Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3322
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#166 by Ed_P » 04 Aug 2016, 05:15

.
Booted Porteus-CINNAMON-v3.2rc4-x86_64.iso with existing 3.2 save.dat file and new 001, 002 and 003 modules in my Modules folder.

Cinnamon just crashed. You are running
in Fallback Mode


Would you like to reboot Cinnamon?

brokenman wrote:@Ed_P
Do you experience the problem (laggines and CPU spikes) in the ESR version?
I don't know, I don't watch CPU usage.
Ed

burdi01
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 18 Aug 2013, 12:09
Distribution: Slackware, Xubuntu
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#167 by burdi01 » 04 Aug 2016, 09:08

Booted Porteus-CINNAMON-v3.2rc4-x86_64.iso with the new 001, 002 and 003 modules in my base folder -- login=root, no save.dat:
Cinnamon just crashed. You are running
in Fallback Mode
Would you like to reboot Cinnamon?


Also booted Porteus-MATE-v3.2rc4-x86_64.iso with the new 001, 002 and 003 modules in my base folder -- login=root, no save.dat:
Only "unknown" icons
No window decorations


:D

alexgorr
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 20
Joined: 23 Nov 2011, 12:48
Location: italy

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#168 by alexgorr » 04 Aug 2016, 13:48

Someone know how adjust microphone to use skype or others applications ? I'm not able to resolve this trouble. It seems dead.TKS

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [PCH            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
                      HDA Intel PCH at 0xf7a10000 irq 35
 1 [HDMI           ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel HDMI
                      HDA Intel HDMI at 0xf7a14000 irq 39
guest@porteus:~$  arecord -l
**** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC668 Analog [ALC668 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
guest@porteus:~$ arecord -d 3 /tmp/test-mic.wav
ALSA lib pcm.c:2266:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM pulse
arecord: main:786: audio open error: No such file or directory

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1501
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#169 by Blaze » 04 Aug 2016, 16:42

Ed_P wrote:.Booted Porteus-CINNAMON-v3.2rc4-x86_64.iso with existing 3.2 save.dat file and new 001, 002 and 003 modules in my Modules folder.

Cinnamon just crashed. You are running
in Fallback Mode


Would you like to reboot Cinnamon?
I boot up it - look at this.

- Boot up the 'Text mode'
- login

Code: Select all

root
toor
- run

Code: Select all

cache-module
cp /tmp/009-caches.xzm /mnt/sdb1/porteus/base
reboot
- boot up Porteus at the 'Graphical mode'.

Cinnamon x86_64 (a new 001, 002, 003 modules) how root user

Note. I'm root user

1. PulseAudio still does not work - PulseAudio applet at the right corner is missing but sound is working.
2. I can't restart, sutdown, etc my PC via GIU
Image
3. Internet (DHCP via cable) connection is periodically broken and then reconnected.
4. Home directory not accessible: permission denied.
5. If double click on archive file and then click faster on another archive file - Archive Manager crashes (sleep, freezes, not open archive files).
6. Start > Date & Time - still does not work for me.

Code: Select all

cinnamon-settings calendar
7. Samba have the same trouble
Image
8. /usr/share/themes/Paper not removed.
9. Context menu does not open if right click on Desktop.
10. I can't to add icon(s) in the desktop of Cinnamon.
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3322
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#170 by Ed_P » 04 Aug 2016, 20:44

Blaze wrote:- Boot up the 'Text mode'
- login

Code: Select all

root
toor
- run

Code: Select all

cache-module
cp /tmp/009-caches.xzm /mnt/sdb1/porteus/base
reboot
- boot up Porteus at the 'Graphical mode'.
Thanks Blaze, but I can't do that. No /porteus/base directory. I boot an ISO file.

I'll try 'Text mode' option later.
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3322
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#171 by Ed_P » 04 Aug 2016, 22:12

Tried "Text mode" and it failed with the same error.

Did notice 3 error msgs when booting.

mkdir: can't create directory "/memory/images/001-core.xzm": File exists

Same error for 002-xorg.xzm and 003--cinnamon.xzm.
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#172 by Bogomips » 04 Aug 2016, 23:02

@Ed_P
  • Code: Select all

    guest@porteus:~$ cat /proc/cmdline
    quiet from=/dev/sda10/tmp/iso/rc4/i586/CIN32rc4.iso copy2ram ramsize=30% noauto rootcopy=/dev/sda4/cin_rcp guiexec=Prolog/pmx.sh cliexec=mount~--bind~/home/guest/p9/tmp~/tmp noload=e/001;e/002;e/003 extramod=/dev/sda10/tmp/iso/rc4/tst/mods 3
    
  • Code: Select all

    oot@porteus:~# cache-module
    /usr/bin/gtk-query-immodules-2.0
    /usr/bin/gtk-query-immodules-3.0
    warning: Schema 'org.gnome.crypto.cache' has path '/desktop/gnome/crypto/cache/'.  Paths starting with '/apps/', '/desktop/' or '/system/' are deprecated.
    warning: Schema 'org.gnome.crypto.pgp' has path '/desktop/gnome/crypto/pgp/'.  Paths starting with '/apps/', '/desktop/' or '/system/' are deprecated.
    warning: Schema 'org.gnome.system.locale' has path '/system/locale/'.  Paths starting with '/apps/', '/desktop/' or '/system/' are deprecated.
    warning: Schema 'org.gnome.system.proxy' has path '/system/proxy/'.  Paths starting with '/apps/', '/desktop/' or '/system/' are deprecated.
    warning: Schema 'org.gnome.system.proxy.http' has path '/system/proxy/http/'.  Paths starting with '/apps/', '/desktop/' or '/system/' are deprecated.
    warning: Schema 'org.gnome.system.proxy.https' has path '/system/proxy/https/'.  Paths starting with '/apps/', '/desktop/' or '/system/' are deprecated.
    warning: Schema 'org.gnome.system.proxy.ftp' has path '/system/proxy/ftp/'.  Paths starting with '/apps/', '/desktop/' or '/system/' are deprecated.
    warning: Schema 'org.gnome.system.proxy.socks' has path '/system/proxy/socks/'.  Paths starting with '/apps/', '/desktop/' or '/system/' are deprecated.
    /usr/bin/update-desktop-database
    /usr/bin/gdk-pixbuf-query-loaders
    /usr/bin/update-mime-database
    Do you want to make a module from the caches? [y/n] y
    Parallel mksquashfs: Using 1 processor
    Creating 4.0 filesystem on /tmp/009-caches.xzm, block size 262144.
    [===================================================================================================================================================-] 6/6 100%
    
    Exportable Squashfs 4.0 filesystem, xz compressed, data block size 262144
            compressed data, compressed metadata, compressed fragments, compressed xattrs
            duplicates are removed
    Filesystem size 64.13 Kbytes (0.06 Mbytes)
    ...
    72K     /tmp/009-caches.xzm
    root@porteus:~# cp /tmp/009-caches.xzm  /mnt/sda10/tmp/iso/rc4/tst/mods
    init  4
  • Code: Select all

    guest@porteus:~$ cat /var/log/porteus-livedbg
    # Recognized devices:
    ...
    /dev/sdb1: UUID="23B9-F6C2" TYPE="vfat"
    /dev/sdb2: UUID="3cedaa92-6cfd-4f71-8994-54ab948be7cc" TYPE="ext2"
    
    # Booting device:
    /mnt/isoloop
    
    # Porteus data found in:
    /mnt/isoloop/porteus
    
    # Changes are stored in:
    memory
    
    # Non standard /rootcopy dir:
    /dev/sda4/cin_rcp
    
    # Modules activated during boot time:
    /memory/copy2ram/000-kernel.xzm
    /memory/copy2ram/001-core.xzm
    /memory/copy2ram/002-xorg.xzm
    /memory/copy2ram/003-cinnamon.xzm
    
    ISO=/mnt/sda10/tmp/iso/rc4/i586/CIN32rc4.iso
    
    guest@porteus:~$ ls -lh /mnt/sda10/tmp/iso/rc4/tst/mods
    total 217M
    -rw-r--r-- 1 guest users 65M Aug  4 22:39 001-core.xzm
    -rw-r--r-- 1 guest users 79M Aug  4 22:40 002-xorg.xzm
    -rw-r--r-- 1 guest users 74M Aug  4 22:42 003-cinnamon.xzm
Hope I've done it right. (The caching part and the addition of 009 to extramod directory) Get this pesky popup saying only have 12 MB of disk space in sdb1. Annoying as nothing to do with being critical in operation of system. :twisted:
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5574
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#173 by brokenman » 05 Aug 2016, 01:47

I believe I left clear instructions.

Boot into text mode.
Log in as root.
run: cache-module
run: slim


Blaze I did test the login=root cheat uploading and couldn't reproduce any of the problems you describe. Sound was working, pulse icon was there and I could log out or shutdown without problem.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3322
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#174 by Ed_P » 05 Aug 2016, 02:05

hmmmmm :pardon:
Bogomips wrote:
  • Code: Select all

    guiexec=Prolog/pmx.sh 
    cliexec=mount~--bind~/home/guest/p9/tmp~/tmp 
    noload=e/001;e/002;e/003 extramod=/dev/sda10/tmp/iso/rc4/tst/mods 3
    
  • Code: Select all

    Do you want to make a module from the caches? [y/n] y
    
    init  4
  • Code: Select all

    # Modules activated during boot time:
    /memory/copy2ram/000-kernel.xzm
    /memory/copy2ram/001-core.xzm
    /memory/copy2ram/002-xorg.xzm
    /memory/copy2ram/003-cinnamon.xzm
    
    ISO=/mnt/sda10/tmp/iso/rc4/i586/CIN32rc4.iso
    
    guest@porteus:~$ ls -lh /mnt/sda10/tmp/iso/rc4/tst/mods
    total 217M
    -rw-r--r-- 1 guest users 65M Aug  4 22:39 001-core.xzm
    -rw-r--r-- 1 guest users 79M Aug  4 22:40 002-xorg.xzm
    -rw-r--r-- 1 guest users 74M Aug  4 22:42 003-cinnamon.xzm
Hope I've done it right. (The caching part and the addition of 009 to extramod directory) Get this pesky popup saying only have 12 MB of disk space in sdb1. Annoying as nothing to do with being critical in operation of system. :twisted:
The make a module option of cache-module is a nice find but I don't think I have a Prolog/pmx.sh, a /home/guest/p9/tmp or a 009 module.

:)

-update-
brokenman wrote:I believe I left clear instructions.

Boot into text mode.
But what if that doesn't work? :cry:
Ed

burdi01
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 18 Aug 2013, 12:09
Distribution: Slackware, Xubuntu
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#175 by burdi01 » 05 Aug 2016, 07:19

Code: Select all

Boot into text mode.
Log in as root.
run: cache-module
run: slim
For me the above resolved the problems with the new 001, 002 and 003 modules for Cinnamon as well as Mate.
:D

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#176 by Bogomips » 05 Aug 2016, 11:12

Ed_P wrote:The make a module option of cache-module is a nice find but I don't think I have a Prolog/pmx.sh, a /home/guest/p9/tmp or a 009 module.
All irrelevant to you. :) Just an example of command line for loading the iso. The 009 got by making cache module. Of relevance for iso load being noload and extramod. (Would normally put base/001, but running out of space. Seems to be limit of 262 chars. any more and lose it from the end.)
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1501
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#177 by Blaze » 05 Aug 2016, 14:55

I done remix theme Evo-Vertex (based on EvoPop and Vertex) for Cinnamon.

Image
Evo-Vertex

Image
Evo-Vertex-Dark

Image
Evo-Vertex-Light

Download Evo-Vertex.xzm
brokenman wrote:Blaze I did test the login=root cheat uploading and couldn't reproduce any of the problems you describe. Sound was working, pulse icon was there and I could log out or shutdown without problem.
If you want I can show you it via TeamViewer‎.
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1187
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#178 by Jack » 05 Aug 2016, 15:32

Blaze wrote:I done remix theme Evo-Vertex (based on EvoPop and Vertex) for Cinnamon.
Do you think it will work for Mate?
EDIT:
Will I just just try it and lost most of my icon picture. I should have known when I seen ? on the one I pick. Now I can't go back to the one I use, cause I don't know how to.
EDIT:2
Icon and everything is now fixed. I just play around with it.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3322
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#179 by Ed_P » 05 Aug 2016, 17:16

Bogomips wrote:Of relevance for iso load being noload and extramod.
I suspected as much. :)

I used noload=base/001-core.xzm;base/002-xorg.xzm;base/003-cinnamon.xzm but still the Fall back window. But I just noticed I forgot the text mode operand. Will try again.
(Would normally put base/001, but running out of space. Seems to be limit of 262 chars. any more and lose it from the end.)
:unknown: The command line or a code block line.

-update-

Ok, posting from 3.2 rc4+. :Yahoo!:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ ./bootdev.sh
System Memory:   173M
Boot device:   /mnt/sda5
Boot device format: "ntfs" 
Boot folder:   /porteus3.2/
Boot mode:     ISO /ISOs/Porteus-CINNAMON-v3.2rc4-x86_64.iso
OS:       Porteus-v3.2rc5
ARCH:     x86_64
Kernel:   Linux porteus 4.6.3-porteus 
Cmdline:  quiet from=/ISOs/Porteus-CINNAMON-v3.2rc4-x86_64.iso noload=base/001-core.xzm;base/002-xorg.xzm;base/003-cinnamon.xzm extramod=/porteus3.2/Modules;/porteus3.2/modsavedat 3
Ran cache-module and copied the /tmp/009-caches.xzm module to my Modules folder. Ran slim but not sure what it did so not sure the impact when I reboot in normal mode.
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

rc4+ & vlc

Post#180 by Bogomips » 05 Aug 2016, 19:39

VLC Closing Issue

Pleased to report some progress in this direction.
  • No need for REISUB any more. Upon quitting VLC, the window either vanishes or remains, with the quit entry still showing in pulldown menu.
  • Able to get to Console, and recover/restart Cinnamon, after logging in as guest, by issuing startx.
  • Messages of Relevance?

    Code: Select all

    (cinnamon:1554): St-WARNING **: percentage lengths not currently supported
    Window manager warning: Invalid WM_TRANSIENT_FOR window 0x2400003 specified for 0x2400010 (Privacy an).
    Window manager warning: Log level 16: STACK_OP_ADD: window 0x2400020 already in stack
    Window manager warning: Log level 16: STACK_OP_ADD: window 0x2400020 already in stack
    (II) AIGLX: Suspending AIGLX clients for VT switch
    
Ed_P wrote:Ok, posting from 3.2 rc4+. :Yahoo!:
Interestingly enough, had also titled the boot entry rc4+. 8)
Ed_P wrote:But I just noticed I forgot the text mode operand. Will try again.
Bogomips wrote:(Would normally put base/001, but running out of space. Seems to be limit of 262 chars. any more and lose it from the end.)
:unknown: The command line or a code block line.
The command line, as at first try the 3 got left off the end, and ended up in fallback mode. 2nd time forgot the extramod, and with only 000 module init crashed. 3rd attempt, made it!
Ed_P wrote:Ran slim but not sure what it did so not sure the impact when I reboot in normal mode.
According to my reading, slim is supposed to provide a login dialog. Tried it from boot up in text mode, but all it did was as if booting into GUI with advantage of not having that pesky popup about just 12MB of space left in sdb1.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Post Reply