Overscan and Right click in Chrome

Here you can post about the issues related to modifications performed manually (not through the kiosk wizard). Example: swapped kernel, added 3rd party modules or files.
Please describe in detail what has been changed and hopefully other kiosk user will be able to help.
Porteus team wont resolve bugs posted in this category as we support only modifications made by the kiosk wizard.
Post Reply
davefor
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Dec 2015, 16:20
Distribution: 3.6.0
Location: USA

Overscan and Right click in Chrome

Post#1 by davefor » 12 Jan 2016, 13:40

Overscan and Right click in Chrome


Just had a few issue I hope someone can help me with.
1) I noticed that there is some overscan is there any way to
make the image smaller
The display shows 1:1 and 1920x1080 (on touch screen display)
And when I run xrandr I get the following
Iooks like it’s displaying the correct size but just oversized by about 1 inch
root@porteus-kiosk:~# xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 32767 x 32767
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI1 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 930mm x 523mm
   1920x1080     60.00*+  50.00    59.94    30.00    25.00    24.00    29.97    23.98
   1920x1080i    60.00    50.00    59.94
   1600x1200     60.00
   1680x1050     59.88
   1400x1050     59.95
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02
   1440x900      59.90
   1280x960      60.00
   1366x768      59.79
   1360x768      60.02
   1280x800      59.91
   1280x768      59.87
   1280x720      59.97    60.00    50.00    59.94
   1024x768      60.00
   800x600       60.32
   720x576       50.00
   720x576i      50.00
   720x480       60.00    59.94
   720x480i      60.00    59.94
   640x480       60.00    59.94
   720x400       70.08
HDMI2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VIRTUAL1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

2) I noticed with chrome that (I don’t have right click enabled) sometimes when
going through a slideshow on a web page I get a right click pop-up menu to save the
image etc. Is there a way around this

Thanks
Dave

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Overscan and Right click in Chrome

Post#2 by fanthom » 12 Jan 2016, 15:30

Hello Dave,

1) Does the screen look ok when booting other linux distros like Ubuntu?

Maybe screen has 'auto adjust' button or something:
http://askubuntu.com/questions/4358/how ... -hdmi-hdtv

You could also experiment with xrandr commands like these:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php ... 3#p1135173
http://askubuntu.com/questions/248094/h ... ivy-bridge

2) You can also invoke right mouse click menu by holding the touch for 2-3 seconds. Unfortunately i'm not sure how to prevent it (Chrome is closed source) - disabling touch event is the only known methods ...

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

davefor
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Dec 2015, 16:20
Distribution: 3.6.0
Location: USA

Re: Overscan and Right click in Chrome

Post#3 by davefor » 12 Jan 2016, 18:56

Thanks for your quick reply
I will try some of the setting to to see if I can reduce overscan, also yes it does overscan with ubuntu.

You mentioned disabling touch event would this just disable Gestures for Google Chrome or will it
prevent all touch commands like a single click?

Dave

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Overscan and Right click in Chrome

Post#4 by fanthom » 12 Jan 2016, 20:00

" yes it does overscan with ubuntu."
I would say its a matter of adjusting monitor settings.

"You mentioned disabling touch event would this just disable Gestures for Google Chrome or will it
prevent all touch commands like a single click?"
It would disable every touch related input making Chrome useless for the touchscreen purposes.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply