Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
rchase
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 154
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 xfce x64
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#106 by rchase » 21 Jun 2016, 04:48

brokenman wrote: Porteus-v3.2rc3 x86 XFCE does not recognize the Linux installation script as such and opens Mousepad instead of executing it
Thanks. Will check out the mimetypes.

how can I install Porteus to a partition on a hard drive?
The same way as installing on a USB device except you DON'T want to run the Porteus-installer script. This will wipe the boot record and only porteus will boot. If you already have a bootloader in place just tweak the config file to add Porteus.
I am referring to the script to install Porteus' boot code to a partition (i.e. /boot/Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com), not the one included in the installer program to install it to the MBR -- I can't execute the script to install the boot code to a partition. When I try to run it from a working Porteus, it brings up the Application Finder.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4932
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#107 by francois » 21 Jun 2016, 07:07

@brokenman:
Any idea for the time schedule for the release of rc4?
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

burdi01
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 49
Joined: 18 Aug 2013, 12:09
Distribution: Slackware, Xubuntu
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#108 by burdi01 » 21 Jun 2016, 08:36

I install this old file "p7zip-9.20.1-x86_64-1_slack.txz" and converted it to "p7zip-9.20.1-x86_64-1_slack.xzm"
In https://github.com/mate-desktop/engrampa/issues/128 I reported that 7z 15.09 beta and 15.14.1 show the problem, but 7z 9.04 and 9.20 do not.
From https://sourceforge.net/p/p7zip/bugs/180/ I derive that a fix *may* be forthcoming.

as developer of xorriso i have to nitpick that it is not the size of the ISO but the existence of empty files which makes mkisofs output indigestible for 7z.
I made sure / verified this info is mentioned in the two topics as mentioned above.
:D

scdbackup
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 Jun 2016, 20:58
Distribution: Debian
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#109 by scdbackup » 21 Jun 2016, 10:58

Hi,

for bystanders we should mention that we discussed the issue of mkisofs-versus-7z in
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions ... ?p=5552474

About https://sourceforge.net/p/p7zip/bugs/180/ :
Somehow i cannot log in by my sourceforge password (it is supposed
to still work with xorriso uploads). So i cannot express my scruples
about Igor Pavlov's idea of using GPT info instead of ISO 9660 info.
In an isohybrid ISO, the ISO 9660 aspect is still the main show.
MBR, GPT, APM are all add-ons with the sole purpose to direct boot
firmware to boot loader start programs. Lies and deceptions are allowed
if only they lead to sucessful booting.

As i stated on linuxquestions, both programs, mkisofs and 7z lean out
of the train window. Both should not. "E pericoloso sporgersi".

7z could simply ignore the block addresses of all files which have a
byte count of 0. At least that's what mkisofs expects and Linux mount does.

Have a nice day :)

Thomas

rchase
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 154
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 xfce x64
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#110 by rchase » 21 Jun 2016, 19:59

P.S. I attempted to start the script from the terminal with

Code: Select all

cd /mnt/sdb3/boot
Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com
"Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com: command not found"

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#111 by Jack » 21 Jun 2016, 20:31

rchase wrote:P.S. I attempted to start the script from the terminal with

Code: Select all

cd /mnt/sdb3/boot
Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com
"Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com: command not found"
You first have to do this.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: toor
root@porteus:/home/guest#
root@porteus:/home/guest# cd /mnt/sdb3/boot
root@porteus:/mnt/sdb3/boot# sh Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com 
root@porteus:/mnt/sdb3/boot#
That how I do it.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Evan
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 519
Joined: 11 Apr 2016, 09:00
Distribution: Anything Cinnamon
Location: London

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#112 by Evan » 21 Jun 2016, 22:42

<removed>
Last edited by Evan on 24 Jun 2016, 12:59, edited 1 time in total.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2533
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#113 by Bogomips » 22 Jun 2016, 00:22

KDE5 32 bit

On the way to making nvidia driver, noticed while in text mode, had lost all swap space. Through elimination found culptit to be rootcopy parameter, and rc.local is a subset of the cinnamon rc.local that is used. So turned on swap with swapon -a

After making the driver, entered GUI with init 4. Although nvidia driver was in charge, found KDE to be a bit sluggish.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ cat /proc/cmdline 
quiet initrd=initrd.xz from=/dev/sda10/tmp/iso/rc3/i586/Porteus-KDE-v3.2rc3-i586.iso rootcopy=UUID:b173/rcpy extramod=/dev/sda5/xtrax cliexec=mount~--bind~/home/guest/p9/tmp~/tmp noauto delay=10 3 BOOT_IMAGE=vmlinuz 
guest@porteus:~$ df -h .
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
aufs            529M  181M  348M  35% /
guest@porteus:~$ free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:            880         587          65          30         226         104
Swap:           644         399         245
Disk was being thrashed, and top showed baloo_file peaking at 98% cpu. Shortly thereafter it was a case of REISUB.

@ scdbackup
Was having trouble trying to get append working on a dvd-rw. After quite a bit of research, opted for xorriso. On 3.1 managed to make a xorriso module, and after some meticulous manual reading, was able to get append working on a dvd-rw. However there was an unexpected spin off. :) Previously on Mint, Brassero managed to make coasters of quite a few of my dvd-rw media. Here on kde K3 Burn could use some of them, but was pleasantly surprised to find that xorriso was able to resurrect almost all the dvd-rw, written off as coasters, except for a couple. :good:
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5455
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#114 by brokenman » 22 Jun 2016, 01:21

7z could simply ignore the block addresses of all files which have a byte count of 0.
This is kind of the way I see it too. It wasn't broken before.


"Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com: command not found"
./Porteus-install-for-Linux.com <-- note the dot slash

Bogomips, I too foud KDE5 on 32bit a disappointment. I did not observe the runaway baloo process. Will check it out.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

rchase
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 154
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 xfce x64
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#115 by rchase » 22 Jun 2016, 04:25

Jack, thanks. I am not very familiar with Linux; I found some reference to running a script just by entering its name. I've managed to install Porteus to sdb3. My understanding of the problem has been complicated by some weird fault with my IDE controller such that it will boot from a hard drive only if it is on IDE 0; Plop cannot boot OSs on another hard drive attached via IDE either, but can boot from USB.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1383
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#116 by Blaze » 23 Jun 2016, 17:59

Xfce x86_64

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# unetbootin
Unable to load library icui18n "Cannot load library icui18n: (icui18n: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory)

root@porteus:~# clementine
Unable to load library icui18n "Cannot load library icui18n: (icui18n: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory)

root@porteus:~# simplescreenrecorder --logfile
Unable to load library icui18n "Cannot load library icui18n: (icui18n: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory)
For fix this problem need to install icu4c-51.2-x86_64-1.txz via

Code: Select all

usm -g icu
ldconfig: Can't stat /libx32: No such file or directory and ldconfig: Can't stat /usr/libx32: No such file or directory
and what's meaning?

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# sudo ldconfig -v | grep icui18n
ldconfig: Can't stat /libx32: No such file or directory
ldconfig: Can't stat /usr/libx32: No such file or directory
	libicui18n.so.56 -> libicui18n.so.56.1
root@porteus:~#
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2533
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#117 by Bogomips » 25 Jun 2016, 00:57

kde 32 bit

Need to retract previous comments. It appears the nvidia installer was responsible for the runaway baloo process, which in turn made kde seem sluggish. However having now made a nvidia driver module and tweaked the boot process, kde response is fine and am no longer writing off kde. Will be quite usable if only could find a lightweight browser, which does not gulp up memory the way vivaldi did, Far worse than PaleMoon in that respect.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ cat /proc/cmdline 
quiet initrd=initrd.xz from=/dev/sda10/tmp/iso/rc3/i586/Porteus-KDE-v3.2rc3-i586.iso rootcopy=UUID:b173/rcpy extramod=/dev/sda5/black cliexec=mount~--bind~/home/guest/p9/tmp~/tmp copy2ram rammod=base ramsize=30% noauto delay=10 BOOT_IMAGE=vmlinuz 

guest@porteus:~$ df -h .
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
aufs            265M   50M  215M  19% /

guest@porteus:~$ free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:            880         545          74          63         259         117
Swap:           644         453         191

guest@porteus:~$ cat /var/log/porteus-livedbg 
# Recognized devices:
...
/dev/sdb1: UUID="23B9-F6C2" TYPE="vfat" 
/dev/sdb2: UUID="3cedaa92-6cfd-4f71-8994-54ab948be7cc" TYPE="ext2" 
/dev/sdc1: UUID="ab55fc94-4882-417b-b173-7f159944fa9b" TYPE="ext2" 
/dev/sdc2: UUID="30e88aba-c81c-49ea-9e9b-d23edd56b578" TYPE="ext4" 

# Booting device:
/mnt/isoloop

# Porteus data found in:
/mnt/isoloop/porteus

# Changes are stored in:
memory

# Non standard /rootcopy dir:
UUID:b173/rcpy

# Modules activated during boot time:
/memory/copy2ram/000-kernel.xzm
/memory/copy2ram/001-core.xzm
/memory/copy2ram/002-xorg.xzm
/memory/copy2ram/003-kde5.xzm
/mnt/sda5/black/h3x.xzm
/mnt/sda5/black/nvidia-304.131_rc3-i586.xzm
Image Viewer Gwenview. Could not get it to work. :wall:

Image

Files present in directory do not show up.

Another thing was that the screenshot routine claims to save as png, but in reality saves as webp, Eventually found online converter to transform to png, This was necessary as neither postimage,org nor cinnamon image viewer capable of handling this format.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

rchase
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 154
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 xfce x64
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#118 by rchase » 25 Jun 2016, 18:25

On my old Satellite (which seemed to run 3.1 well), Porteus 3.2rc3 x86_64 XFCE booted in graphics mode says "Failed to start message bus ... error reading from ...system.conf", proceeds to load wallpaper, then stop; it doesn't respond to the keyboard, but shuts down within three seconds (with success messages replacing the wallpaper) upon pressing the power button.

P.S. Sorry -- just realized that A) the existing installation no longer has access to the taskbar or whisker menu and B) I was trying to boot the new image with that defective Porteus installation in place.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2533
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#119 by Bogomips » 25 Jun 2016, 20:38

@ scdbackup
Moved post to its own topic. :) viewtopic.php?f=140&t=5997
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5455
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#120 by brokenman » 26 Jun 2016, 02:15

Bogomips I remember you mentioning a problem with pulseaudio applet using too much CPU. I just reproduced this tonight. I noticed slackware-current has just recompiled the xfce4-pulseaudio-plugin to fix a problem with the panel icon where it did not honour the gtk3 theme.

I installed the package and I don't get the cpu problem but I DO get the opposite of what they intended to fix. Now I have a white square background on the panel icon. Grrrrr. No doubt this will be blamed on the gtk3 theme but I have so far not found a theme that has light widgets and a dark panel and correctly puts a transparent background on the pulseaudio plugin icon. Looks like I will be patching themes tonight. :wall:
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Locked