Building Blocks

Here is a place for your projects which are not officially supported by the Porteus Team. For example: your own kernel patched with extra features; desktops not included in the standard ISO like Gnome; base modules that are different than the standard ISO, etc...
Kriss
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 06 Jul 2011, 07:07
Location: Russia

Re: Building Blocks

Post#91 by Kriss » 05 Feb 2016, 02:30

So I take it you're just trying things out?
But what do you want to change?

I can't say for everyone, but for me Slackware's live script is lacking many critical things:
no copy2ram (and AlienBob stated that he's not interested in this feature)
modules from subdirectories aren't loaded and probably module names cannot contain spaces (I've added this for the initrd.img I posted here, but still)
no proprietary drivers now (as I understand, he was asked to remove it)
unable to use UUID to determine boot media
there's probably more, but these reasons were enough for me.

And it's being modified, so it's not a good idea to change something alongside (hope you understand what I'm trying to say =) )

But if I can be of assistance with adding some new feature or improving something, just tell me and I'll try... =)
Suggestions/corrections/additions are always welcome.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1163
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Building Blocks

Post#92 by donald » 05 Feb 2016, 03:43

Hello Bogomips
I tried to download your iso.....speed: 30KB sec ~1.5 Hours...no way...will try again at weekend.
Hmmm....How about to make your iso "isohybrid" and then dd it onto a flash.
Should be the same as if one burn a real CD.
(if it isn't already in isohybrid format).
"Are the Drives recognized?": use
root@localhost:~# dmesg | grep sr
[ 1.122241] sr0: scsi3-mmc drive: 48x/16x cd/rw xa/form2 cdda tray
[ 1.122387] sr 4:0:0:0: Attached scsi CD-ROM sr0
[ 1.126768] sr1: scsi3-mmc drive: 48x/48x writer cd/rw xa/form2 cdda tray
[ 1.126890] sr 4:0:1:0: Attached scsi CD-ROM sr1
root@localhost:~#

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3164
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Building Blocks

Post#93 by Ed_P » 05 Feb 2016, 04:52

Jack wrote:First off what dose IMHO mean I see it all the time?
In My Humble Opinion
I been in computer or around them for 30 years and I even built computer.
What version of DOS did you start with?
I'm not young like most of the member here. I'll be a year older next week.
Strangely enough I'm not sure most of the members here are "young", taking into account the word is relative. And I'll be a year older next month. :wink:
Bogomips wrote:This is my Grub Legacy menu.lst:

Code: Select all

title           Alien Bob Adaptation Iso Test
root		(hd0,0)
kernel          /bab/vmlinuz  base_only noauto from=/dev/sda10/tmp/iso/abSlak.iso
initrd          /bab/initrd.img
sda10 is on an ext2 file system. Starting small so only have support for ext2, ext3,ext4 and reiserfs. also isofs for cd/dvd. Should be able to find sign file on these systems. vfat not yet sorted. So if /ISOs/%ISOz% is on an ntfs system it will not work for the moment.
Well, the ISO does boot for me, up until the error which means the /boot/syslinux/vmlinux file inside the ISO is being read and executed and since it is being read I don't see why the rest of the ISO isn't being read regardless of the format of where it is stored. Your menu has root set to your hard drive, my menu has root set to the ISO itself. BTW My menu is for Grub4DOS which is similar to Legacy grub.

And the ISO I downloaded does not have a /bab/ directory.
Ed

aus9

Re: Building Blocks

Post#94 by aus9 » 05 Feb 2016, 05:41

Jack

Sorry for misleading you on your laptop that uses F9 for bios boot order. Moderators should research and take more care but in case you can't tell I am close to 60 and others have elected not to tell you their age here as its a tiny bit off topic.......but I have not read anything recently when anyone including myself have attempted to be rude or treated you without respect. If for any reason you feel thats not true send a pm to a moderatior and they/I/we can get it sorted OK

We are all humans here so if I or others make mistakes we can live with it. We can berate each other for making mistakes but I think its better we can learn from our mistakes and pass it on to our grandchildren.

Although you have not asked and its offtopic here one link of some abbreviations...its not meant to be a full list.
http://slangit.com/terms/web_forums

cheers
:beer:

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Building Blocks

Post#95 by Jack » 05 Feb 2016, 06:04

Ed_P wrote:
Jack wrote:First off what dose IMHO mean I see it all the time?
In My Humble Opinion
I been in computer or around them for 30 years and I even built computer.
What version of DOS did you start with?
Thanks for the IMHO info.

And as far as Dos I think was MS-Dos 2.0.

I try to remember. The memory what not sure of so it could be wrong, the years are close and the rest should be correct.
My first computer 1981 was a VIC-20 4kb of memory with tape drive,
Then 1885 it was a Color Computer 128kb of memory, 5.25" floppy drive and it ran OS-9.
Then 1987 I got my 80186 computer and ??mb of memory and my first HD was 5 megs and the 5.25" floppy drive.

A little history

Jack
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3164
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Building Blocks

Post#96 by Ed_P » 05 Feb 2016, 06:33

@Bogomips

Same error booting with grub2.

Code: Select all

Starting init script .....
searching for ptest.sgn
Grub2 menu

Code: Select all

menuentry "abSlak_030216.iso" --class slackware   --class icon-porteus  {

     set iso=/ISOs/abSlak_030216.iso

     search -f $iso --set=root
     echo ISO root is:          $root
     echo ISO is:               $iso

     set porteus_parms="3"
     echo Porteus parms are:    $porteus_parms
     echo
     loopback loop $iso
     sleep -v -i 17
     echo "Loading Linux"
     linux (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$iso $porteus_parms
     echo "Loading initrd"
     initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.img
}
Jack wrote:And as far as Dos I think was MS-Dos 2.0.
Remember all the versions? MS DOS, IBM DOS, DR DOS, Compaq DOS. Writing .bat files to run on all the different versions with their unique caveats.
5.25" floppy drive and it ran OS-9.
OS, the IBM future system to compete with MS's OS. If you need some floppies for that drive I have some upstairs. :lol:
Ed

aus9

Re: Building Blocks

Post#97 by aus9 » 05 Feb 2016, 06:45

@ Bogomips

Pre-amble ...I have a modern motherboard with secure boot disabled. I know my bios has legacy usb support enabled because keyboard inputs at the bios screen work.

burnt iso to cdrw
boots up to login prompt for darkstar
---I see no error messages for the sign key file so that is good.

attempting to input from USB keyboard no good.
attempting to press shift/pageup to try and read last messages other than those showing on the screen.....no good.
---messages on screen relate to the creation of a ssh key.

I am not sure what input method you have chosen?

alienbob
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 14
Joined: 17 Nov 2015, 21:06
Distribution: Slackware
Location: Eindhoven

Re: Building Blocks

Post#98 by alienbob » 05 Feb 2016, 12:48

Kriss wrote:for me Slackware's live script is lacking many critical things:
no copy2ram (and AlienBob stated that he's not interested in this feature)
A 'toram' boot option has been added in the liveslak-0.5.0 release which will be published this weekend. Note that this is useless (IMHO) when you boot anything else than the small XFCE variant, unless you have a hulk load of RAM in your computer.
modules from subdirectories aren't loaded
Currently I do not see why that should be a critical feature.
and probably module names cannot contain spaces (I've added this for the initrd.img I posted here, but still)
If you want to use files and directories with spaces you can consider sending me patches. If they are not invasive I will look at applying them. Rewriting large parts of my code will be considered "invasive". But actually anything containing spaces in its pathname is pretty awful. A real UNIX filesystem has no spaces, and I am old skool. So I might not consider such a patch as worth having eventually.
no proprietary drivers now (as I understand, he was asked to remove it)
I really wish you'd do your homework first.
Pat wanted the 'real' Slackware Live ISO (i.e. not the XFCE, or the PLASMA5, or the MATE variant) to contain only core distro packages. So I removed the Nvidia drivers from that ISO. The Nvidia drivers are still added by default (as a squashfs package) to the PLASMA5, MATE and CINNAMON variants.
If you add the nvidia .SXZ module to the 'optional' or 'addons' subdirectory of the SLACKWARE ISO variant, it will "just work" out of the box. The rc.local and rc.local_shutdown scripts will take care of configuring the Nvidia drivers when present.
unable to use UUID to determine boot media
Again, if you would like to see a feature, send a patch or even just mention it as a wish. Complaining here is not going to help. And what you're asking here is actually a minor edit in the script.
there's probably more, but these reasons were enough for me
Indeed...my Slackware Live Edition is different from Porteus and that is a good thing. I have no desire to become a clone of Porteus or to steal its userbase. You do your stuff and I do mine. If you are not happy with what I made then I am completely indifferent to your comments when you utter them here, and I will listen to you when you write them on my blog.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2551
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Building Blocks

Post#99 by Bogomips » 05 Feb 2016, 12:51

Thanks aus9. That's a relief. Could not understand how the data could not be found on cd. Fact that you have /dev/sr0.

@Ed_P With Grub 1, the kernel and the initrd, do not have to come from the iso. It's only the Porteus data coming from iso. As mentioned before, booting media for the moment limited to disk and cd, as yet no support for Porteus data being on usb. Sign file looked for only on disk ext2, ext3, ext4 and resierfs patitions, apart from /dev/sr0. Still to do: vfat and usb.

So if iso is on disk filesystem of above mentioned types, to make life easier, please try a:

Code: Select all

set iso=/dev/sdaXy/ISOs/abSlak_030216.iso
@Kriss
Why not run the iso with copy2ram, and if not working, see if possible to fix the initrd?


FOLLOWING REQUEST FROM DOWN UNDER, WILL SHORTLY BE PUTTING UPDATES IN FIRST POST OF THREAD
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3164
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Building Blocks

Post#100 by Ed_P » 05 Feb 2016, 15:50

Bogomips wrote:@Ed_P With Grub 1, the kernel and the initrd, do not have to come from the iso.
I understand that but when I boot ISOs everything comes from the ISO itself. And when I use to burn ISOs to CDs/DVDs the only files written to the media came from the ISO.
So if iso is on disk filesystem of above mentioned types, to make life easier, please try a:

Code: Select all

set iso=/dev/sdaXy/ISOs/abSlak_030216.iso
Thanks, I'll try that and get back to you.
Last edited by Ed_P on 05 Feb 2016, 18:58, edited 1 time in total.
Ed

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Building Blocks

Post#101 by Jack » 05 Feb 2016, 16:32

@Bogomips and all

First off I want to say SORRY about everything.

@Bogomips,

Someone gave me 10 cd and that was the problem, but then I look at the CD I made and there was a bad spot or mark on the CD and that why it didn't boot up. I look at it before I burn another one and then I burn another copy and I look at it again to be sure it was OK and it was.

I put it back in my CD/DVD drive and turn my Laptop on and it booted up like it should. I wait for next release and test it.

Next time I burn a CD/DVD I will look at it before and after I make it. I don't burn many Data CD or DVD. I burn a few of Music CD for my Car CD player.

If you don't understand please tell me.


Jack
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2551
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Building Blocks

Post#102 by Bogomips » 05 Feb 2016, 17:03

@Jack
No need to say sorry. You made everyone interested. Now I'll be putting UDF into the initrd, as it's only one module it seems :) btw you know, you can log in as root (no PW hit Enter), and explore using Midnight Commander (mc). But just be careful. =@

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ mkdir x
guest@porteus:~$ sudo mount /mnt/sda9/porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm x
mount: warning: x seems to be mounted read-only.
guest@porteus:~$ mkdir y
guest@porteus:~$ sudo mount /mnt/sda9/porteus/base/001-core.xzm y
mount: warning: y seems to be mounted read-only.
guest@porteus:~$ diff -qr y/lib/modules/4.1.15/ x/lib/modules/4.1.15/
diff: y/lib/modules/4.1.15/build: No such file or directory
diff: x/lib/modules/4.1.15/build: No such file or directory
diff: y/lib/modules/4.1.15/source: No such file or directory
diff: x/lib/modules/4.1.15/source: No such file or directory
@roadie Thanks for heads up (in pm). Would seem to confirm supposition that they are identical. At one fell swoop some 90 MB got rid of! Another Superuser strikes!!!

@au9
Kernel modules loaded at login to darkstar:

Code: Select all

Module                  Size  Used by
ipv6                  322874  18
nls_utf8                1352  1
overlay                30198  1
vfat                   10447  0
fat                    54332  1 vfat
ext2                   63745  4
mbcache                 7115  1 ext2
reiserfs              230815  2
squashfs               32668  2
loop                   18219  6
isofs                  32862  2
Just the Modules loaded by initrd.

Kernel modules loaded at login to darkstar(porteusified following rootcopy re. Post of 3-2-16):

Code: Select all

root@darkstar:~# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
cfg80211              443381  0
rfkill                 15626  1 cfg80211
hid_generic             1161  0
nouveau              1315437  1
evdev                  11690  0
usbhid                 37803  0
hid                   102557  2 hid_generic,usbhid
ppdev                   5846  0
mxm_wmi                 1443  1 nouveau
kvm_amd                53819  0
wmi                     8259  2 mxm_wmi,nouveau
snd_hda_codec_via      13826  1
snd_hda_codec_generic    58678  1 snd_hda_codec_via
kvm                   420349  1 kvm_amd
video                  13104  1 nouveau
snd_hda_intel          22097  0
snd_hda_controller     20472  1 snd_hda_intel
ttm                    72844  1 nouveau
serio_raw               4689  0
snd_hda_codec          81582  4 snd_hda_codec_via,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
drm_kms_helper         93902  1 nouveau
drm                   272154  4 ttm,drm_kms_helper,nouveau
snd_hda_core           21053  4 snd_hda_codec_via,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_controller
agpgart                27124  2 drm,ttm
snd_hwdep               6218  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                82785  3 snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
snd_timer              19393  1 snd_pcm
ohci_pci                3176  0
snd                    60816  7 snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_hda_codec_via,snd_pcm,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
shpchp                 25618  0
k10temp                 2964  0
ohci_hcd               28860  1 ohci_pci
soundcore               5347  1 snd
forcedeth              56747  0
i2c_algo_bit            5392  1 nouveau
i2c_nforce2             5303  0
i2c_core               37899  5 drm,drm_kms_helper,i2c_algo_bit,nouveau,i2c_nforce2
ehci_pci                3903  0
ehci_hcd               43914  1 ehci_pci
acpi_cpufreq            7138  0
button                  4692  1 nouveau
processor              23895  1 acpi_cpufreq
thermal                 8855  0
fan                     3800  0
thermal_sys            27265  4 fan,video,thermal,processor
parport_pc             20026  0
parport                30421  2 ppdev,parport_pc
hwmon                   3026  3 k10temp,nouveau,thermal_sys
overlay                30198  1
vfat                   10447  0
fat                    54332  1 vfat
ext2                   63745  1
mbcache                 7115  1 ext2
reiserfs              230815  0
squashfs               32668  2
loop                   18219  4
isofs                  32862  0
Having all these modules loaded, there is good chance usb keyboard will work. :wink:
The rootcopy thru' iso modification, will be putting up in 1st Post of thread around 00:00 UTC. Going out now for Reality Check. 8)
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Building Blocks

Post#103 by Jack » 05 Feb 2016, 17:49

@Bogomips, This might be off topic.

I been using Midnight Commander for about 30 years now. I had it when I use MS-Dos 2.0. It the best tool I ever used. In fact when I put Porteus on a thumb drive from ISO that what I use is Midnight Commander.

Here how I make a bootable Porteus in Linux.

1. Open terminal in guest then type su password after in root type mc
2. Open ISO with Midnight Commander
3. Copy files to thumb drive using Midnight Commander
4. Change to boot directory on thumb drive using Midnight Commander
5. Hit F10 to quit Midnight Commander
6. At prompt in terminal type sh Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com
7. Answer question type OK and then press ENTER
8. Close all programs and shut down
9. Reboot thumb drive in to Porteus

That has work for me for years. It might not be the right way but it works.

Jack
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3164
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Building Blocks

Post#104 by Ed_P » 05 Feb 2016, 18:57

Bogomips wrote: So if iso is on disk filesystem of above mentioned types, to make life easier, please try a:

Code: Select all

set iso=/dev/sdaXy/ISOs/abSlak_030216.iso
Same results with all 3 "Starting init" then "waiting for ptest.sgn file".

Code: Select all

set ISOz=abSlak_030216.iso
 :
 :
title abSlak   1                 \n 316MB\n %ISOz%
find --set-root                       /ISOs/%ISOz%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /ISOs/%ISOz% (0xff) 
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz   from=/ISOs/%ISOz%  3 
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.img

title abSlak           2          \n 316MB\n %ISOz%
find --set-root                       /ISOs/%ISOz%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /ISOs/%ISOz% (0xff) 
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    iso=/ISOs/%ISOz%  3 
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.img

title abSlak           3         \n 316MB\n %ISOz%
find --set-root                       /ISOs/%ISOz%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /ISOs/%ISOz% (0xff) 
map --hook
root (0xff)
set iso=/dev/sda5/ISOs/abSlak_030216.iso
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz   from=/ISOs/%ISOz%  3 
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.img
-edit-

FWIW In the initrd.img file there is an empty /porteus directory that might be contributing to the problem.
Ed

aus9

Re: Building Blocks

Post#105 by aus9 » 05 Feb 2016, 22:43

well I must hasten back to my precious distro-that-can-not-be-named-here :D ......warning that was a joke! as I can name it but prefer not to.
good luck in developing

@ Bogomips
have you seen this post about the Neko initrd?
https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php ... 120#p41576

Post Reply