Graphics Drivers from Porteus to Porteus Kiosk

Here you can post about the issues related to modifications performed manually (not through the kiosk wizard). Example: swapped kernel, added 3rd party modules or files.
Please describe in detail what has been changed and hopefully other kiosk user will be able to help.
Porteus team wont resolve bugs posted in this category as we support only modifications made by the kiosk wizard.
Post Reply
kassius
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Feb 2016, 13:38
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Leeds, UK

Graphics Drivers from Porteus to Porteus Kiosk

Post#1 by kassius » 05 Feb 2016, 14:08

Hello all,

I'm green when it comes to any non-Windows OS, and I'm looking at using Porteus Kiosk as a web kiosk in an intranet environment that will connect to just one website. Everything that I've tested seems to work - but on the hardware we need to do this on, there appears to be a graphics driver issue. The full fat version of Porteus display loads up on these devices, however in Kiosk I just get a black screen after booting from the USB.

Device = HP Stream Notebook PC 13 which has an integrated Braswell GPU as part of the Intel Celeron N3050.

Essentially, I'm looking for help on outlining the process of identifying the graphics drivers section in Porteus and incorporating them into the Kiosk version. Or turn Porteus into a kiosk which seems kind of counter productive as there is already a kiosk version to use.

If I follow Step 14 of http://porteus-kiosk.org/faq.html , would that be the right way to go, just with graphics drivers rather than printer ones?

Many thanks for any advice and pointers and apologies if my technical know how on Linux is a bit sub par for this forum.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Graphics Drivers from Porteus to Porteus Kiosk

Post#2 by fanthom » 05 Feb 2016, 15:15

Hello kassius,

Your problem could be related to bootsplash which was enabled recently in 3.6.0 installation ISO. Please try 3.6.0 Server and let me know if it booted ok:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/public/3.6/Por ... 0-i486.iso

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

kassius
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Feb 2016, 13:38
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: Graphics Drivers from Porteus to Porteus Kiosk

Post#3 by kassius » 05 Feb 2016, 17:16

Thank you for the quick response! I'll give this a go tomorrow and let you know.

kassius
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Feb 2016, 13:38
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: Graphics Drivers from Porteus to Porteus Kiosk

Post#4 by kassius » 08 Feb 2016, 10:46

Hi fanthom,

I can confirm that I get the same issue with the server version of Porteus Kiosk - a black screen. I do get to see the console working first though (copying kiosk data to RAM), it's after this point the screen goes black.

I have two similar HP Streams albeit different iterations of the same model that I can view this working and not working side by side.

Kind regards,

Andrew

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Graphics Drivers from Porteus to Porteus Kiosk

Post#5 by fanthom » 08 Feb 2016, 11:12

Ok - so its not a bootsplash. I guess that kernel upgrade will be necessary as Braswell is fairly new.

If you could wait about a month then new kiosk version should be out with 4.4.x kernel supporting your device. If you cant wait then please contact me through customized builds service:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/builds.html

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

kassius
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Feb 2016, 13:38
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: Graphics Drivers from Porteus to Porteus Kiosk

Post#6 by kassius » 08 Feb 2016, 12:39

Thanks Fanthom - I've sent you an e-mail via the e-mail address on Custom Builds section of the site.

Andrew

Post Reply