web cache

Here you can post about the issues related to modifications performed manually (not through the kiosk wizard). Example: swapped kernel, added 3rd party modules or files.
Please describe in detail what has been changed and hopefully other kiosk user will be able to help.
Porteus team wont resolve bugs posted in this category as we support only modifications made by the kiosk wizard.
Post Reply
sfth_dev
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 09 Jun 2016, 15:04
Distribution: kiosk
Location: italy

web cache

Post#1 by sfth_dev » 09 Jun 2016, 15:27

hi all.
We need to run a squid proxy in our kiosk installation .
So i've some question:

Is it possible to install squid in porteus kiosk adding a new module to the os ?
how i can make squid start at boot ?

Thank you .
A.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4623
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: web cache

Post#2 by fanthom » 09 Jun 2016, 16:37

"Is it possible to install squid in porteus kiosk adding a new module to the os ?"
Yes. Please mind that Porteus Kiosk is based on Gentoo. You may try Slackware package but squid from Gentoo stable branch would be the best.

"how i can make squid start at boot ?"
You have to create a custom startup script and add it to your squid module in /etc/rc.d/local_net.d folder. Example:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

squid &
Perhaps you could mount writable partition and place your cache on it.

If you get into troubles then i recommend our customized builds service:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/builds.html

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply