NVIDIA 361 Driver

Technical issues/questions of an intermediate or advanced nature.
Post Reply
fab1qaz
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 26 May 2016, 13:32
Distribution: Desktop 3.1
Location: England

NVIDIA 361 Driver

Post#1 by fab1qaz » 26 May 2016, 13:39

http://postimg.org/image/4s3mkel63/

Hi guys I have an nvidia laptop and built a porteus desktop build with an nvidia driver then with linux driver - both give me this screen when I try to boot. Kernel failure. I am a linux neophite, what could the problem be? My laptop runs windows just fine.

Thanks. :)

fab1qaz
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 26 May 2016, 13:32
Distribution: Desktop 3.1
Location: England

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#2 by fab1qaz » 26 May 2016, 15:13

You beautiful bastard it worked! Thank you! Is there a place I can find a driver for my 3.1 custom build that will work with the 960M?

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#3 by Bogomips » 26 May 2016, 15:57

Go to nvidia.co.uk. Either do manual search or let them use java to tell you which driver you require. Then go here and check.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

fab1qaz
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 26 May 2016, 13:32
Distribution: Desktop 3.1
Location: England

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#4 by fab1qaz » 26 May 2016, 16:13

Is it easy to change the run to xzm? Otherwise we have 2 xzm nvidia drivers. When I built the 3.1 custom it didn't say which nvidia driver it installed I'd guess it was most likely 340.58 as the latter release of the 2 xzms plus the facts that driver itself is woefully old. It isn't even on the nvidia list haha. It didn't work when I tried a 3.1 nvidia build with one of those two drivers it was and I got the same kernel panic error. I think I need a newer driver as the card is newer than 340.58 I believe.

Edit: Yes 350+ is needed! http://laptopmedia.com/news/nvidia-has- ... -and-more/
If I can't get that new nvidia driver plan B is to use porteus 3.1 rc2 however it is stuck in always fresh mode? I can deal with the fan on 100% it is loud but the laptop is usable at least.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#5 by Bogomips » 26 May 2016, 16:18

As I said have to check on the nvidi site if 340 will do your card.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

fab1qaz
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 26 May 2016, 13:32
Distribution: Desktop 3.1
Location: England

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#6 by fab1qaz » 26 May 2016, 16:19

It won't :oops:

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#7 by Bogomips » 26 May 2016, 16:28

So which nvivia driver do you have to have?

It helps when you can supply as much information as possible as to what you have done.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

fab1qaz
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 26 May 2016, 13:32
Distribution: Desktop 3.1
Location: England

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#8 by fab1qaz » 26 May 2016, 16:30

The 340 one gives me kernel panic so I need to convert a newer linux nvidia driver .run to be converted into .xzm if it's possible? http://www.nvidia.co.uk/download/driver ... 3502/en-uk

fab1qaz
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 26 May 2016, 13:32
Distribution: Desktop 3.1
Location: England

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#9 by fab1qaz » 26 May 2016, 20:00

I tried a 350 driver xzm on here and the laptop still would not boot, so 3.2rc2 it is. I am glad I can use this version but my gpu fan goes up to 100 after 1 minute on the desktop from logging in. Is there somewhere I'm missing to adjust the gpu fan and see tempurature? Thanks :)

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#10 by Bogomips » 26 May 2016, 20:13

Please explain in detail how you are booting. As I said before, I could not see any driver being loaded, let alone a 340, in screenshot image.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

fab1qaz
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 26 May 2016, 13:32
Distribution: Desktop 3.1
Location: England

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#11 by fab1qaz » 26 May 2016, 20:29

That picture was 3.1 custom build with linux driver. Even with 350 nvidia driver it would not boot but I can boot 3.2rc2 porteus. Due to the lack of video driver though the fan goes crazy.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#12 by Bogomips » 26 May 2016, 20:42

Checked. It seems you need the 361 driver after all. However if you do not furnish details of how you are booting the file, I cannot help you to make a driver module, as have no idea of your linux competence and of the booting process you are using. :(
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

fab1qaz
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 26 May 2016, 13:32
Distribution: Desktop 3.1
Location: England

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#13 by fab1qaz » 26 May 2016, 21:52

Bogomips wrote:Checked. It seems you need the 361 driver after all. However if you do not furnish details of how you are booting the file, I cannot help you to make a driver module, as have no idea of your linux competence and of the booting process you are using. :(
Ah. I would add the xzm to the modules folder. I am pretty new to linux if I understand correctly the booting process is I boot from a memory stick with 64bit XFCE porteus.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#14 by Bogomips » 27 May 2016, 00:09

^ How you did it. Blow by blow account required:
  1. Downloaded iso file where?
  2. Next step
  3. and next step
  4. and lastly the boot sequence
This is because the sequence has to be interrupted in order to make the driver.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

fab1qaz
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 26 May 2016, 13:32
Distribution: Desktop 3.1
Location: England

Re: I can't boot please help!

Post#15 by fab1qaz » 27 May 2016, 00:31

The iso you gave me of rc2 I installed with pendrivelinux universal installer selecting Porteus in the dropdown and installed to a flash drive. I boot that and get a choice to either load Windows, Porteus or shut down. Selecting Porteus it doesn't give me any menu like 3.1 did so it is "Always Fresh." I can reach the desktop and it works fine, confirming it is "Always Fresh" by rebooting after making some changes and losing them. Thanks again.

Post Reply