[SOLVED] Firefox 48 for 32-bit Porteus 3.1 XFCE

If you are looking for a specific 32-bit package and you can't find it in any of the 32-bit repos, please post a request for it here.
Arif
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 15 Apr 2016, 15:20
Distribution: Porteus 3.1 XFCE
Location: Dhaka

[SOLVED] Firefox 48 for 32-bit Porteus 3.1 XFCE

Post#1 by Arif » 14 Aug 2016, 15:47

I downloaded mozilla-firefox-48.0-i586-1.txz from here, but it wasn't opening after installing the package. Can someone link me to a working version? Also, could you show me how to convert the .tar.bz2 file that's downloaded when you download it from Mozilla's website to a working .xzm file so I don't have to bug you guys with every release? Thanks :D

EDIT: I downloaded and installed v45 from USM (it's the only version I could find) and it works fine. So I'm guessing v48 isn't working because of some dependency issues. How do I resolve this?
Last edited by Arif on 15 Aug 2016, 14:14, edited 2 times in total.

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Firefox 48 for 32-bit Porteus 3.1 XFCE

Post#2 by Jack » 14 Aug 2016, 15:54

Did you convert it to *.xzm? If not I'm downloading it and will convert and give you a link to download it.
EDIT:
You could have used USM but here it is.
http://www.mediafire.com/download/gasv7 ... i586-1.xzm
b8825644fe49e522ec0fbc08c6adcdeb mozilla-firefox-48.0-i586-1.xzm

Just put in your module directory and reboot. It should be there.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Arif
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 15 Apr 2016, 15:20
Distribution: Porteus 3.1 XFCE
Location: Dhaka

Re: Firefox 48 for 32-bit Porteus 3.1 XFCE

Post#3 by Arif » 14 Aug 2016, 16:27

It doesn't work either, i.e. it doesn't open :/ Previously I just right-clicked on the .txz file and selected Install Package instead of converting it first and had the same problem. It installed fine but it wouldn't open when I tried opening it.

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Firefox 48 for 32-bit Porteus 3.1 XFCE

Post#4 by Jack » 14 Aug 2016, 16:44

Right click on the mozilla-firefox-48.0-i586-1.xzm on the top that what pop up it should say Open With Activate click on that it might ask for a password type toor at that point it should be Activated. It should work. Open Appllications/Internet/Firefox then click on icon. It could be in panel too. That how I do it.
Last edited by Jack on 14 Aug 2016, 16:49, edited 1 time in total.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Arif
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 15 Apr 2016, 15:20
Distribution: Porteus 3.1 XFCE
Location: Dhaka

Re: Firefox 48 for 32-bit Porteus 3.1 XFCE

Post#5 by Arif » 14 Aug 2016, 16:48

It is activated as I put it in the /portues/modules directory and I do see Firefox in the list of all installed modules. It's just that it doesn't open when I try to open it (Right click on desktop > Internet > Firefox)

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Firefox 48 for 32-bit Porteus 3.1 XFCE

Post#6 by Jack » 14 Aug 2016, 16:50

Arif wrote:It is activated as I put it in the /portues/modules directory and I do see Firefox in the list of all installed modules. It's just that it doesn't open when I try to open it (Right click on desktop > Internet > Firefox)
You should left click on it.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Arif
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 15 Apr 2016, 15:20
Distribution: Porteus 3.1 XFCE
Location: Dhaka

Re: Firefox 48 for 32-bit Porteus 3.1 XFCE

Post#7 by Arif » 14 Aug 2016, 16:54

I did left click on it...

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Firefox 48 for 32-bit Porteus 3.1 XFCE

Post#8 by Jack » 14 Aug 2016, 17:19

I'm sorry but I don't what else to do. Maybe someone else could help you.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3164
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Firefox 48 for 32-bit Porteus 3.1 XFCE

Post#9 by Ed_P » 14 Aug 2016, 18:39

Arif, FF takes a moment or two to come up on my machine. Maybe 5 seconds or so. And if the network isn't working it still comes up with an error msg.

Do you have the right version for your machine? Is it 32-bit or 64-bit? Have you tried the USM version? It can help resolve any dependencies you may need. Do you have the right Slackware version?
Ed

neko
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 920
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Re: Firefox 48 for 32-bit Porteus 3.1 XFCE

Post#10 by neko » 15 Aug 2016, 03:03

@Arif
"firefox" needs the libraries "libgdk-3.so" and "libgtk-3.so" that are not included in v3.1 32bit XFCE.
These libraries are included in the package "gtk+3".

You must get the package by USM and activate it.

Thanks.

Arif
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 15 Apr 2016, 15:20
Distribution: Porteus 3.1 XFCE
Location: Dhaka

Re: Firefox 48 for 32-bit Porteus 3.1 XFCE

Post#11 by Arif » 15 Aug 2016, 05:27

It's still not working after installing gtk+3. I think it might have to do with the fact that it's an i586 file and that I'm running an Intel Atom machine...

@Ed_P Yes, it is the 32 bit version, although it may not be the correct 32 bit version like I've stated above. USM doesn't show anything above v45 for me, and v45 works fine after I install it. Also, I didn't know there's supposed to be a right Slackware version (I just chose slackware current as it seemed to be the latest). How do I find the correct version?

neko
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 920
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Re: Firefox 48 for 32-bit Porteus 3.1 XFCE

Post#12 by neko » 15 Aug 2016, 06:54

004-firefox-en-US-48.0-i686-5.xzm (53 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/download/trlgd ... i686-5.xzm
2f54d449121d05511476f1ec1bd613e2 004-firefox-en-US-48.0-i686-5.xzm

This firefox was run on v3.1 32bit XFCE.

This module was created by mkfirefox command and merged with "libgdk-3.so" and "libgtk-3.so".

mkfirefox command is gotten by activating mkslimjet-v3.2-noarch-5.xzm.
About mkslimjet-v3.2-noarch-5.xzm, please refer to
viewtopic.php?f=75&t=4875#p35562


Thanks.

Arif
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 15 Apr 2016, 15:20
Distribution: Porteus 3.1 XFCE
Location: Dhaka

Re: [SOLVED] Firefox 48 for 32-bit Porteus 3.1 XFCE

Post#13 by Arif » 15 Aug 2016, 14:15

That worked perfectly! Thanks!

User avatar
Obosan
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 113
Joined: 28 Mar 2014, 17:02
Distribution: Porteus xfce 32BIT v3.0
Location: JAPAN

Re: [SOLVED] Firefox 48 for 32-bit Porteus 3.1 XFCE

Post#14 by Obosan » 15 Oct 2016, 12:14

@neko_san, Gokigenyou!

Since I needed libgtk-3.so.0 for abiword, gnumeric and gthumb, as well as new version of FF, allow me to use your bundle xzm.
I thank you for your contribution.
Arigatou Gozaimasu! :angel:

Firefox48 for 3.1 Xfce activated, though I couldn't input in Japanese and menu is in English.
On Opera in 3.1 I can use scim. Amazing! (in 3.0 Xfce, when I input Kanji, Opera stall)
Could you instruct me how I can use Japanese IM for abiword, gnumeric and firefox, please.

For your information, I was able to input on Mousepad, LibreOffice and Thunar, maybe more.

By the way, I deleted my favorite application “Gthumb“ on 3.1 Xfce pen-drive.
I'm not sure but something wrong with gthumb and 3.1 Xfce.

Gamba-ri moshou ! for your life and for Porteus.

neko
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 920
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Re: [SOLVED] Firefox 48 for 32-bit Porteus 3.1 XFCE

Post#15 by neko » 16 Oct 2016, 08:11

@Obosan-sama

"Firefox48 for 3.1 Xfce activated, though I couldn't input in Japanese and menu is in English."

1."menu is in English."
If you use Japanese version firefox, "004-firefox-ja-49.0.1-i686-6.xzm",
the menu will be Japanese.

"004-firefox-ja-49.0.1-i686-6.xzm" can be gotten
by the "mkfirefox" command that is included in mkslimjet-v3.2-noarch-6.xzm.

Updated "mkfirefox" command of mkslimjet-v3.2-noarch-6.xzm
will add libraries "libgdk-3.so" and "libgtk-3.so" into "004-firefox-ja-49.0.1-i686-6.xzm"
Please refer to
viewtopic.php?f=75&t=4875#p35562

2."I couldn't input in Japanese"
This problem happens on XFCE desktop.
On FVWM desktop environment (32bit V3.1 Porteus),
I can input into "004-firefox-ja-49.0.1-i686-6.xzm" search field.
I will continue search this problem.
When something will be gotten, I will report to you.

3."for abiword, gnumeric"
These applications not be yet checked on "32bit v3.1 Porteus XFCE".
I will prepare this environment and will check.

4.“Gthumb“
I did not know this application.
I introduced it by "APorteus SPM" into "32bit Aporteus XFCE Japanese version".
I understand that it is a good application.


Thanks.

Post Reply