Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
rchase
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 156
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 xfce x64
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#226 by rchase » 27 Aug 2016, 23:32

brokenman wrote:Thanks Blaze. Added lxtask to cinnamon.

Great to hear rchase. I bought me a intel compute stick whilst overseas. My next project is to get Porteus onto it.
Porteus is working amazingly well on my Kangaroo. I have noticed one glitch involving the graphics cursor, which occasionally disappears (although the GUI seems otherwise unbroken); issuing "startx" brings it back (unsurprisingly), but that is no solution. Google Maps has crashed the whole system (not consistently) so that I had to power the Kangaroo off.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5461
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#227 by brokenman » 27 Aug 2016, 23:52

Blaze I think I will stick with what slackware-14.2 is using. It is very late in the game to be updating such a large and important component without it being tested and pushed to slackware. I compiled it ok but would still rather wait.

rchase what exactly was the cursor glitch? I've experienced the occasional cursor freeze but haven't been able to track down the cause.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

rchase
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 156
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 xfce x64
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#228 by rchase » 28 Aug 2016, 00:10

The graphics cursor simply disappears, but icons still highlight when the (now invisible) cursor passes over them, their activity launches when clicked, and there seems to be nothing else amiss in Porteus (based on the most casual observation) -- I have not noticed what occasions this behavior.

lordVortex
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 12
Joined: 07 Mar 2016, 13:56
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2, Peppermint 7
Location: Nigeria

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#229 by lordVortex » 28 Aug 2016, 00:41

Okay, missing icons:
Image

Image

Image

Image

Downloaded the alsa-plugins package from packages.slackware.org and added it, this happens upon launching an app that uses alsa:

Code: Select all

ALSA lib pulse.c:243:(pulse_connect) PulseAudio: Unable to connect: Connection refused


fullmoonremix

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#230 by fullmoonremix » 28 Aug 2016, 01:31

@ lordVortex impressive background... is it Creative Commons License or Public Domain? I'd like to download it.


Posted by 73.112.16.173 via http://webwarper.net
This is added while posting a message to avoid misusing the service

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#231 by Jack » 28 Aug 2016, 01:35

fullmoonremix wrote:@ lordVortex impressive background... is it Creative Commons License or Public Domain? I'd like to download it.


Posted by 73.112.16.173 via http://webwarper.net
This is added while posting a message to avoid misusing the service
Download Mate cause it there.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

fullmoonremix

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#232 by fullmoonremix » 28 Aug 2016, 01:42

Thanks Jack...

Posted by 73.112.16.173 via http://webwarper.net
This is added while posting a message to avoid misusing the service

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5461
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#233 by brokenman » 28 Aug 2016, 01:51

Missing icons give me a rash. If someone could install a common iconset (perhaps adwaita) and see what the missing icons look like it would help me greatly in fixing this.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#234 by Jack » 28 Aug 2016, 01:55

brokenman give me a link you what me to do and I will do it.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

lordVortex
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 12
Joined: 07 Mar 2016, 13:56
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2, Peppermint 7
Location: Nigeria

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#235 by lordVortex » 28 Aug 2016, 01:59

Image

Image

Using Paper. Some are now present, another set is missing. :wall:

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1163
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#236 by donald » 28 Aug 2016, 13:27

3.2rc4/5 XFCE 32 Bit

Ping and Traceroute,(for example), does not work if you do not completely turn off the firewall.
I could not even ping my router.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ ping 192.168.179.1
PING 192.168.179.1 (192.168.179.1) 56(84) bytes of data.

--- 192.168.179.1 ping statistics ---
0 packets transmitted, 0 received

guest@porteus:~$ traceroute google.com
traceroute to google.com (172.217.16.206), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
send: Operation not permitted

root@porteus:/home/guest# traceroute google.com
traceroute to google.com (172.217.16.206), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
send: Operation not permitted
root@porteus:/home/guest# ping 8.8.8.8
PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8) 56(84) bytes of data.
^C
--- 8.8.8.8 ping statistics ---
0 packets transmitted, 0 received

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4947
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#237 by francois » 28 Aug 2016, 14:34

Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5461
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#238 by brokenman » 28 Aug 2016, 14:38

If you hover over the firefwall button 'normal' you can see the open ports. raceroute uses random high UDP ports so you will need to pass it an argument to use tcp 80.

Code: Select all

traceroute --tcp www.google.com
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1163
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#239 by donald » 28 Aug 2016, 17:09

I assume the firewall rules have been changed.(For good reason?)
I will check it, because ping, traceroute was possible for guest even if
the firewall was set to "block all".

Code: Select all

guest@localhost:~$ ping -c5 forum.porteus.org
PING forum.porteus.org (198.100.159.110) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 198.100.159.110: icmp_req=1 ttl=49 time=264 ms
64 bytes from 198.100.159.110: icmp_req=2 ttl=49 time=286 ms
64 bytes from 198.100.159.110: icmp_req=3 ttl=49 time=206 ms
64 bytes from 198.100.159.110: icmp_req=4 ttl=49 time=114 ms
64 bytes from 198.100.159.110: icmp_req=5 ttl=49 time=253 ms

--- forum.porteus.org ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 received, 0% packet loss, time 4004ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 114.356/225.077/286.887/61.205 ms
guest@localhost:~$ 

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1389
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#240 by Blaze » 28 Aug 2016, 17:45

Blaze wrote:Also I think that this command is need to be executed (it seems fix my trouble with PulseAudio with root account - as root I mean this trouble: pulseaudio not working : “Home directory not accessible: Permission denied”)

Code: Select all

xdg-user-dirs-update
for generate

Code: Select all

user-dirs.dirs
user-dirs.locale
in the ~/.config
and these files need to be included by default in the ~/.config for guest and root accounts.
Confirm, if you use another language - this command fixes many problems.

For example:
  • Home directory not accessible: Permission denied”
  • before screenshots are saved in the root directory - now screenshots are saved in the folder 'Изображения'

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# cat ~/.config/user-dirs.dirs
# This file is written by xdg-user-dirs-update
# If you want to change or add directories, just edit the line you're
# interested in. All local changes will be retained on the next run
# Format is XDG_xxx_DIR="$HOME/yyy", where yyy is a shell-escaped
# homedir-relative path, or XDG_xxx_DIR="/yyy", where /yyy is an
# absolute path. No other format is supported.
# 
XDG_DESKTOP_DIR="$HOME/Desktop"
XDG_DOWNLOAD_DIR="$HOME/Загрузки"
XDG_TEMPLATES_DIR="$HOME/Шаблоны"
XDG_PUBLICSHARE_DIR="$HOME/Общедоступные"
XDG_DOCUMENTS_DIR="$HOME/Документы"
XDG_MUSIC_DIR="$HOME/Музыка"
XDG_PICTURES_DIR="$HOME/Изображения"
XDG_VIDEOS_DIR="$HOME/Видео"
root@porteus:~# cat ~/.config/user-dirs.locale
ru_RU
root@porteus:~#
BTW via settings of nm-applet in the Cinnamon I disable IPv6 (I set ignore IPv6) and now I have a less Internet randomly disconnects.
Last edited by Blaze on 28 Aug 2016, 18:24, edited 1 time in total.
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

Post Reply