Porteus not working on Virtual Box

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
write2diba
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 12
Joined: 30 Jul 2016, 07:35
Distribution: Ubuntu
Location: India

Re: Porteus not working on Virtual Box

Post#16 by write2diba » 01 Aug 2016, 03:51

brokenman wrote: Then try to run the ISO in virtualbox from within Porteus.
I didn't understand this line. What do you mean by "running ISO in virtualbox from within Porteus" ? :shock:
Linux is Sexy :D

write2diba
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 12
Joined: 30 Jul 2016, 07:35
Distribution: Ubuntu
Location: India

Re: Porteus not working on Virtual Box

Post#17 by write2diba » 01 Aug 2016, 05:35

brokenman wrote:Can you update virtualbox to the latest version in ubuntu?
Ok.. So I updated the Virtualbox to ver 5.1.2 and used Porteus-MATE-v3.2rc4-i586.iso but the same "kernel panic" problem is being shown :(
Linux is Sexy :D

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2560
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus not working on Virtual Box

Post#18 by Bogomips » 01 Aug 2016, 11:32

write2diba wrote:
brokenman wrote: Then try to run the ISO in virtualbox from within Porteus.
I didn't understand this line. What do you mean by "running ISO in virtualbox from within Porteus" ? :shock:
Boot into Porteus rc4, set up vitualbox, and run the ISO, while still in Porteus, I would think.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5504
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus not working on Virtual Box

Post#19 by brokenman » 02 Aug 2016, 02:24

Yes. Put porteus on a USB and boot from it (like you are booting into ubuntu) and then install Virtualbox. Then do everything the same as you have done in ubuntu and see if virtualbox loads rc4 correctly. This will tell us if the problem is on the host (ubuntu).
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

write2diba
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 12
Joined: 30 Jul 2016, 07:35
Distribution: Ubuntu
Location: India

Re: Porteus not working on Virtual Box

Post#20 by write2diba » 02 Aug 2016, 03:40

brokenman wrote:Yes. Put porteus on a USB and boot from it (like you are booting into ubuntu) and then install Virtualbox. Then do everything the same as you have done in ubuntu and see if virtualbox loads rc4 correctly. This will tell us if the problem is on the host (ubuntu).
Yes that can be done but there is one little problem.. I have previously tried to boot Porteus from my USB stick but it never works in my Laptop.. It gets stuck in Porteus boot menu page..
But booting from USB in my Desktop works fine.. I can do whatever you have told in my Desktop Computer if that's OK.... :)
Linux is Sexy :D

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1080
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: Porteus not working on Virtual Box

Post#21 by wread » 02 Aug 2016, 11:57

I think the problem is in UEFI ????
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

write2diba
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 12
Joined: 30 Jul 2016, 07:35
Distribution: Ubuntu
Location: India

Re: Porteus not working on Virtual Box

Post#22 by write2diba » 02 Aug 2016, 17:29

wread wrote:I think the problem is in UEFI ????
But I changed the mode to "Legacy Support" in the BIOS setting. Wouldn't that work ?

And my Laptop has Ubuntu installed only hence without changing to "Legacy Support" it never works..
Linux is Sexy :D

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1080
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: Porteus not working on Virtual Box

Post#23 by wread » 03 Aug 2016, 01:12

@write2diba
Ok, Your Usb runs ok in Desktop, Just old BIOS.
But the same Usb fails in your Laptop...Is your Laptop 64 bits and the Desktop 32 bits maybe? Or perhaps the other way around? (Laptop 32, Desktop 64)
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

write2diba
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 12
Joined: 30 Jul 2016, 07:35
Distribution: Ubuntu
Location: India

Re: Porteus not working on Virtual Box

Post#24 by write2diba » 03 Aug 2016, 03:50

wread wrote:@write2diba
Ok, Your Usb runs ok in Desktop, Just old BIOS.
But the same Usb fails in your Laptop...Is your Laptop 64 bits and the Desktop 32 bits maybe? Or perhaps the other way around? (Laptop 32, Desktop 64)
No no.. Both my Laptop and Desktop has 64bit systems... But the Porteus that I am using on USB is 32bits and that is working on my Desktop System but not on Laptop... Does that create problem? I mean 32bit system should be fine in 64bit architecture, isn't it? :(
Linux is Sexy :D

Post Reply