Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5460
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#16 by brokenman » 03 Jul 2016, 14:22

I'm not running a vbox. Also see my update to the posting above yours.
I was referring to me. In a rush I generated all cache files by booting into a virtual environment and SCPing the files out again. Shortcut because I was pressed for time. For final I will spend 2 days testing everything so as to avoid new features like a file manager that doesn't open. :wall:

Updated on server. Only fixed problem with nemo. I also experienced a problem whereby an opera module activated in cinnamon didn't show up in the menu. This problem is getting under my skin.

EDIT: When using su from guest, please do: su -
This will allow you to run gui apps as root.

Off to another time zone now.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1388
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#17 by Blaze » 03 Jul 2016, 17:18

Xfce x86_64

Code: Select all

root@porteus: exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch startxfce4
/usr/bin/startxfce4: Starting X server

X.Org X Server 1.18.3
Release Date: 2016-04-04
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Slackware 14.2 Slackware Linux Project
Current Operating System: Linux porteus 4.6.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Jun 26 17:59:43 BRT 2016 x86_64
Kernel command line: quiet initrd=initrd.xz 3 BOOT_IMAGE=vmlinuz 
Build Date: 15 April 2016  11:05:21AM
 
Current version of pixman: 0.34.0
	Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
	to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
	(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
	(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Sun Jul  3 20:00:19 2016
(==) Using system config directory "/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d"
resize called 1920 1080
xfce4-session: GNOME compatibility is enabled and gnome-keyring-daemon is found on the system. Skipping gpg/ssh-agent startup.

(xfce4-session:1497): xfce4-session-WARNING **: xfsm_manager_load_session: Something wrong with /root/.cache/sessions/xfce4-session-porteus:0, Does it exist? Permissions issue?
/etc/xdg/xfce4/xinitrc: line 113:  1497 Bus error               xfce4-session
xinit: connection to X server lost


waiting for X server to shut down (II) Server terminated successfully (0). Closing log file.
xfsettingsd: Fatal IO error 11 (Resource temporarily unavailable) on X server :0.0.
if I run this command

Code: Select all

touch /root/.cache/sessions/xfce4-session-porteus:0
and run startx again, this line

Code: Select all

(xfce4-session:1497): xfce4-session-WARNING **: xfsm_manager_load_session: Something wrong with /root/.cache/sessions/xfce4-session-porteus:0, Does it exist? Permissions issue?
is missing, but

Code: Select all

/etc/xdg/xfce4/xinitrc: line 113:  1497 Bus error               xfce4-session
xinit: connection to X server lost
:wall:

brokenman, I thought that you are had already departed. Take care and have fun! Best wishes!
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3163
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#18 by Ed_P » 03 Jul 2016, 18:11

brokenman wrote:Updated on server. Only fixed problem with nemo.
Thank you. :)
EDIT: When using su from guest, please do: su -
This will allow you to run gui apps as root.
:unknown: ?? I wasn't using su from guest, I used it from root to get to guest.

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# su guest
guest@porteus:/root$ cd
guest@porteus:~$ nemo
and why would I want to run gui apps as root? :unknown:

Anyways, enjoy your vacation. We'll be here when you get back. (a scary thought but true.)
Ed

jamie81
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 20
Joined: 20 May 2016, 21:37
Distribution: porteus 3.2rc
Location: U.S

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#19 by jamie81 » 03 Jul 2016, 19:23

BTW, bleachbit and mousepad does not run at Porteus-v3.2rc4 x86_64 Cinnamon (probably, it's a glitch of the current session)

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# bleachbit
Bus error
root@porteus:~# 

I had a problem getting bleachbit to run on kde x64 and installing pygtk fixed it for me. Though I believe the error was slightly different than yours. Doubt it will help you, but thought I'd mention.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3163
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#20 by Ed_P » 03 Jul 2016, 21:49

The 7/3 Cinnamon 64bit ISO does have a working nemo. :good:

The broadcom wifi driver works. :good:

And I am posting from rc4. :)

The guest logon still loops when using a savedat file. :(
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3163
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#21 by Ed_P » 04 Jul 2016, 00:07

Cinnamon 64-bit ISO boot

Ok, last chance for the logon problem.

Created a new save.dat file using AF mode with just the logon=guest option.

Booted with the changes=EXIT option pointing to the new save.dat file, and the logon=guest option. No Logon screen.

Changed Time 24 clock to off in Date Time preferences.

Shutdown saving changes to the save.dat file.

Rebooted with the changes=EXIT pointing to the new updated save.dat file, and the logon=guest option. Logon screen for guest pops up.

Entered the guest password, there is a wait and then the Logon screen is back. This repeats unless I change the signon to root.

I don't want to be logged on as root. Any changes I make will be made as root, even to /home/guest/.

I'll stay with 3.0 a while longer. Hopefully this gets fixed before the final release.

-update-

Plan B
Last edited by Ed_P on 16 Jul 2016, 23:55, edited 1 time in total.
Ed

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#22 by Jack » 04 Jul 2016, 02:00

Mate rc4 x86_64

When I try to open a PDF with Atril Document Viewer here the error.
Image

When I try set time time in Preferences here is the error.
Image

EDIT:
Mate rc3 x86_64

I try to open a ISO file with Engrampa 1.14.0 and I got a error and the error was "An error occurred while loading the archive." Can some verify that?
That error was fix in rc4.
Last edited by Jack on 05 Jul 2016, 15:31, edited 2 times in total.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

bour59
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 118
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 08:10
Distribution: porteus v3.2.2-xfce
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#23 by bour59 » 04 Jul 2016, 16:38

a lot of icons missing in xfce-32
: Terminal emulator,
accessories, create foldet ... and so on
all's ok in rc3

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2548
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#24 by Bogomips » 05 Jul 2016, 00:38

Cinnamon 64 bit

Opera Issue

This is same as in rc3 and the fix is similar, as given here viewtopic.php?f=140&t=5829&p=46850#p46840

Holds for:
  • Code: Select all

    oot@porteus:/home/guest# update-opera
     Starting checks ... 
    [OK] User is root.
    [OK] Distro is Porteus
    [OK] ar command found
    [OK] libbfd was found
    [OK] libbfd was found
    [ERROR] opera is not currently installed
    Downloading live script ...
    Downloading: update-opera-live  DONE
    Verifying archive integrity...  100%   All good.
    Uncompressing Porteus browser updater  100%  
     Checking if opera is installed ... 
    
    
    Please choose a release from the menu.
    Stable is recommended.
    
    1) opera
    2) stable
    3) beta
    4) developer
    #? 1
     opera locale chosen 
    
    Downloading: opera  DONE
    
    The current version is: 12.16.1860
     Would you like to continue? [y/n]
    __________________________________
    
     Choose a language from the list. 
     The others will be removed from the package. 
    
     1) af	    11) en-GB	21) he	    31) lv	41) pt-PT   51) tr
    ...
    Creating Slackware package:  /tmp/opera-12.16.1860-x86_64-1.txz
    
  • Package Contents

    Code: Select all

    ./
    data.tar.lzma
    install/
    install/slack-desc
    install/doinst.sh
    
    Restoring permissions of /tmp/opera.1871/build to chmod 700
    
    Slackware package /tmp/opera-12.16.1860-x86_64-1.txz created.
    
    However opera is still packed
  • Code: Select all

    guest@porteus:~$ ls /tmp/
    opera-12.16.1860-x86_64-1.txz  opera.1871/  pulse-PKdhtXMmr18n/
    
    guest@porteus:~$ mkdir /tmp/opd
    guest@porteus:~$ sudo ln /tmp/opera.1871/opera_12.16.1860_amd64.deb /tmp/opd
    
    guest@porteus:~$ sh deb2txz.sh -nv /tmp/opd/opera_12.16.1860_amd64.deb 
    ...
    Slackware package /tmp/opd/opera-12.16.1860-amd64-_12.16.1860.txz created
    
    Here a Slackware Package has been made, however imo a module could have been made with deb2xzm.
After activation of module, there are two identical opera entries to be found in the menu. Clicking on either brings up the opera terms of use dialog, after which one is informed that opera has died. However just opting to restart with all tabs and extensions seems to work!
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#25 by Jack » 05 Jul 2016, 01:47

Mate rc4 x86_64

I try to use BleachBit and here is the error.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ bleachbit
Could not find platform independent libraries <prefix>
Consider setting $PYTHONHOME to <prefix>[:<exec_prefix>]
ImportError: No module named site
guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# bleachbit
Could not find platform independent libraries <prefix>
Consider setting $PYTHONHOME to <prefix>[:<exec_prefix>]
ImportError: No module named site
root@porteus:/home/guest# 
This is the time I ever seen this kind of error.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1388
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#26 by Blaze » 05 Jul 2016, 17:54

I have suggesions.

1. For nemo, caja (don't test it), dolphin (don't test it) I wrote a simple bash script and pasted it in /etc/rc.d/rc.local (probably, it's not good patch and brokenman will put it in other script)

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
#
# /etc/rc.d/rc.local:  Local system initialization script.
#
# Put any local startup commands in here.  Also, if you have
# anything that needs to be run at shutdown time you can
# make an /etc/rc.d/rc.local_shutdown script and put those
# commands in there.

#modifies /etc/fstab to add 'comment=x-gvfs-show' to all devices.
#This allows the devices to show up in the nemo, caja, pcmanfm, thunar and dolphin left
#panes under udisks2
sed -i 's/async/comment=x-gvfs-show,async/' /etc/fstab
Image
Look at the left column > Devices (tab) - it give easy navigation by your partitions.

If you want to test it, you can run this command

Code: Select all

sed -i 's/async/comment=x-gvfs-show,async/' /etc/fstab
If you want this ability, add this line to /etc/rc.d/rc.local

Please, report about show your partitions at the left column of your desktop environment.

2. For nemo and caja, need to add automount option
Image

Code: Select all

gsettings set org.cinnamon.desktop.media-handling automount true
I download iso of Porteus-CINNAMON-v3.2rc4-x86_64.iso with fix nemo.

My report about Cinnamon x86_64

1. PulseAudio in Cinnamon RC4 does not play sound and I don't see a sound applet in the tray at the right corner - a new report here.

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# pulseaudio
E: [pulseaudio] module-console-kit.c: GetSessionsForUnixUser() call failed: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit was not provided by any .service files
E: [pulseaudio] module.c: Failed to load module "module-console-kit" (argument: ""): initialization failed.
E: [pulseaudio] main.c: Module load failed.
E: [pulseaudio] main.c: Failed to initialize daemon.
I fixed it =) I open /etc/pulse/default.pa

find

Code: Select all

### If autoexit on idle is enabled we want to make sure we only quit
### when no local session needs us anymore.
.ifexists module-console-kit.so
load-module module-console-kit
.endif
.ifexists module-systemd-login.so
load-module module-systemd-login
.endif
replace with

Code: Select all

### If autoexit on idle is enabled we want to make sure we only quit
### when no local session needs us anymore.
#.ifexists module-console-kit.so
#load-module module-console-kit
#.endif
#.ifexists module-systemd-login.so
#load-module module-systemd-login
#.endif
after this i recived this error

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# pulseaudio
E: [pulseaudio] bluez5-util.c: GetManagedObjects() failed: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name org.bluez was not provided by any .service files
and I continued to fix it, because I don't have bluetooth devices on my PC :)

find

Code: Select all

### Automatically load driver modules for Bluetooth hardware
.ifexists module-bluetooth-policy.so
load-module module-bluetooth-policy
.endif

.ifexists module-bluetooth-discover.so
load-module module-bluetooth-discover
.endif
replace with

Code: Select all

### Automatically load driver modules for Bluetooth hardware
#.ifexists module-bluetooth-policy.so
#load-module module-bluetooth-policy
#.endif

#.ifexists module-bluetooth-discover.so
#load-module module-bluetooth-discover
#.endif
Image
after need to reboot Porteus, open pulseaudio applet and select Line Out Built-in Audio.

2. audacious is run, but have this error

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/usr/bin# ./audacious
ERROR plugin-load.cc:72 [plugin_load]: /usr/lib64/audacious/Input/ffaudio.so could not be loaded: libavcodec.so.56: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
3. bleachbit is run, but have missing __init__.py

Code: Select all

# ./bleachbit
/usr/share/bleachbit/Unix.py:45: ImportWarning: Not importing directory '/usr/share/gnome': missing __init__.py
  import gnome.vfs
4. I can't convert deb2xzm, txz2xzm, rpm2xzm at context menu of Cinnamon - solved here

5. Without my module nemo-data_3.0.3-1_all.xzm I have these missing icons
Image
I informed about it not once, but UFO is stole them again :o
Last edited by Blaze on 24 Jul 2016, 08:27, edited 2 times in total.
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 851
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#27 by ncmprhnsbl » 05 Jul 2016, 22:24

xfce 64
audacious fails to play wma and m4a (gmplayer has no problem)
basicly missing/mismatched libs: rebuild?

Code: Select all

libavcodec.so.56
libavformat.so.56
libavutil.so.54
libswresample.so.1
libx265.so.79
libx264.so.142
libcelt0.so.2
libmodplug.so.1
libgnutls.so.28
libOpenCL.so.1
manually adding these fixed it.. for now
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2548
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Cinnamon 64 bit

Post#28 by Bogomips » 06 Jul 2016, 00:15

Menu

Activating a module in Cinnamon thru CLI as Superuser results in duplicated entries being added to the menu.

VLC

Same issue as in rc3. Closing vlc results in crashing Cinnamon. So far no clean recovery option found other than reboot.

Sound

Not any more issues than had in rc3. When Cinnamon comes up Ithe sound applet is on the taskbar at the right. When playing a video it changes into a musical note.

Now since preferring to fine tune the sound, have this in guiexec script:

Code: Select all

# Fix the Sound Parameters            23.03.2016 13:24:30
sudo alsactl -f /mnt/sda9/Hold/day.state restore
sudo cp /mnt/sda4/changes/var/lib/alsa/asound.state /var/lib/alsa/
Setting initial sound and backup sound. Now I'm not sure whether having this could have normalised the sound or not.

Also there seem to be times when the sound is monopolised by some program or other, and this am able to check with

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/home/guest# alsactl restore
alsactl: set_control:1461: Cannot write control '2:0:0:Independent HP:0' : Device or resource busy
If there is no obvious culprit, can normally clear this by restarting the browser (PaleMoon). Cleared:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/home/guest# alsactl restore
root@porteus:/home/guest# alsactl restore
No exception noted.

There is sound with flash, and after closing tab of browser where flash used, can run gnome-mplayer or vlc. In order to ensure gnome-mplayer does not freeze during sound adjustment, have also in the guiexec script:

Code: Select all

# Gnome-Mplayer:    Initialise Audio Output            04.05.2016 21:31:07
sed -i '/au.*me=/s/=.*/=HDA NVidia (VT1708BCE Analog) (alsa)/' .config/gnome-mplayer/gnome-mplayer.conf
VT1708BCE Analog to be replaced by that of relevant nvidia card.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

rchase
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 156
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 xfce x64
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#29 by rchase » 06 Jul 2016, 01:29

Echoing bour59, xfce is missing many icons (a few old icons are visible) -- but this is the first version that otherwise seems to work on my Kangaroo (Intel X5-Z8500)! Looking forward to its development -- or will it be replaced by rc5?

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 851
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc4 bug reports

Post#30 by ncmprhnsbl » 06 Jul 2016, 06:16

rchase wrote:Echoing bour59, xfce is missing many icons (a few old icons are visible)
icons fine in 64bit xfce..
maybe related to bad caches in 32bit?
try running (as root)cache-module
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Post Reply