Porteus bootable ISOs

Here is a place for your projects which are not officially supported by the Porteus Team. For example: your own kernel patched with extra features; desktops not included in the standard ISO like Gnome; base modules that are different than the standard ISO, etc...
Post Reply
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3215
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Porteus bootable ISOs

Post#1 by Ed_P » 16 Feb 2016, 00:58

brokenman how do you make the ISOs we download to be bootable ISOs? What steps or app do you use to do that?

Thanks.
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5516
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus bootable ISOs

Post#2 by brokenman » 16 Feb 2016, 01:44

After the ISO is produced a program called hybridiso is run on them. It is a part of the syslinux package I believe. After this is run users can use dd to 'burn' the ISO to a USB after which it will automatically be bootable. If you are referring to booting them using an outside program then it is that program that contains the 'bootable' part.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3215
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus bootable ISOs

Post#3 by Ed_P » 16 Feb 2016, 04:36

I normally boot ISOs with Grub4DOS and am now booting some with Grub2Win. But the viewtopic.php?f=75&t=5389 ISO file doesn't boot with either so looking for options to use with it.
brokenman wrote:After the ISO is produced a program called hybridiso is run on them. It is a part of the syslinux package I believe.
?? Is the syslinux package a part of the ISO file or something I download with USM? I will look and get back to you.

Thanks. :beer:

--edit--

syslinux is available via USM and the utility appears to be isohybrid not hybridiso.

-edit-

Now to figure out how to use it to create the ISO.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ isohybrid --help
Usage: isohybrid [OPTIONS] <boot.iso>

Options:
   -h <X>          Number of default geometry heads
   -s <X>          Number of default geometry sectors
   -e --entry      Specify partition entry number (1-4)
   -o --offset     Specify partition offset (default 0)
   -t --type       Specify partition type (default 0x17)
   -i --id         Specify MBR ID (default random)
   -u --uefi       Build EFI bootable image
   -m --mac        Add AFP table support

   --forcehd0      Assume we are loaded as disk ID 0
   --ctrlhd0       Assume disk ID 0 if the Ctrl key is pressed
   --partok        Allow booting from within a partition

   -? --help       Display this help
   -v --verbose    Display verbose output
   -V --version    Display version information

Report bugs to <pj.pandit@yahoo.co.in>
guest@porteus:~$ 
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5516
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus bootable ISOs

Post#4 by brokenman » 16 Feb 2016, 10:49

Start with: isohybrid /path/to/my.iso

http://www.syslinux.org/wiki/index.php/Isohybrid
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2562
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus bootable ISOs

Post#5 by Bogomips » 16 Feb 2016, 14:01

Only question is, if you do that, can you use the rest of the usb, or is it just a dedicated iso usb?
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3215
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus bootable ISOs

Post#6 by Ed_P » 16 Feb 2016, 21:50

An update.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ isohybrid /mnt/sda5/ISOs/abSlak_100216.iso
isohybrid: /mnt/sda5/ISOs/abSlak_100216.iso: unexpected boot catalogue parameters
guest@porteus:~$ isohybrid /mnt/sda5/ISOs/abSlak_030216.iso
isohybrid: /mnt/sda5/ISOs/abSlak_030216.iso: unexpected boot catalogue parameters
guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# isohybrid /mnt/sda5/ISOs/abSlak_100216.iso
isohybrid: /mnt/sda5/ISOs/abSlak_100216.iso: unexpected boot catalogue parameters
root@porteus:/home/guest# 
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2562
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus bootable ISOs

Post#7 by Bogomips » 16 Feb 2016, 23:12

@Ed_P Relevant Post

If you pursue it, will be interested to know how you get on. Used Iso Editor to make Iso, and AFAIK Iso Editor uses El Torrito for CD.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5516
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus bootable ISOs

Post#8 by brokenman » 17 Feb 2016, 00:28

Only question is, if you do that, can you use the rest of the usb, or is it just a dedicated iso usb?
I remember playing with it a while back. I created an ISO that had multiple partitions inside that were transferred to the USB when using dd. From memory (which isn't so good) you can format what isn't used on the USB as you wish.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3215
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus bootable ISOs

Post#9 by Ed_P » 17 Feb 2016, 16:58

Bogomips wrote:If you pursue it, will be interested to know how you get on.
Indeed. But I'm not one for keeping secrets so little worry. :D
Used Iso Editor to make Iso, and AFAIK Iso Editor uses El Torrito for CD.
Not ISO Master in LXQT? Where did you get ISO Editor? USM?
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2562
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus bootable ISOs

Post#10 by Bogomips » 20 Feb 2016, 01:30

@ Ed_P

At long last finally got the goods on how to format a partition ntfs from linux, so will be able to test reading iso from ntfs partition. When this is successful will make new iso for you to try.

btw how's iso hybrid investigation getting on?
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3215
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus bootable ISOs

Post#11 by Ed_P » 20 Feb 2016, 04:23

Bogomips wrote:When this is successful will make new iso for you to try.
:friends:
I'm suppose to be trying to help you not the other way around. :oops:
btw how's iso hybrid investigation getting on?
I believe the problem is within the .img file but what, why, how, etc. and how to fix.... No idea.

I did copy the ptest.sgn file to the partition next to the .iso file. Booting still couldn't find it. :wall:
Ed

Post Reply