[HOWTO] How to switch WM session

Nemesis related tutorials and docs
Forum rules
Please only post tutorials and HOWTOs in here. It should not be a discussion area.
Locked
zer0-G
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Feb 2011, 20:37
Location: Texas

[HOWTO] How to switch WM session

Post#1 by zer0-G » 28 Jan 2016, 19:18

Hello,

I recently installed i3wm on Nemesis v3.5 (LXDE) but I am having troubles logging to the i3 wm. Currently I have to boot Nemesis with "noload=003-lxde.xzm" and when at a command prompt, login in as guest then type startx to get in to i3.
That way works fine, but I would like to keep LXDE and be able to switch sessions. The problem is that when I log into LXDE during a normal boot if I select logout I am taken to the LXDM but only have the option to enter a user and password, no session switching?
Also, in the future, it would be convenient to log straight into i3 instead of lxde?

Any help is greatly appreciated...
Last edited by zer0-G on 29 Jan 2016, 03:28, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 842
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: How to switch WM session

Post#2 by ncmprhnsbl » 28 Jan 2016, 21:26

have a look at/edit(as root): /etc/lxdm/lxdm.conf (with 003-lxde loaded)
lines:
## default session or desktop used when no systemwide config
session=/usr/bin/i3

and
## if show bottom pane
bottom_pane=1
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: How to switch WM session

Post#3 by brokenman » 28 Jan 2016, 22:00

^^ I was going to say exactly what he said. Next release I will make the bottom bar visible so lxdm can be used with other environments. Thanks ncmprhnsbl.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 842
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: How to switch WM session

Post#4 by ncmprhnsbl » 28 Jan 2016, 22:23

brokenman wrote:Next release I will make the bottom bar visible
have been meaning to suggest this.... :)
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

zer0-G
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Feb 2011, 20:37
Location: Texas

Re: How to switch WM session

Post#5 by zer0-G » 29 Jan 2016, 03:25

Thanks guys... That worked like a champ!

Locked