Porteus.cfg - cheats

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
ztrapl
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 198
Joined: 29 Aug 2013, 21:36
Distribution: Porteus 3.1 KDE4 32bit
Location: Czech Republic

Porteus.cfg - cheats

Post#1 by ztrapl » 08 Feb 2016, 17:12

Hi, I need help.
When testing modules in Porteus fresh I made a module changes.xzm which are just the desktop settings, start menu, volume settings, and the like.
I want to make this module loaded when using Porteus fresh.
I modified porteus.cfg as follows:

Code: Select all

LABEL fresh
MENU LABEL Always Fresh
KERNEL vmlinuz
APPEND initrd=initrd.xz load₌changes-160207.xzm nomagic base_only norootcopy timezone=Europe/Bratislava volume=75% kmap=cz,us login=root
Thus it does not work and therefore I try these settings:

Code: Select all

LABEL fresh
MENU LABEL Always Fresh
KERNEL vmlinuz
APPEND initrd=initrd.xz extramod=/mnt/sdb1/porteus/changes/changes-160207.xzm nomagic base_only norootcopy timezone=Europe/Bratislava volume=75% kmap=cz,us login=root
But even these settings did not help.
Where I am doing wrong? :wall:

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 720
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus.cfg - cheats

Post#2 by beny » 08 Feb 2016, 17:13

hi have you put the module into the core directory? the porteus base and i think you have to cosider the changes like a module not to put into the boot line,imho

ztrapl
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 198
Joined: 29 Aug 2013, 21:36
Distribution: Porteus 3.1 KDE4 32bit
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Porteus.cfg - cheats

Post#3 by ztrapl » 08 Feb 2016, 17:17

beny wrote:hi have you put the module into the core directory? the porteus base
I tried to put the module into the Base Directory and Optional. And nothing.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 720
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus.cfg - cheats

Post#4 by beny » 08 Feb 2016, 17:21

clean the boot line, at fresh boot you have to see the changes module loaded with the other 000 001 etc maybe you have to rename the module

ztrapl
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 198
Joined: 29 Aug 2013, 21:36
Distribution: Porteus 3.1 KDE4 32bit
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Porteus.cfg - cheats

Post#5 by ztrapl » 08 Feb 2016, 17:30

beny wrote:clean the boot line, at fresh boot you have to see the changes module loaded with the other 000 001 etc maybe you have to rename the module
So I got it now. Module I renamed the 09-changes.xzm and is in the Base. It works.
However, if I want the Graphics mode (KDE4) I have this module always rename on 09-changes. xz to avoid his load.
But this solution is not practical.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 720
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus.cfg - cheats

Post#6 by beny » 08 Feb 2016, 17:37

the modules in fresh mode are loaded,the changes folder in this way is disabled, so you can put the module in core or modules directory but it is always loaded,because it is a module.yes the use it is not practical you have the always fresh mode with permanent changes.maybe the init3 txt mode can solve the issue of what desktop manager you have to load,if you have not only kde or xfce4,xwmconfig in console can help you.

ztrapl
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 198
Joined: 29 Aug 2013, 21:36
Distribution: Porteus 3.1 KDE4 32bit
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Porteus.cfg - cheats

Post#7 by ztrapl » 08 Feb 2016, 17:45

beny wrote:the modules in fresh mode are loaded,the changes folder in this way is disabled, so you can put the module in core or modules directory but it is always loaded,because it is a module.yes the use it is not practical you have the always fresh mode with permanent changes.maybe the init3 txt mode can solve the issue of what desktop manager you have to load,if you have not only kde or xfce4,xwmconfig in console can help you.
After several attempts, I thought, that's not the point.
Too bad, but thank you for the help.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 720
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus.cfg - cheats

Post#8 by beny » 08 Feb 2016, 18:11

but make the changes into one xzm module is a good thing,if you play a lot with software and config.it is like a backup,you can restore it if you have a failure.

ztrapl
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 198
Joined: 29 Aug 2013, 21:36
Distribution: Porteus 3.1 KDE4 32bit
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Porteus.cfg - cheats

Post#9 by ztrapl » 08 Feb 2016, 18:13

So eventually helped this edit porteus.cfg :

Code: Select all

MENU LABEL Graphics mode (KDE4)
KERNEL vmlinuz
APPEND initrd=initrd.xz noload=09-changes.xzm timezone=Europe/Bratislava volume=75% kmap=cz,us login=root
If I choose Porteus fresh so the module is 09-changes.xzm loaded.
If choose Graphics mode (KDE 4) and does not load this module. :)

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 720
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus.cfg - cheats

Post#10 by beny » 08 Feb 2016, 19:13

great,well done cheat

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1126
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus.cfg - cheats

Post#11 by donald » 08 Feb 2016, 20:25

Hi ztrapl
one more way:
Make a new entry in porteus.cfg
Then define what you want to have loaded.
Example:
LABEL fresh 2
MENU LABEL Always Fresh 2
KERNEL vmlinuz
APPEND initrd=initrd.xz xfce noload=cpufreq;sensors load=lbreakout

In the Example it loads the base files, doesn't load cpufreq;sensors in the modules folder and finally loads the lbreakout in optional.

You may want to load the base files, no-load everything in the modules
folder and finally load your changes.xzm in optional.
You can also add the norootcopy, nomagic cheatcodes etc to the append line if you wish.

EDIT
It looks awkward,i know.
I use this method to get more than the default boot options;
with a variety of pre selected module configurations.

ztrapl
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 198
Joined: 29 Aug 2013, 21:36
Distribution: Porteus 3.1 KDE4 32bit
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Porteus.cfg - cheats

Post#12 by ztrapl » 09 Feb 2016, 23:55

@donald

This edit porteus.cfg me does not work.
Works noload=09-changes.xzm

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1126
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus.cfg - cheats

Post#13 by donald » 10 Feb 2016, 14:20

Hi ztrapl
can you tell me what exactly doesn't work

noload= you have to add all the modules (names) in the module folder
(i admit this is awkward if you have a lot of modules in that folder)
load= your changes module, MUST be in the Optional folder,no need for
the 09 prefix

APPEND initrd=initrd.xz noload= load= nomagic norootcopy

do not use the base_only cheatcode

The goal is to have a new menu entry, which does the same as always fresh,
without the use of the base_only cheatcode which prevents the load of any
additional module.

Am I overlooking something?.. :unknown:

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus.cfg - cheats

Post#14 by Bogomips » 10 Feb 2016, 19:09

@donald It's all got a bit obfuscated, and I've lost the thread :( What exactly are you trying to do? Asking only because I've been doing different things in that area, maybe could offer my 2c.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1126
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus.cfg - cheats

Post#15 by donald » 10 Feb 2016, 19:20

Hi Bogomips
The problem is already solved.ztrapl found a solution himself.
I'm just going to point out another (different) way to get the same result
without changing the original menu entries.
I have some more menu entries -- one loads only modules for gaming,
one loads only gimp or office for example, without loading all the other
(not needed) modules at start up.
Once configured I only need to select the suitable menu entry to boot
the right environment.
The given Example would load an environment like always fresh + a changes module
from a seperate menue entry......If I'm not completely mistaken.

Post Reply