[SOLVED] kdiff3 installation error

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
singhkirtikumar
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 01 Apr 2011, 09:53
Location: india

[SOLVED] kdiff3 installation error

Post#1 by singhkirtikumar » 13 Jun 2011, 11:01

while installing kdiff3-0.9.91 on porteus v1.0 Beta release, during make step system throwing following error

bash-4.1# make
make all-recursive
make[1]: Entering directory `/root/Desktop/kdiff3-0.9.91'
Making all in doc
make[2]: Entering directory `/root/Desktop/kdiff3-0.9.91/doc'
Making all in .
make[3]: Entering directory `/root/Desktop/kdiff3-0.9.91/doc'
make[3]: Nothing to be done for `all-am'.
make[3]: Leaving directory `/root/Desktop/kdiff3-0.9.91/doc'
Making all in en
make[3]: Entering directory `/root/Desktop/kdiff3-0.9.91/doc/en'
/usr/bin/meinproc --check --cache index.cache.bz2 ./index.docbook
I/O error : No such file or directory
/usr/share/apps/ksgmltools2/customization/kde-chunk.xsl:1: parser error : Document is empty
^
/usr/share/apps/ksgmltools2/customization/kde-chunk.xsl:1: parser error : Start tag expected, '<' not found
^
/bin/sh: line 1: 19491 Segmentation fault /usr/bin/meinproc --check --cache index.cache.bz2 ./index.docbook
make[3]: *** [index.cache.bz2] Error 139
make[3]: Leaving directory `/root/Desktop/kdiff3-0.9.91/doc/en'
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/Desktop/kdiff3-0.9.91/doc'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/Desktop/kdiff3-0.9.91'
make: *** [all] Error 2

unable to install, any suggestion plz.

User avatar
82issa
DOC Team
DOC Team
Posts: 127
Joined: 13 Apr 2011, 17:24
Location: USA, NC

Re: kdiff3 installation error

Post#2 by 82issa » 13 Jun 2011, 11:21

These errors that you are getting are a result of missing/corrupt files in your ram. Also when compiling try decompressing it to an actual data storage device. not the /root/Desktop use one of the /mnt/sdX's if you store the code while working on it. We also need to see your compile flags/ ./configure line. You need to set a prefix so it will install to a specified area where you have read and write access, then make that into a package. Also I run into errors like this if my thumbdrive(where porteus is installed) gets unplugged then plugged right back in. If you still continue to recieve these errors do a memcheck. If that passes. Check the md5 on your iso that you used for you porteus install. If that passes downgrade kdiff3 to a 0.9.8 or something a little lower and see if you get the same error.

Posted after 5 minutes 10 seconds:
If it is just a simple error from unplugging and plugging back in just reboot your computer and dont unplug the thumbdrive.
Sorry guys... I got to go. My girlfriend just casted "get your dirty ass into the shower" on me.
Oh and here is some naked grandpa pictures too.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1337
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: kdiff3 installation error

Post#3 by Blaze » 13 Jun 2011, 12:45

singhkirtikumar, you need to use cmake-2.8.4-i486-1.txz with dependencies of cmake and SlackBuild script for it.

Look at this SlackBuild script.

Download the source kdiff3-0.9.95.tar.gz and all files from Individual Files section.
Then set chmod +x
for these files and run kdiff3.SlackBuild in console.
Convert a new tgz package to xzm format.
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

singhkirtikumar
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 01 Apr 2011, 09:53
Location: india

Re: kdiff3 installation error

Post#4 by singhkirtikumar » 14 Jun 2011, 10:53

Blaze: I installed cmake but kdiff3-0.9.95.tar.gz not supporting Kde3 throwing error and for other supporting version of kdiff3 unable to find slackbuild.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1337
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: kdiff3 installation error

Post#5 by Blaze » 14 Jun 2011, 11:52

but kdiff3-0.9.95.tar.gz not supporting Kde3
hm..., try this package kdiff3-0.9.95-i486-3sl.txz
and you need to have these dependencies in your Porteus:

Code: Select all

cxxlibs >= 6.0.13-i486-2 or gcc-g++ >= 4.4.4-i486-1
expat >= 2.0.1-i486-1
fontconfig >= 2.8.0-i486-1
freetype >= 2.3.12-i486-1
gcc >= 4.4.4-i486-1
glib2 >= 2.22.5-i486-1
glibc-solibs >= 2.11.1-i486-5_slack13.1
libICE >= 1.0.6-i486-1
libSM >= 1.1.1-i486-1
libX11 >= 1.3.3-i486-1
libXau >= 1.0.5-i486-1
libXdmcp >= 1.0.3-i486-1
libXext >= 1.1-i486-1
libXrender >= 0.9.5-i486-1
libpng >= 1.4.3-i486-1_slack13.1
libxcb >= 1.6-i486-1
mesa >= 7.8.1-i486-1
qt >= 4.6.2_2d3d3e5-i486-1
util-linux-ng >= 2.17.2-i486-1
zlib >= 1.2.3-i486-2
Porteus has some the established dependencies.
You can find this list of established dependencies in /var/log/packages/
I think that you are need in qt-4.7.0_7abde40-i486-3.txz for run kdiff3.
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: kdiff3 installation error

Post#6 by brokenman » 14 Jun 2011, 17:36

My advice is to use the latest Porteus version. If i remember correctly there were issues with headers in Beta1 not being the same version as that under which glibc was compiled. I would use the latest release with crippled kernel sources module.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1337
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: kdiff3 installation error

Post#7 by Blaze » 14 Jun 2011, 17:59

I'm right - kdiff3 work for me fine.
Look at this screenshot http://img51.imageshack.us/img51/8136/777el.jpg
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

singhkirtikumar
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 01 Apr 2011, 09:53
Location: india

Re: kdiff3 installation error

Post#8 by singhkirtikumar » 15 Jun 2011, 10:50

Blaze: Thanks, your advice worked

Post Reply