Restricting HDD Mounting

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
DoomUs
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 21
Joined: 06 Jun 2011, 17:04
Location: New Mexico

Re: Restricting HDD Mounting

Post#16 by DoomUs » 10 Jun 2011, 14:58

Hamza wrote:Do you want to disable the internet connection from your custom LIVE-CD ?

And what is the manifest file?
It is a file when there is all kernel modules. It is a list of all kernel modules (not built in).
Well, I do, but I don't think that was mentioned in this thread. This thread is concerned with restricting Hard Disk access. I appologize if I mistakenly mentioned disabling the internet connection in this thread.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Restricting HDD Mounting

Post#17 by Hamza » 10 Jun 2011, 15:05

Sorry, I was think about another subject.
That was my fault.

I suggest, you make a chmod on the "mount" binaries to make a restriction for any other users than root.
I like the idea of fanthom with "mount" binaries.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

DoomUs
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 21
Joined: 06 Jun 2011, 17:04
Location: New Mexico

Re: Restricting HDD Mounting

Post#18 by DoomUs » 10 Jun 2011, 15:28

Hamza wrote:Sorry, I was think about another subject.
That was my fault.

I suggest, you make a chmod on the "mount" binaries to make a restriction for any other users than root.
I like the idea of fanthom with "mount" binaries.
I'd like to restrict even root, at least by default. If they add their own modules, I can't stop that, but I'd like to remove the functionality from the kernel as suggested, but I don't know how, or where the modules that provide that functionality are.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Restricting HDD Mounting

Post#19 by Hamza » 10 Jun 2011, 15:34

for module activation, just change the root password with passwd root command.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

Post Reply