Load porteus into RAM and keep settings

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
estario
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Jun 2016, 05:47
Distribution: Porteus 3.1
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

Load porteus into RAM and keep settings

Post#1 by estario » 13 Jun 2016, 09:21

Hello,
I have installed porteus to my HDD. When the computer boots there is the option to copy the root system to the RAM memory, but if I choose it I get a default unmodified system. I want the option to load the files into RAM and in the same time keep my settings after every restart, having access to files I have modified and so on. Is it possible? Running from RAM speeds the system a lot.

Evan
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 519
Joined: 11 Apr 2016, 09:00
Distribution: Anything Cinnamon
Location: London

Re: Load porteus into RAM and keep settings

Post#2 by Evan » 13 Jun 2016, 09:35

<removed>
Last edited by Evan on 24 Jun 2016, 12:56, edited 1 time in total.

estario
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Jun 2016, 05:47
Distribution: Porteus 3.1
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

Re: Load porteus into RAM and keep settings

Post#3 by estario » 13 Jun 2016, 09:55

Well this is not exactly what I want. I want it to load into RAM by default like Puppy Linux.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1175
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Load porteus into RAM and keep settings

Post#4 by donald » 13 Jun 2016, 10:54

hi estario

With copy2ram the speed will increase;..compared to a slow boot media like a CD.
You have porteus on a HDD,
In your case, i doubt that "copy2ram" will increase the speed significantly
because the Live filesystem is already running in RAM every time you boot porteus.

The 2nd benefit of "copy2ram" is that one can take out the boot media to free
the cd-drive for example.

however,
a)-- as Evan said, build a session module
or
b)-- adjust the "copy2ram" APPEND line in porteus.cfg so that your changes path is being used.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2562
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Load porteus into RAM and keep settings

Post#5 by Bogomips » 13 Jun 2016, 11:52

donald wrote:You have porteus on a HDD,
In your case, i doubt that "copy2ram" will increase the speed significantly
because the Live filesystem is already running in RAM every time you boot porteus.
Fine point here requiring clarification, The boot takes a little bit longer as the modules are copied into ram. As I understand it, the modules then go on loops in ram, however without this option the modules go on loops from hdd, in which case there is the added overhead of hdd access.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

estario
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Jun 2016, 05:47
Distribution: Porteus 3.1
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

Re: Load porteus into RAM and keep settings

Post#6 by estario » 13 Jun 2016, 12:22

Ok. I get the point now. Thank you.

Evan
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 519
Joined: 11 Apr 2016, 09:00
Distribution: Anything Cinnamon
Location: London

Re: Load porteus into RAM and keep settings

Post#7 by Evan » 13 Jun 2016, 12:37

<removed>
Last edited by Evan on 24 Jun 2016, 12:56, edited 1 time in total.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1175
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Load porteus into RAM and keep settings

Post#8 by donald » 13 Jun 2016, 13:06

@ Bogomips

of course you're right

now i could argue about what a significantly speed increase means,. :wink:
and it also depends on how much RAM you are willing to be permanently occupied
by the (copied) modules.

only a few, small modules but..

Code: Select all

copy2ram
guest@porteus:~$ free -m
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          1960        568       1391          0         52        361

normal
guest@localhost:~$ free -m
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          1960        325       1634          0         40        162
:beer:

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2562
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Load porteus into RAM and keep settings

Post#9 by Bogomips » 13 Jun 2016, 15:21

As donald has intimated, it's a matter of tweaking the system. Now, for my purposes, am able to get away with Kernel Parameters (cheatcodes): copy2ram ramsize=30%

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ df -h .
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
aufs            265M   10M  255M   4% /

guest@porteus:~$ free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:            880         385          86          91         408         244
Swap:           644         238         406
estario wrote:I want the option to load the files into RAM and in the same time keep my settings after every restart, having access to files I have modified and so on
Kernel Parameters (cheatcodes): copy2ram changes=EXIT:/porteus represent another option. That way all your changes will be copied at end of session to /porteus/changes, and loaded from this directory at every restart.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

fullmoonremix

Re: Load porteus into RAM and keep settings

Post#10 by fullmoonremix » 13 Jun 2016, 17:30

Salutations... :good:

I'm somewhat scatter brained so I'm not sure how to interpret my results. Am I on the wrong or right track?

APPEND initrd=initrd.xz baseonly copy2ram delay=5 fsck nochanges nomagic norootcopy noswap ramsize=72% timezone=Factory zram=24%

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/home/guest# df -h 
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
aufs            2.8G   92M  2.7G   4% /

root@porteus:/home/guest# free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:           3876         534        2306         482        1034        2424
Swap:           930           0         930
Also in /etc/sysctl.config I have "swapiness" set to 10.

"Best Regards"... :beer:

Post Reply