NVIDIA 361 Driver

Technical issues/questions of an intermediate or advanced nature.
fab1qaz
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 26 May 2016, 13:32
Distribution: Desktop 3.1
Location: England

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#31 by fab1qaz » 28 May 2016, 21:46

It was fun. Aaah, so I put blacklist.xzm in optional for now until I get this driver working. Still problematic!

Code: Select all

copy2ram load=al/V
still gives 100% fan after 30 seconds like normal. Just trying with 05-devel.xzm, crippled_sources.xzm (sounds dodgy lol), and nvd361_crude.xzm also doesn't seem to work and fan comes on.

Going to try building it from the .run again with only 05-devel.xzm and crippled_sources.xzm in the modules folder. I removed the crude driver so surely I must save it in a module otherwise it isn't saved so what good is that? :%)

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#32 by Bogomips » 28 May 2016, 22:33

^ If installing driver always leave blacklist.xzm in modules. Otherwise installer will prematurely terminate. Also you have not uploaded the module for further refinement, so I cannot do anything more.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

fab1qaz
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 26 May 2016, 13:32
Distribution: Desktop 3.1
Location: England

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#33 by fab1qaz » 28 May 2016, 23:36

Bogomips wrote:^ If installing driver always leave blacklist.xzm in modules. Otherwise installer will prematurely terminate. Also you have not uploaded the module for further refinement, so I cannot do anything more.
md5 checksum

Code: Select all

43c1d862a132613163572f4640728f52  nvd361_crude.xzm
Download
nvd361_crude.xzm

Phew, my upload speed is terrible.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#34 by Bogomips » 29 May 2016, 10:12

So that I will not be wasting my time need to clarify something. Upon redoing the module the second time did you reboot first to text mode with boot options 3 copy2ram before running installer?

Also please post output of

Code: Select all

cat /proc/cmdline 
df -h .                                                           
free -m                                                           
cat /var/log/porteus-livedbg                                      
as you have it now.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

fab1qaz
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 26 May 2016, 13:32
Distribution: Desktop 3.1
Location: England

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#35 by fab1qaz » 29 May 2016, 10:23

Yeah I used 3 copy2ram, extracted the .run, executed the installer, moved up a directory level and saved the changes as .xzm :)

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ cat /proc/cmdline 
quiet \boot\syslinux\vmlinuz initrd=boot\syslinux\initrd.xz
guest@porteus:~$ df -h .                                                           
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
aufs            9.4G  6.4M  9.4G   1% /
guest@porteus:~$ free -m                                                           
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:          15952         243       15191          33         517       15491
Swap:             0           0           0
guest@porteus:~$ cat /var/log/porteus-livedbg
# Recognized devices:
/dev/sda1: LABEL="Recovery" UUID="76D6481CD647DACF" TYPE="ntfs" 
/dev/sda2: UUID="DA48-C7CE" TYPE="vfat" 
/dev/sda4: UUID="C6744BD7744BC8BF" TYPE="ntfs" 
/dev/sdb2: LABEL="Data" UUID="F8BA6307BA62C22C" TYPE="ntfs" 
/dev/sdc1: LABEL="TOSHIBA EXT" UUID="72ACD728ACD6E61F" TYPE="ntfs" 
/dev/sdd1: LABEL="UUI" UUID="1B08-3076" TYPE="vfat" 

# Booting device:
/mnt/sdd1

# Porteus data found in:
/mnt/sdd1/porteus

# Changes are stored in:
memory

# Non standard /rootcopy dir:
none

# Modules activated during boot time:
/mnt/sdd1/porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm
/mnt/sdd1/porteus/base/001-core.xzm
/mnt/sdd1/porteus/base/002-xorg.xzm
/mnt/sdd1/porteus/base/003-xfce4.xzm
/mnt/sdd1/porteus/modules/05-devel.xzm
/mnt/sdd1/porteus/modules/VeraCrypt.xzm
/mnt/sdd1/porteus/modules/VirtualBox-5.0.20-porteus-v3.2-x86_64-1prt.xzm
/mnt/sdd1/porteus/modules/blacklist.xzm
/mnt/sdd1/porteus/modules/crippled_sources.xzm
/mnt/sdd1/porteus/modules/google-chrome-50.0.2661.94-x86_64-1.xzm
/mnt/sdd1/porteus/modules/torguard-latest-amd64.xzm
Thanks Bogo!

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#36 by Bogomips » 29 May 2016, 11:00

^ From the info provided it seems the copy2ram boot option is not being used, and if I'm not mistaken there is enough ram to run superfast in memory, something like 15 GiB available.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

fab1qaz
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 26 May 2016, 13:32
Distribution: Desktop 3.1
Location: England

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#37 by fab1qaz » 29 May 2016, 11:29

You're right I am not using it now, I used copy2ram to make the crude nvidia driver xzm like you asked me to, it doesn't make a difference if I'm not using copy2ram now does it? I will copy2ram in the future.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#38 by Bogomips » 29 May 2016, 22:08

@ fab1qaz

Going through the module that was made, come across something iffy here, or maybe it's just nvidia striking out on their own. Referring to #13 of the howto, did you get asked the question "Would you like to run the nvidia-xconfig utility ... ?" or did you answer no to it?
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

fab1qaz
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 26 May 2016, 13:32
Distribution: Desktop 3.1
Location: England

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#39 by fab1qaz » 29 May 2016, 22:12

Hmm, no I didn't get asked that, just the "Install 32-bit libraries" question.
The Russian guys seem to get an bit at the end

Code: Select all

Your X configuration file has been successfully updated. Installation of the NVIDIA Accelerated Graphics Driver for Linux-x86 (version: 340.96) is now completed.
I just got

Code: Select all

Installation of the NVIDIA Accelerated Graphics Driver for Linux-x86 (version: 340.96) is now completed.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#40 by Bogomips » 30 May 2016, 16:34

[*]Module seems to have got larger, despite shaving off files which could be a cause of interference, and any other irrelevant files. Could maybe be due to block size.

md5sum nvidia-361.45.11-x86_64.xzm
1d621043ecc76c2aa318dbb0500c1676 nvidia-361.45.11-x86_64.xzm

Let's test out the module in a controlled manner:
  1. Clear the folder

    Code: Select all

    su
    mv  /mnt/sdc1/porteus/modules/*   /mnt/sdc1/porteus/optional
  2. Copy downloaded module to modules folder
  3. Reboot with option copy2ram
  4. Ignore this step. if fan ok
    1. Code: Select all

      su
      init 3  # text mode switch
    2. Code: Select all

      mkdir  /mnt/sdc1/porteus/nvd/tst
      cat /proc/cmdline  >> /mnt/sdc1/porteus/nvd/tst/txm.txt
      cat /var/log/porteus-livedbg >> /mnt/sdc1/porteus/nvd/tst/txm.txt
      dmesg -e | tail -n40  >> /mnt/sdc1/porteus/nvd/tst/txm.txt
      cp -a /var/log  /mnt/sdc1/porteus/nvd/varlog
      
  5. If fan ok require output of:

    Code: Select all

    cat /proc/cmdline 
    df -h .                                                           
    free -m                                                           
    cat /var/log/porteus-livedbg
    cp -a /var/log  /mnt/sdc1/porteus/nvd/varlog
    dmesg -e | tail -n40                                     
    
  6. Restoring modules to modules folder, for example:

    Code: Select all

    su
    ln  /mnt/sdc1/porteus/optional/05-devel.xzm  /mnt/sdc1/porteus/modules
    ln  /mnt/sdc1/porteus/optional/crippled_sources.xzm  /mnt/sdc1/porteus/modules
  7. If all goes well the module could serve as an interim module. There could be a requirement for one more test in case of further refinement.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

fab1qaz
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 26 May 2016, 13:32
Distribution: Desktop 3.1
Location: England

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#41 by fab1qaz » 30 May 2016, 18:11

Fan is OK with this module and doesn't spin up after 30 seconds, however the nvidia control panel behaves like it isn't seeing any nvidia card, just like with blacklist.xzm there are no options to change.

Here's the code.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ cat /proc/cmdline 
quiet \boot\syslinux\vmlinuz copy2ram initrd=boot\syslinux\initrd.xz
guest@porteus:~$ df -h .                                                           
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
aufs            9.4G  568K  9.4G   1% /
guest@porteus:~$ free -m                                                           
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:          15952         305       14999         355         647       15128
Swap:             0           0           0
guest@porteus:~$ cat /var/log/porteus-livedbg
# Recognized devices:
/dev/sda1: LABEL="Recovery" UUID="76D6481CD647DACF" TYPE="ntfs" 
/dev/sda2: UUID="DA48-C7CE" TYPE="vfat" 
/dev/sda4: UUID="C6744BD7744BC8BF" TYPE="ntfs" 
/dev/sdb2: LABEL="Data" UUID="F8BA6307BA62C22C" TYPE="ntfs" 
/dev/sdc1: LABEL="UUI" UUID="1B08-3076" TYPE="vfat" 

# Booting device:
/mnt/sdc1

# Porteus data found in:
/mnt/sdc1/porteus

# Changes are stored in:
memory

# Non standard /rootcopy dir:
none

# Modules activated during boot time:
/memory/copy2ram/000-kernel.xzm
/memory/copy2ram/001-core.xzm
/memory/copy2ram/002-xorg.xzm
/memory/copy2ram/003-xfce4.xzm
/memory/copy2ram/nvidia-361.45.11-x86_64.xzm
guest@porteus:~$ cp -a /var/log  /mnt/sdc1/porteus/nvd/varlog
cp: cannot create directory '/mnt/sdc1/porteus/nvd/varlog': No such file or directory
guest@porteus:~$ dmesg -e | tail -n40
[  +0.000811] iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: L1 Enabled - LTR Enabled
[  +0.077944] ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'iwl-mvm-rs'
[  +0.075456] pmd_set_huge: Cannot satisfy [mem 0xb0000000-0xb0200000] with a huge-page mapping due to MTRR override.
[  +0.000068] fbcon: inteldrmfb (fb0) is primary device
[  +0.050581] nvidia: module license 'NVIDIA' taints kernel.
[  +0.000000] Disabling lock debugging due to kernel taint
[  +0.004220] nvidia-nvlink: Nvlink Core is being initialized, major device number 251
[  +0.000134] [drm] Initialized nvidia-drm 0.0.0 20150116 for 0000:01:00.0 on minor 1
[  +0.000003] NVRM: loading NVIDIA UNIX x86_64 Kernel Module  361.45.11  Tue May 17 18:25:03 PDT 2016
[  +0.872231] [drm] RC6 on
[  +0.514885] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1f.3: bound 0000:00:02.0 (ops 0xffffffffa013f770)
[  +0.000126] Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 240x67
[  +0.024347] snd_hda_codec_conexant hdaudioC0D0: CX20751/2: BIOS auto-probing.
[  +0.000317] snd_hda_codec_conexant hdaudioC0D0: autoconfig for CX20751/2: line_outs=1 (0x17/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0) type:speaker
[  +0.000001] snd_hda_codec_conexant hdaudioC0D0:    speaker_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[  +0.000001] snd_hda_codec_conexant hdaudioC0D0:    hp_outs=1 (0x16/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[  +0.000000] snd_hda_codec_conexant hdaudioC0D0:    mono: mono_out=0x0
[  +0.000001] snd_hda_codec_conexant hdaudioC0D0:    inputs:
[  +0.000001] snd_hda_codec_conexant hdaudioC0D0:      Internal Mic=0x1a
[  +0.000000] snd_hda_codec_conexant hdaudioC0D0:      Mic=0x18
[  +0.000909] snd_hda_codec_conexant hdaudioC0D0: Enable sync_write for stable communication
[  +0.007912] input: HDA Intel PCH Mic as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.3/sound/card0/input9
[  +0.000053] input: HDA Intel PCH Headphone as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.3/sound/card0/input10
[  +0.000050] input: HDA Intel PCH HDMI/DP,pcm=3 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.3/sound/card0/input11
[  +0.000049] input: HDA Intel PCH HDMI/DP,pcm=7 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.3/sound/card0/input12
[  +0.115108] i915 0000:00:02.0: fb0: inteldrmfb frame buffer device
[  +0.550627] iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: L1 Enabled - LTR Enabled
[  +0.001136] iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: L1 Enabled - LTR Enabled
[  +0.007536] pcieport 0000:00:1c.0: AER: Corrected error received: id=00e0
[  +0.000033] pcieport 0000:00:1c.0: PCIe Bus Error: severity=Corrected, type=Physical Layer, id=00e0(Receiver ID)
[  +0.000002] pcieport 0000:00:1c.0:   device [8086:a112] error status/mask=00000001/00000000
[  +0.000002] pcieport 0000:00:1c.0:    [ 0] Receiver Error         (First)
[  +0.056851] iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: L1 Enabled - LTR Enabled
[  +0.000746] iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: L1 Enabled - LTR Enabled
[  +0.007692] pcieport 0000:00:1c.0: AER: Corrected error received: id=00e0
[  +0.000030] pcieport 0000:00:1c.0: PCIe Bus Error: severity=Corrected, type=Physical Layer, id=00e0(Receiver ID)
[  +0.000001] pcieport 0000:00:1c.0:   device [8086:a112] error status/mask=00000001/00000000
[  +0.000001] pcieport 0000:00:1c.0:    [ 0] Receiver Error         (First)
[  +0.050605] r8169 0000:03:00.1 eth0: link down
[  +3.442662] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1f.3: IRQ timing workaround is activated for card #0. Suggest a bigger bdl_pos_adj.

fab1qaz
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 26 May 2016, 13:32
Distribution: Desktop 3.1
Location: England

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#42 by fab1qaz » 30 May 2016, 18:26

I noticed this part didn't work so I copied as su

Code: Select all

cp -a /var/log  /mnt/sdb2/varlog
and have the varlog folder on my external hard-drive.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1338
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#43 by Blaze » 30 May 2016, 18:34

fab1qaz wrote:Aha! It installed and I saved the changes as the xzm. During installation it asked if I wanted to

Code: Select all

Install NVIDIA'S 32-bit compatibility libraries?
to which I said "No" because I'm operating a 64-bit machine. Was that right or should I redo?
On this question you are need to answer 'Yes'
Bogomips wrote:Module seems to have got larger, despite shaving off files which could be a cause of interference, and any other irrelevant files. Could maybe be due to block size.
1. If you are use dir2xzm via terminal (not GUI mode) - it gives more compression.
2. (Don't forget to copy 05-devel.xzm, crippled_sources.xzm and blacklist.xzm to /porteus/base/)
Need to clean nvidia module via my script nvidia.sh (+ download this arhive nvidia.tar.bz2 - he is need for my script)

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
# Build and clean nVidia xzm driver module for Porteus by Blaze for arch x86 or x86_64:
dir2xzm /mnt/live/memory/changes /tmp/nvidia.xzm
cd /tmp
mkdir /tmp/nvidia
xzm2dir nvidia.xzm nvidia
cd /tmp/nvidia
rm -rf /tmp/nvidia/dev
rm -rf /tmp/nvidia/mnt
rm -rf /tmp/nvidia/root
rm -rf /tmp/nvidia/tmp
rm -rf /tmp/nvidia/var
rm -rf /tmp/nvidia/etc/*[^OpenCL,X11]
rm /tmp/nvidia/etc/adjtime
rm /tmp/nvidia/etc/ld.so.cache
rm /tmp/nvidia/etc/localtime
rm /tmp/nvidia/etc/X11/xorg.conf.nvidia-xconfig-original
tar xvjf /tmp/nvidia.tar.bz2
rm /tmp/nvidia/lib/modules/*porteus/modules.*
rm -rf /tmp/nvidia/usr/src
rm -rf /tmp/nvidia/usr/lib/gio
rm -rf /tmp/nvidia/usr/lib/gtk-2.0
rm -rf /tmp/nvidia/usr/lib/gtk-3.0
rm -rf /tmp/nvidia/usr/lib64/gio
rm -rf /tmp/nvidia/usr/lib64/gtk-2.0
rm -rf /tmp/nvidia/usr/lib64/gtk-3.0
rm -rf /tmp/nvidia/usr/share/mime
rmdir /tmp/nvidia/usr/share/pixmaps
rm /tmp/nvidia/usr/share/applications/mimeinfo.cache
dir2xzm /tmp/nvidia /tmp/nvidia-repack.xzm
cd /tmp
mv /tmp/nvidia-repack.xzm /mnt/sdb1/porteus/modules
rm /mnt/sdb1/porteus/base/blacklist.xzm
rm -rf /tmp
reboot
In my script you are need to replace sdb1 on your location with Porteus, for example sdc1

Boot up Porteus into 'Text mode' and login as root with password toor

Copy NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-361.45.11.run, nvidia.sh and nvidia.tar.bz2 to the /tmp directory (Note. You can use for it mc command) and run these commands in terminal

Code: Select all

cd /tmp
chmod +x NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-361.45.11.run
chmod +x nvidia.sh
./NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-361.45.11.run
Answer 'Accept' and 'Yes' on all questions.

After run this command

Code: Select all

/.nvidia.sh
nvidia-repack.xzm will be copy to /mnt/sdbX/porteus/modules (sdbX it's your patch (way) to Porteus) and Porteus will reboot.
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#44 by Bogomips » 30 May 2016, 18:52

Looks good from what I see so far. The control panel is there but you cannot display anything? So please do following:
  • Code: Select all

    su
    cp  -a  /var/log  ,  # Don't lose Dot
    tar cjf  log.bz2  log
  • Upload log.bz2 and post link
  • See if the driver is being used, by doing something demanding graphically.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

fab1qaz
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 26 May 2016, 13:32
Distribution: Desktop 3.1
Location: England

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#45 by fab1qaz » 30 May 2016, 19:10

Hey Blaze I already redid it saying "yes." :)


Bogo I don't get much with that, although the fact the fan isn't spinning up shows it is working at least! Thanks buddy.

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/home/guest# cp  -a  /var/log  ,
root@porteus:/home/guest# tar cjf  log.bz2  log
tar: log: Cannot stat: No such file or directory
tar: Exiting with failure status due to previous errors

Post Reply