Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
bour59
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 118
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 08:10
Distribution: porteus v3.2.2-xfce
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#31 by bour59 » 06 Jul 2016, 07:37

@ncmprhnsbl thx for suggestion
no amelioration after execution of cache-module

fullmoonremix

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#32 by fullmoonremix » 06 Jul 2016, 13:09

I can't tell if this is a bug or **intentional...
http://webwarper.net/ww/~av/forum.porte ... 140&t=6026

My goal was to boot with 001-core and build using NetworkManager... mc and/or USM.

**update... this seems to be intentional the missing referenced files are found in 002-*.*
If it is then... either these files should be in 001-*.* or NetworkManager should be in 002-*.*

Posted by 73.150.85.78 via http://webwarper.net
This is added while posting a message to avoid misusing the service
Last edited by fullmoonremix on 07 Jul 2016, 11:35, edited 2 times in total.

rchase
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 154
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 xfce x64
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#33 by rchase » 07 Jul 2016, 00:06

ncmprhnsbl wrote:
rchase wrote:Echoing bour59, xfce is missing many icons (a few old icons are visible)
icons fine in 64bit xfce..
maybe related to bad caches in 32bit?
try running (as root)cache-module
I should have specified; I tried to run xfce x86-64. Most icons have red "x"s on them, but a few (like Thunar) have what I suppose to be old versions of their icons (which I have seen load before being replaced by more familiar ones when xfce boots). Rc4 still isn't Porteus for my Kangaroo, but it appears to be closer to functioning on it than any other version I've tried (many, including Nemesis). It is curious that you see the icons and I don't -- why would that differ per platform?

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 790
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#34 by ncmprhnsbl » 07 Jul 2016, 01:19

rchase wrote: It is curious that you see the icons and I don't
yeah, i tried 32bit xfce in virtualbox and the icons are good there too..
all i can suggest is to boot 'always fresh' in case you're picking up some previous 'changes' from somewhere...
otherwise Xorg log might shed some light...
fullmoonremix wrote:I can't tell if this is a bug or intentional...
can't speak for brokenman...but yeah, having mc in core, missing a functional dep seems a bit buggy..
on the other hand, networking and usm still function.. so not a major impediment?
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

bour59
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 118
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 08:10
Distribution: porteus v3.2.2-xfce
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#35 by bour59 » 07 Jul 2016, 10:21

I just install xfce-32 on an usb key (using neko's tool , no modification)
and always a lot of icons missing-
Edit:
same issue with xfce-64

bour59
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 118
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 08:10
Distribution: porteus v3.2.2-xfce
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#36 by bour59 » 07 Jul 2016, 15:55

bour59 wrote:I just install xfce-32 on an usb key (using neko's tool , no modification)
and always a lot of icons missing-
Edit:
same issue with xfce-64
This is due to Faenza icons missing
so I've generated a module from rc3 with Faenza , put it in porteus /modules

The icons are now presents :Yahoo!:

rchase
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 154
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 xfce x64
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#37 by rchase » 07 Jul 2016, 16:25

bour59 wrote:
bour59 wrote:I just install xfce-32 on an usb key (using neko's tool , no modification)
and always a lot of icons missing-
Edit:
same issue with xfce-64
This is due to Faenza icons missing
so I've generated a module from rc3 with Faenza , put it in porteus /modules

The icons are now presents :Yahoo!:
How did you create this module? Could the contents of /usr/share/icons or some other directory from the live file system of a working rc3 simply be put in (a newly created directory) /porteus/changes/ ... on the installation stick? I think I will try that and report back. This problem seems considerably less mysterious than missing letters in system menus in Nemesis 3.5 (most display correctly, a few are invisible in all occurrences); I hope that some version of Porteus will support my Kangaroo soon!

bour59
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 118
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 08:10
Distribution: porteus v3.2.2-xfce
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#38 by bour59 » 07 Jul 2016, 17:01

The way I create the module is as usual
In rc3, terminal

Code: Select all

mkdir /tmp/anyname
mkdir /tmp/anyname/usr
mkdir /tmp/anyname/usr/share
mkdir /tmp/anyname/usr/share/icons
cp /usr/share/icons/Faenza* /tmp/anyname/usr/share/icons
cd /tmp
dir2xzm anyname iconsrc3.xzm
your module is created.. copy it in rc4 (/porteus/modules)

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#39 by Ed_P » 07 Jul 2016, 17:31

bour59 wrote:

Code: Select all

mkdir /tmp/anyname
cp /usr/share/icons/Faenza* /tmp/anyname/usr/share/icons
When I make modules I usually use a cp command like this:

Code: Select all

cp -a --parents /usr/share/icons/Faenza*  /tmp/anyname/usr/share/icons
Are your icons "Faenza*" or "faenza*"?
Ed

bour59
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 118
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 08:10
Distribution: porteus v3.2.2-xfce
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#40 by bour59 » 07 Jul 2016, 17:56

Faenza
Faenza-Dark
Faenza-Darker

I write basicaly so no explanation is necessary

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#41 by Ed_P » 07 Jul 2016, 20:06

bour59 wrote:I write basicaly so no explanation is necessary
So do I but sometimes my OS/browser/forum capitalizes words automatically on me, and in fact did that on the line of code I wrote. :(
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Cinnamon 32 & 64 Bit

Post#42 by Bogomips » 07 Jul 2016, 22:47

SUSPEND
Reanimation following suspend results in screen halving itself. followed by system crash. Reboot thru REISUB.
No issue in rc3 for 32 bit. In rc3 64 bit not tested.

Cinnamon 64 Bit UPDATE-FLASH
  • Normally running such that

    Code: Select all

    guest@porteus:~$ ls -l /usr/lib/mozilla
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 18 Jul  7 19:50 /usr/lib/mozilla -> /usr/lib64/mozilla/
    
    guest@porteus:~$ ls -lh /usr/lib64/mozilla/plugins/
    total 20M
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 guest users 103K Dec 12  2014 gecko-mediaplayer-dvx.so*
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 guest users 104K Dec 12  2014 gecko-mediaplayer-qt.so*
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 guest users 104K Dec 12  2014 gecko-mediaplayer-rm.so*
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 guest users 104K Dec 12  2014 gecko-mediaplayer-wmp.so*
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 guest users 105K Dec 12  2014 gecko-mediaplayer.so*
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root  root   19M Apr  5 09:19 libflashplayer.so*
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root  root  2.4K Feb 11 20:08 libvlcplugin.la*
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root  root  281K Feb 11 20:08 libvlcplugin.so*
    
  • Update Script

    Code: Select all

    root@porteus:/home/guest# update-flash
    ...
    Installed version:	
    Latest version:		11.2.202.626
    ...
    Slackware package /tmp/flashplayer-plugin-11.2.202.626-x86_64-1.txz created.
    ...
    txz2xzm flashplayer-plugin-11.2.202.626-x86_64-1.txz 
    
  • Module Produced:

    Code: Select all

    mkdir y; sudo mount flashplayer-plugin-11.2.202.626-x86_64-1.xzm  y
    
    guest@porteus:~$ tree -n y/usr/lib64
    y/usr/lib64
    ├── kde4
    │   └── kcm_adobe_flash_player.so
    └── mozilla -> /usr/lib/mozilla
    2 directories, 1 file
    
    guest@porteus:~$ tree -n y/usr/lib
    y/usr/lib
    ├── kde4
    │   └── kcm_adobe_flash_player.so -> /usr/lib64/kde4/kcm_adobe_flash_player.so
    └── mozilla
        └── plugins
            └── libflashplayer.so
    3 directories, 2 files
    
    root@porteus:/home/guest# ls -lh y/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so 
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 1001 1001 19M May 27 02:01 y/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so*
    
  • Activation Resulting in Circular Symbolic Links :wall: (Browser loses all plugins! :twisted: )

    Code: Select all

    guest@porteus:~$ ls -lH /usr/lib/mozilla 
    /bin/ls: cannot access '/usr/lib/mozilla': Too many levels of symbolic links
    
    guest@porteus:~$ ls -l /usr/lib/mozilla 
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 18 Jul  6 15:11 /usr/lib/mozilla -> /usr/lib64/mozilla
    
    guest@porteus:~$ ls -l /usr/lib64/mozilla 
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 16 Jul  1 23:40 /usr/lib64/mozilla -> /usr/lib/mozilla
    
  • Remedy:
    • Explode & Modify

      Code: Select all

      guest@porteus:~$ mkdir fl
      guest@porteus:~$ sudo xzm2dir flashplayer-plugin-11.2.202.626-x86_64-1.xzm   fl
      ...
      created 12 files
      created 34 directories
      created 3 symlinks
      
      guest@porteus:~$ tree -n fl/usr/lib64
      fl/usr/lib64
      ├── kde4
      │   └── kcm_adobe_flash_player.so
      └── mozilla -> /usr/lib/mozilla
      2 directories, 1 file
      
      guest@porteus:~$ tree -n fl/usr/lib/mozilla
      fl/usr/lib/mozilla
      └── plugins
          └── libflashplayer.so
      1 directory, 1 file
      
      guest@porteus:~$ sudo chmod -R a+rw fl
      guest@porteus:~$ rm fl/usr/lib64/mozilla
      guest@porteus:~$ mv fl/usr/lib/mozilla   fl/usr/lib64/
      
    • Implode & Activate

      Code: Select all

      guest@porteus:~$ sudo dir2xzm fl  flashplayer-plugin-11.2.202.626-x86_64-2.xzm 
      Parallel mksquashfs: Using 1 processor
      Creating 4.0 filesystem on flashplayer-plugin-11.2.202.626-x86_64-2.xzm, block size 262144.
      [=================================================================/] 88/88 100%
      
      Exportable Squashfs 4.0 filesystem, xz compressed, data block size 262144
      	compressed data, compressed metadata, compressed fragments, compressed xattrs
      	duplicates are removed
      Filesystem size 5358.34 Kbytes (5.23 Mbytes)
      
      root@porteus:/home/guest# activate  flashplayer-plugin-11.2.202.626-x86_64-2.xzm 
      Quiet mode: off
      
      guest@porteus:~$ ls -l /usr/lib/mozilla
      lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 18 Jul  7 19:50 /usr/lib/mozilla -> /usr/lib64/mozilla/
      
    • Flash Updated

      Code: Select all

      guest@porteus:~$ ls -lh /usr/lib64/mozilla/plugins/
      total 20M
      -rwxr-xr-x 1 guest users 103K Dec 12  2014 gecko-mediaplayer-dvx.so*
      -rwxr-xr-x 1 guest users 104K Dec 12  2014 gecko-mediaplayer-qt.so*
      -rwxr-xr-x 1 guest users 104K Dec 12  2014 gecko-mediaplayer-rm.so*
      -rwxr-xr-x 1 guest users 104K Dec 12  2014 gecko-mediaplayer-wmp.so*
      -rwxr-xr-x 1 guest users 105K Dec 12  2014 gecko-mediaplayer.so*
      -rwxrwxrwx 1  1001  1001  19M May 27 02:01 libflashplayer.so*
      -rwxr-xr-x 1 root  root  2.4K Feb 11 20:08 libvlcplugin.la*
      -rwxr-xr-x 1 root  root  281K Feb 11 20:08 libvlcplugin.so*
       
P.S.
Ed_P wrote:When I make modules I usually use a cp command like this:

Code: Select all

cp -a --parents /usr/share/icons/Faenza*  /tmp/anyname/usr/share/icons
Augmenting:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ ls /tmp/anyname
/bin/ls: cannot access '/tmp/anyname': No such file or directory
guest@porteus:~$ mkdir -p /tmp/anyname/usr/share/icons
guest@porteus:~$ ls -ld /tmp/anyname/usr/share/icons
drwxr-xr-x 2 guest users 4096 Jul  8 00:43 /tmp/anyname/usr/share/icons/
Should the copy not be a viable option. 8)
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 790
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#43 by ncmprhnsbl » 07 Jul 2016, 23:59

RE icons..
the default icons in 3.2rc4 is "Paper"
Faenza icons aren't supposed to be there.... obviously, you are free to add them..
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

rchase
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 154
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 xfce x64
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#44 by rchase » 08 Jul 2016, 16:17

ncmprhnsbl wrote:RE icons..
the default icons in 3.2rc4 is "Paper"
Faenza icons aren't supposed to be there.... obviously, you are free to add them..
No, we have just described the fact that rc4 XFCE boots up missing icons. Replacing the Faenza icons somehow fixed the problem -- mostly: when the icons are switched from Paper to any of the other sets, the Pulse Audio Plugin's icon (e.g.) is not assigned.

P.S. I didn't use an extra module to add Faenza back; I extracted the rc4 xfce module, copied the Faenza folders from the rc3 xfce module into /usr/share/icons, and reconstituted the xfce module -- this seems to mostly work, whereas the default setup run from USB wasn't displaying any or almost any icons correctly.

P.P.S. I consider Paper ugly and would be perfectly happy to eliminate it and all references to it from rc4.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 790
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#45 by ncmprhnsbl » 08 Jul 2016, 21:52

rchase wrote:No, we have just described the fact that rc4 XFCE boots up missing icons. Replacing the Faenza icons somehow fixed the problem
sure, but i'm interested in whats causing the problem, since i'm not experiencing it..
how did you install to usb? bour59 used nekos usb install tool, i'm wondering if it somehow transfers settings from the host(rc3)?
what gtk theme shows up?
rchase wrote:P.P.S. I consider Paper ugly
can't say i'm a fan either :wink:
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Post Reply