I can't boot please help!

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
fab1qaz
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 26 May 2016, 13:32
Distribution: Desktop 3.1
Location: England

I can't boot please help!

Post#1 by fab1qaz » 26 May 2016, 13:39

http://postimg.org/image/4s3mkel63/

Hi guys I have an nvidia laptop and built a porteus desktop build with an nvidia driver then with linux driver - both give me this screen when I try to boot. Kernel failure. I am a linux neophite, what could the problem be? My laptop runs windows just fine.

Thanks. :)

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#2 by Bogomips » 26 May 2016, 13:56

Welcome to Porteu. At first glance, the image is bit difficult to see, it would seem you have not loaded the nvidia driver for your card.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

fab1qaz
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 26 May 2016, 13:32
Distribution: Desktop 3.1
Location: England

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#3 by fab1qaz » 26 May 2016, 14:39

Thank you Bogomips. You can click it to make it bigger, although it is a bit blurred. Hmmm shouldn't it boot properly with the open source linux driver? I tried nvidia first and I had the same issue, I figured since I have a 960M the linux one might work but to no avail.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#4 by Bogomips » 26 May 2016, 15:00

If you are able to boot from an iso file, try and see if this pre-release iso, where there should be no need to have a driver in order to boot, will work: http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/testing/rc ... x86_64.iso
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

sherron
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 08 Jun 2016, 19:45
Distribution: v3.1
Location: Utah

I can't boot please help!

Post#5 by sherron » 08 Jun 2016, 20:11

Another Can't boot problem

I have a Dell Latitude 3150 Laptop (No CD)
I have been trying to install Porteus from a USB, but no luck.
I checked the download and it is fine
I downloaded today
I also tried the text only boot mode (Porteus-v3.1-x86_64)

I see the boot menu (nice image) and the default option dies at:
Loading vmlinuz ...
Loading initrd.xz ... ready

The text only option also dies
Loading vmlinuz ...
Loading initrd.xz ... ready

I have entered a variety of cheat codes and the most progress I have I get to:
...
... ACPI: Power Button [PWRF]
... thermal LNXTHERM:00: registered at themal_zone0
... ACPI: Thermal Zone [THM] (25C)
{hang ..................}

Advice?

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#6 by brokenman » 09 Jun 2016, 01:37

You guys having troubles booting Porteus-v3.1 ... please try the latest release candidate. v3.1 is over 2 years old now.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

sherron
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 08 Jun 2016, 19:45
Distribution: v3.1
Location: Utah

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#7 by sherron » 11 Jun 2016, 01:32

Where do I get a newer version of Porteus? The Porteus.org web page contains a download web-link and that is where I got the 3.1 version [http://build.porteus.org/].

Where does Porteus hide the good versions :)

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#8 by Ed_P » 11 Jun 2016, 01:47

sherron wrote: Where does Porteus hide the good versions :)
In the Announcements section.

Announcements

viewtopic.php?f=35&t=5929
Ed

Post Reply