SOLVED Porteus ruined Windows Bootloader

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
distressed_user
White ninja
White ninja
Distribution: Porteus XFCE

SOLVED Porteus ruined Windows Bootloader

Post#1 by distressed_user » 29 Jun 2016, 06:50

Hi, i am fairly new to Linux, even though im not too much of a computer noob. You could imagine my happiness when i found Porteus, a small linux distro that can be booted live without ruining or deleting your previous OS. I burned a Porteus XFCE iso image to a cd, and made all the necessary changes to my BIOS/UEFI, which included disabling safe boot and enabling some other mode (i forgot its name). Porteus booted after a screen telling me to insert the iso disk and press any key to boot linux. I was happy with how Porteus worked within the cd, but when i shut down the system and removed the disk to get back to Windows 8.1, an infinite loop of text came on the screen anytime i pressed f2 (or any other button) telling me to put in a disk or reboot to select disk. I can access Porteus and it seems as if my hard disk is on there, but i cant get Windows to boot again (something about invalid signature or bad bootloader config) please help; if there is any way to reboot windows without wiping my computer, please tell me. I dont have a windows installation disk, but if it is necessary to factory reset my comp somehow, im willing to do it.
Also, where did i mess up? By disabling UEFI? (probably)
Im also willing to post more detailed information later, if necessary

fullmoonremix

Re: (Help) Porteus ruined Windows Bootloader

Post#2 by fullmoonremix » 29 Jun 2016, 08:23

The problem is NOT Porteus.

You entered legacy mode on a Windows device to boot
an alternate OS.You will need to switch back to UEFI.

Posted by 73.112.16.59 via http://webwarper.net
This is added while posting a message to avoid misusing the service
Last edited by fullmoonremix on 29 Jun 2016, 19:26, edited 1 time in total.