trying to change my kiosk's HDMI output settings. Its currently defaulting to the wrong resoltuion (due to a port HDMI port switcher we are using).
How do we set it to one resolution?
I found this documentation, but it hasnt been much help.
http://porteus-kiosk.org/parameters.htm ... n_settings

Thank you.
Last edited by 2012firstuser on 24 Aug 2016, 17:20, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5574
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: HDMI output settings

Post#2 by brokenman » 19 Aug 2016, 21:43

Moved to kiosk section.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4617
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: HDMI output settings

Post#3 by fanthom » 20 Aug 2016, 18:46

Hello 2012firstuser,

As explained in documentation you need to:
a) boot any linux (or login to kiosk through ssh) on a target PC
b) run 'xranrd' command and gather data
c) modify your 'screen_settings=' parameter

Sample 'xrandr' output on my PC looks as follows:

Code: Select all

Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 8192 x 8192
DVI-0 connected primary 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 528mm x 297mm
   1920x1080     60.00*+
   1680x1050     59.88  
   1600x900      59.98  
   1280x1024     60.02  
   1280x800      59.91  
   1280x720      59.97  
   1024x768      60.00  
   800x600       60.32  
   640x480       60.00  
   720x400       70.08  
DIN disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
Basing on this data you can construct following parameter:

Code: Select all

screen_settings=DVI-0:720x400:70.08:normal:normal:normal
to set higher resolution and rotate on the left:

Code: Select all

screen_settings=DVI-0:1680x1050:59.88:normal:left:normal
Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply