Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1358
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#61 by Blaze » 14 Jul 2016, 07:39

jmhoward56, thanks.

Themes > Settings > need to be
Image

Cinnamon x86_64
Trouble if patch have spaces for cd and ls commands
Example. Can't access via terminal to Porteus 3.2 directory - trouble with space 3.2

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# cd /mnt/sda5/BudSmart_Linux/Porteus 3.2
bash: cd: /mnt/sda5/BudSmart_Linux/Porteus: No such file or directory
root@porteus:~# cd /mnt/sda5/BudSmart_Linux/
root@porteus:/mnt/sda5/BudSmart_Linux# ls /mnt/sda5/BudSmart_Linux/Porteus 3.2
/bin/ls: cannot access '/mnt/sda5/BudSmart_Linux/Porteus': No such file or directory
/bin/ls: cannot access '3.2': No such file or directory
root@porteus:/mnt/sda5/BudSmart_Linux#          
Image

Plus if folder name has spaces I can't to activate, deactivate or extract module
Last edited by Blaze on 14 Jul 2016, 18:46, edited 1 time in total.
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#62 by Bogomips » 14 Jul 2016, 10:50

Blaze wrote:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/mnt/sda5/BudSmart_Linux# ls /mnt/sda5/BudSmart_Linux/Porteus 3.2
/bin/ls: cannot access '/mnt/sda5/BudSmart_Linux/Porteus': No such file or directory
/bin/ls: cannot access '3.2': No such file or directory
root@porteus:/mnt/sda5/BudSmart_Linux#         
This is to be expected. Space is used as separator:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ mkdir a1 a2
guest@porteus:~$ touch a1/f1
guest@porteus:~$ touch a2/f2
guest@porteus:~$ ls -l a*
a1:
total 0
-rw-r--r-- 1 guest users 0 Jul 14 12:47 f1

a2:
total 0
-rw-r--r-- 1 guest users 0 Jul 14 12:47 f2
guest@porteus:~$ ls -l a1 a2
a1:
total 0
-rw-r--r-- 1 guest users 0 Jul 14 12:47 f1

a2:
total 0
-rw-r--r-- 1 guest users 0 Jul 14 12:47 f2
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

jmhoward56
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 19:28
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#63 by jmhoward56 » 14 Jul 2016, 18:22

You should be able to do ls /mnt/sda5/BudSmart_Linux/"Porteus 3.2" (add quotes around Porteus 3.2) and have it work. If you tried to use mkdir /mnt/sda5/BudSmart_Linux/Porteus 3.2 you may find you have one dir called Porteus and one called 3.2. If the string contains a space you have to enclose it in "quotes".

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1358
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#64 by Blaze » 14 Jul 2016, 19:22

Thanks guys for bash lesson.

Cinnamon x86_64

If run in terminal /usr/bin/cinnamon-settings and select the tab 'Date & Time' - GUI is lost with this message:

Code: Select all

(cinnamon-settings.py:1769): datetime-cc-panel-WARNING **: Failed to get using ntp: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name org.cinnamon.SettingsDaemon.DateTimeMechanism was not provided by any .service files

(cinnamon-settings.py:1769): datetime-cc-panel-WARNING **: Your system does not have the 'org.cinnamon.settingsdaemon.datetimemechanism.configure' PolicyKit files installed. Please check your installation

(cinnamon-settings.py:1769): datetime-cc-panel-WARNING **: Could not get current timezone: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name org.cinnamon.SettingsDaemon.DateTimeMechanism was not provided by any .service files
*** Error in `python2': free(): invalid pointer: 0x0000000001a773b0 ***
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

jmhoward56
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 19:28
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#65 by jmhoward56 » 14 Jul 2016, 21:57

I switched to the cinnamon 64bit porteus just now and when I run the command on mine as you did I receive the ntp error (network time ) , mine however goes ahead and sets it to Europe/London and displays the screen. Mine is a clean usb install with only the 05-devel.xzm package installed and the crippled_sources.xzm package.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1358
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#66 by Blaze » 15 Jul 2016, 07:07

Confirm - in Always Fresh mode all ok. Thanks.
But - what's mean this message?

Code: Select all

Could not find wacom module; is the cinnamon-control-center package installed?
Full log

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ cinnamon-settings
Could not find wacom module; is the cinnamon-control-center package installed?

** (cinnamon-settings.py:1283): WARNING **: AT-SPI: Could not obtain desktop path or name


** (cinnamon-settings.py:1283): WARNING **: atk-bridge: GetRegisteredEvents returned message with unknown signature

** (cinnamon-settings.py:1283): WARNING **: atk-bridge: get_device_events_reply: unknown signature

** (cinnamon-settings.py:1283): WARNING **: atk-bridge: get_device_events_reply: unknown signature
Loading Calendar module

(cinnamon-settings.py:1283): datetime-cc-panel-WARNING **: Failed to get using ntp: GDBus.Error:org.cinnamon.SettingsDaemon.DateTimeMechanism.GeneralError: Error enabling NTP: OS variant not supported

(cinnamon-settings.py:1283): datetime-cc-panel-WARNING **: Timezone 'localtime' is unhandled, setting Europe/London as default 
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

Payoon
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 61
Joined: 01 Mar 2013, 19:16
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 32 bit XFCE
Location: Duisburg, Germany

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#67 by Payoon » 15 Jul 2016, 13:07

Hi folks,

Code: Select all

unrar
doesnt work (invalid instruction). I took the unrar file from rarlabs' latest beta (5.4) and copied it over the porteus one and then it was OK. Also

Code: Select all

deb2xzm
is missing libfl.so.2.
All small stuff. Otherwise very good experience with XFCE 32bit rc4. It is very snappy and swift. The only thing that imho should be replaced as default in the final version is the paper icon theme. It is too pale I think. I am using Faenca now and hicolor as fallback.
So long.
Payoon

jmhoward56
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 19:28
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#68 by jmhoward56 » 15 Jul 2016, 17:21

Blaze, I saw the wacom driver message on mine and all I can think of is it has built in wacom network support in one of the cinnamon-settings applets and is doing a check for all network cards attached to the computer and is unable to do a wacom verification because of the missing driver. I don't think it will be a problem unless you have a wacom card installed and then the driver will probably be loaded.

kalehrl
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Jul 2016, 13:20
Distribution: Debian
Location: Serbia

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#69 by kalehrl » 15 Jul 2016, 17:36

Why isn't LXQT available in these rc builds?
It would be nice to have a light DE.
Any chance of good old LXDE?

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 793
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#70 by ncmprhnsbl » 15 Jul 2016, 23:03

@Blaze, jmhoward56
the wacom bit refers to a GUI for graphics tablets settings, either because it isnt there or there is no tablet connected(havnt tested cinnamon myself)
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1358
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#71 by Blaze » 16 Jul 2016, 12:01

brokenman and all

I fixed context menu of Nemo (Cinnamon environment) at /usr/share/nemo/actions
  • added these actions: deb2xzm.nemo_action, remove-slack.nemo_action, rpm2xzm.nemo_action, txz2xzm.nemo_action, unmount-module.nemo_action
  • fixed mount-iso.nemo_action (replace /opt/porteus-scripts/context-menu/mount-iso script on mount via gvfsd-archive)
  • added Russian localization
  • fixed missing icons and removed extra spaces and variables
Download nemo-actions-fix-by-blaze.xzm

But still one thing - if folder name has spaces I can't to activate, deactivate, extract, convert, mount a module etc.
This construction "quotes" does not help me.

For example deb2xzm.nemo_action - look at the "%F"

Code: Select all

[Nemo Action]

Name=Convert %N to xzm
Name[ru]=Конвертировать %N в xzm

Comment=Convert deb package to xzm
Comment[ru]=Конвертировать deb пакет в xzm

Exec=/opt/porteus-scripts/context-menu/convert_deb "%F"

Icon-Name=cdr

Selection=s

Extensions=deb;
but mount-iso.nemo_action seems work fine

Code: Select all

[Nemo Action]

Name=Mount: %N
Name[ru]=Смонтировать: %N

Comment=Mount an ISO
Comment[ru]=Смонтировать образ

Icon-Name=media-optical

Exec=/usr/libexec/gvfsd-archive file="%F"

Selection=s

Extensions=iso;nrg;bin;img;mdf;
If anybody knows how to fix it, please let me know about it.
Last edited by Blaze on 21 Jul 2016, 08:12, edited 1 time in total.
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

jmhoward56
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 19:28
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#72 by jmhoward56 » 16 Jul 2016, 15:35

@Blaze
The problem may be in the porteus scripts and not nemo actions.
according to GitHub, nemo actions can escape spaces on their own by adding this to the file;
Quotes=double and/or EscapeSpaces=true. I tried various combinations of both with the install slackware package action, nothing worked.
I then decided to check the actual porteus script to make sure it was working. I created a directory called "My folder" and placed blackbox-0.70.1-i486-7.txz in it. Opened a terminal there and ran txz2xzm blackbox-* which should have installed the file but did not. To confirm this I placed the same file in "Downloads" and ran same command which did install file. This makes me think porteus script has issue.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1358
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#73 by Blaze » 16 Jul 2016, 16:55

I confirm that unrar in rc4 does not work. If do update unrar to http://download.salixos.org/x86_64/14.2 ... 64-1gv.txz - all ok.
This makes me think porteus script has issue.
I think so, too.
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Slaxmax
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 403
Joined: 03 Jan 2013, 09:51
Distribution: KDE4
Location: Campinas Brazil https://goo.gl/yrxwKi

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#74 by Slaxmax » 16 Jul 2016, 19:14

porteus rc4 where?
“DNA is like a computer program but far, far more advanced than any software ever created.”
― Bill Gates, The Road Ahead

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#75 by Jack » 16 Jul 2016, 19:38

I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Post Reply