Hi was wondering about this Linux OS

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
courtney6084
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 05 Jul 2016, 22:22
Distribution: Porteus
Location: U.S.

Hi was wondering about this Linux OS

Post#1 by courtney6084 » 05 Jul 2016, 22:34

I am looking for a Linux OS that runs straight off of A USB since well my hard drive is failing and don't have the money to replace it right now sadly. I have a regular USB driver with only 2GB and a Sand Disk Cruz U With 8GB.

Anyway my main question is that does this OS truly run off of just a USB?

Also I read that a USB has a limited number of reads and writes. So wondering will using porteus 24/7 from a USB kill the USB eventually or will it last a long time. Since Porteus is extremely lightweight?

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1221
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Hi was wondering about this Linux OS

Post#2 by donald » 05 Jul 2016, 23:20

Hi courtney

--> does this OS truly run off of just a USB? <--
Yes it does, promised.
My PC is running this way, without any HDD.

Yep, flash drives, or in general flash Memory, has a limited number
of write circles but not one i own has gone dead because of that.
(until now)

It is more likely to lose one out of the pocket.

Also, porteus knows some tricks (cheatcodes) to reduce the write access considerably. 8)

courtney6084
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 05 Jul 2016, 22:22
Distribution: Porteus
Location: U.S.

Re: Hi was wondering about this Linux OS

Post#3 by courtney6084 » 06 Jul 2016, 00:41

Ah OK thanks maybe I'll try this out then. I'll use my Sandisk Cruz U to make a USB then and see how it goes.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Hi was wondering about this Linux OS

Post#4 by Bogomips » 06 Jul 2016, 00:46

courtney6084 wrote:I'll use my Sandisk Cruz U to make a USB
There are outstanding issues with some Sandisk types.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

courtney6084
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 05 Jul 2016, 22:22
Distribution: Porteus
Location: U.S.

Re: Hi was wondering about this Linux OS

Post#5 by courtney6084 » 06 Jul 2016, 06:48

AH OK thanks for letting me know going to try anyway if not going to try the regular USB. Anyway i'm on linux I extracted everything to the USB but when I try to boot the linux installer it just goes to archive manager. So wondering what do I do I tried the command line and the installer went to sda2 instead.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 973
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Hi was wondering about this Linux OS

Post#6 by ncmprhnsbl » 06 Jul 2016, 07:03

run it in a terminal as root like so:
./Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com
(filemanager may have a 'open terminal in current dir)
make sure its mounted in /mnt/sdx (x being your usb eg sdb1)
check out /boot/doc/install.txt for more details
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

courtney6084
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 05 Jul 2016, 22:22
Distribution: Porteus
Location: U.S.

Re: Hi was wondering about this Linux OS

Post#7 by courtney6084 » 06 Jul 2016, 08:04

Got it all hooked it up and running now but only thing is that it's extremely slow though. Guessing that's because of my USB or do I need to disable and enable these cheats donald talked about?

My computer is a 64bit, 8 GB of Ram, graphics card is amd Radeon 7340 and processor is amd E2-2000. Then have Porteus Installed on a sandisk cruz U that has 8GB of storage.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 973
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Hi was wondering about this Linux OS

Post#8 by ncmprhnsbl » 06 Jul 2016, 08:48

some questions:
which version of porteus?
which desktop?

some suggestions:
check out the Task Manager to see if some process is hogging resources..
you have plenty of ram, so cheatcode copy2ram might help(press Tab at bootscreen and add)
run Porteus System Info(in the menu) and upload to pastebin..
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

courtney6084
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 05 Jul 2016, 22:22
Distribution: Porteus
Location: U.S.

Re: Hi was wondering about this Linux OS

Post#9 by courtney6084 » 06 Jul 2016, 16:23

I went with the 64bit version, Gui, lxqt, google chrome, and it's v3.1.

I'll try that cheat code and see how it goes

Then for some odd reason my wifi only works if I choose the start fresh option. So really can't save my settings at all. unless there's away to renable it with a command or something.

courtney6084
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 05 Jul 2016, 22:22
Distribution: Porteus
Location: U.S.

Re: Hi was wondering about this Linux OS

Post#10 by courtney6084 » 06 Jul 2016, 19:53

Sorry for the double post just going to try and remake the USB.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5080
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Hi was wondering about this Linux OS

Post#11 by francois » 07 Jul 2016, 05:42

You would be better with xfce, but lxqt should do. Definitely firefox would be a better option. Google-chrome for some reason takes a lot of resources. Did you create a swap partition?
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

courtney6084
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 05 Jul 2016, 22:22
Distribution: Porteus
Location: U.S.

Re: Hi was wondering about this Linux OS

Post#12 by courtney6084 » 23 Jul 2016, 19:16

Hi all in all honesty found another OS that went ran off of USB but decided it would probably be better to use this one. Anyway so I took my 2GB USB installed Porteus to it. Then used the Porteus Installer tool to install it to my sanddisk cruz U 8GB USB and now everything works again. Only problem is when I install porteus to ram thats when my wifi breaks again. Anyway this time using 64bit and lxqt still. Only difference is I went with opera this time and went with efi boot. Anyway everything is up and working correctly though and it saves since I used the installer but installing/copying to ram breaks the wifi. Oh and was I supposed to create a swap partion or does the installer already do that?

Edit: Since I got everything working perfectly but doesn't when I install/copy to ram should I recreate the USB'S using the options francois mentioned? Since I can't copy/install to ram?

Also sorry I know I made this thread like 2-3 weeks ago but no idea if bumping was allowed lol.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Hi was wondering about this Linux OS

Post#13 by Bogomips » 23 Jul 2016, 19:38

courtney6084 wrote:Oh and was I supposed to create a swap partion or does the installer already do that?
Create a swap partioinon, and it will be used, is my experience. Not sure whether mkswap has to be run as well.
courtney6084 wrote:Also sorry I know I made this thread like 2-3 weeks ago but no idea if bumping was allowed lol.
Don't foresee any problem with bumping of this nature. :)
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

courtney6084
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 05 Jul 2016, 22:22
Distribution: Porteus
Location: U.S.

Re: Hi was wondering about this Linux OS

Post#14 by courtney6084 » 23 Jul 2016, 20:13

Bogomips wrote:
courtney6084 wrote:Oh and was I supposed to create a swap partion or does the installer already do that?
Create a swap partioinon, and it will be used, is my experience. Not sure whether mkswap has to be run as well.
courtney6084 wrote:Also sorry I know I made this thread like 2-3 weeks ago but no idea if bumping was allowed lol.
Don't foresee any problem with bumping of this nature. :)
Nope I just checked there is no swap partion I know regular linux OS'S require or make one but is it truly required on this one and how do you even go about doing that?

ah OK.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3322
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Hi was wondering about this Linux OS

Post#15 by Ed_P » 23 Jul 2016, 21:51

I have no swap partition on my USB install. It may be useful on hard drives or an old concept for older equipment carried over.

This is the process I used to create my EFI booting flash drive. https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php ... 638#p33604
Ed

Post Reply