Final release

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3053
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Final release

Post#31 by Ed_P » 30 Jun 2016, 12:52

lobsters15 wrote:but I appreciate that this forum is not really for newbies like myself.
Oh, I couldn't disagree more. 3 years ago I couldn't spell Linux and the helpful group here got me over and thru a LOT of missteps and stupid questions. You'll do fine here.
Ed

lobsters15
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 12 May 2016, 12:18
Distribution: Ipad
Location: Uk

Re: Final release

Post#32 by lobsters15 » 30 Jun 2016, 12:54

Prior to receiving the latest post, I installed the rc3 XFCE Porteus and set up persistence. I managed to download Opera to the tmp folder and right clicking was delighted to find install. The installation appeared to go well as the Opera browser was in the menu under Internet. However my delight was short lived as it wouldn't open.
I then tried to repeat the exercise by attempting to install Chrome to be told that the md5 sums didn't match. Firefox was the next challenge but this time I was told that there was a failure to decompress the tarball file.

I then installed rc2 XFCE and set up persistence. I attempted to install Opera but was informed that there was no libbfd file.

I know Linux experts will love to get their metaphorical teeth into all of this but I am afraid that it is all too bizarre for me.
I will stick with XFCE 3.1

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Final release

Post#33 by Bogomips » 30 Jun 2016, 13:09

lobsters15 wrote:Prior to receiving the latest post, I installed the rc3 XFCE Porteus and set up persistence. I managed to download Opera to the tmp folder and right clicking was delighted to find install. The installation appeared to go well as the Opera browser was in the menu under Internet. However my delight was short lived as it wouldn't open.
There is an issue here which have come across, and on the way to resolving. So it seems not your fault. :)
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

rc3 opera 32 bit

Post#34 by Bogomips » 30 Jun 2016, 19:57

In trying to resolve above mentioned issue, created a module to verify rectification. The module can be copied to modules folder and will be activated when you restart Porteus rc3. Get it from viewtopic.php?f=51&p=46841#p46841.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

lobsters15
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 12 May 2016, 12:18
Distribution: Ipad
Location: Uk

Re: Final release

Post#35 by lobsters15 » 30 Jun 2016, 22:33

I do not know how to "create a module to verify rectification". Not sure what you mean.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Final release

Post#36 by Bogomips » 30 Jun 2016, 23:26

The only thing you need to do is to download the module, check the md5sum, and copy it to your modules folder. Don't worry about anything else.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

lobsters15
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 12 May 2016, 12:18
Distribution: Ipad
Location: Uk

Re: Final release

Post#37 by lobsters15 » 01 Jul 2016, 19:18

i managed to do as you suggested and the Opera appeared in the menu under internet. However it wouldn't open.
i will revisit this in a few months time when hopefully things will have improved.
Again thanks for all the help.

lobsters15
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 12 May 2016, 12:18
Distribution: Ipad
Location: Uk

Re: Final release

Post#38 by lobsters15 » 08 Jul 2016, 18:15

I downloaded the latest Porteus XFCE file as shown in Announcements. I am pleased to state that I was able to download Chrome to the tmp file and get it into the modules file. I now have the Chrome browser. I was unable to do this with Opera, however, as I was informed the Opera file was corrupted. I tried to download Opera before Chrome. I am delighted that I have a decent browser with the excellent Porteus distro. The download speed is fantastic.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4901
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Final release

Post#39 by francois » 09 Jul 2016, 04:04

It is really weird. It is the first time ever that I read that opera is not functioning. I use it on my porteus installation regularly. You are sure that once compiled in /tmp that you put it in the porteus/modules folder before rebooting?
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Final release

Post#40 by Bogomips » 09 Jul 2016, 11:31

Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

lobsters15
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 12 May 2016, 12:18
Distribution: Ipad
Location: Uk

Re: Final release

Post#41 by lobsters15 » 09 Jul 2016, 12:50

Many thanks Bogomips. I was able to download and get Opera running. Brilliant!

Post Reply