Building Blocks

Here is a place for your projects which are not officially supported by the Porteus Team. For example: your own kernel patched with extra features; desktops not included in the standard ISO like Gnome; base modules that are different than the standard ISO, etc...
Post Reply
Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2536
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Building Blocks

Post#61 by Bogomips » 03 Feb 2016, 15:11

@ Jack

Are you booting from CD? If not, burn iso to a CD and try booting from it.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Building Blocks

Post#62 by Jack » 03 Feb 2016, 15:35

I don't have any blank CD or DVD cause I have not use for a long time. I have to get some but when I can. I extracted your iso on a ext4 thumb drive.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2536
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Building Blocks

Post#63 by Bogomips » 03 Feb 2016, 18:46

Jack, as a last resort there is always neko's usb iso load tool, but before we go there, we can try something else first.

Go to the extracted iso on the usb, and edit porteus.cfg there. Append to every line that begins with APPEND and has initrd.img: from=/mnt/Xy/<Path to>/abSlak.iso. So, if iso is on hdd, in a directory like /isos/slak, new APPEND line would be something like:

Code: Select all

LABEL text
MENU LABEL Text mode
KERNEL vmlinuz
APPEND initrd=initrd.img 3 from=/mnt/sda1/isos/slak/abSlak.iso
TEXT HELP
    Run Porteus in text mode and
    start the command prompt only
ENDTEXT
Then try booting again, and see how it goes.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Building Blocks

Post#64 by Jack » 03 Feb 2016, 19:03

Bogomips wrote:Jack, as a last resort there is always neko's usb iso load tool, but before we go there, we can try something else first.

Go to the extracted iso on the usb, and edit porteus.cfg there. Append to every line that begins with APPEND and has initrd.img: from=/mnt/Xy/<Path to>/abSlak.iso. So, if iso is on hdd, in a directory like /isos/slak, new APPEND line would be something like:

Code: Select all

LABEL text
MENU LABEL Text mode
KERNEL vmlinuz
APPEND initrd=initrd.img 3 from=/mnt/sda1/isos/slak/abSlak.iso
TEXT HELP
    Run Porteus in text mode and
    start the command prompt only
ENDTEXT
Then try booting again, and see how it goes.
I just try it and it just rebooted my computer.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2536
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Building Blocks

Post#65 by Bogomips » 03 Feb 2016, 19:21

@Jack

4. Tools for a new ISO test

Courtesy of neko.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Building Blocks

Post#66 by Jack » 03 Feb 2016, 20:02

I try something else. What I did is I took Porteus 3.1 and remove the base modules and replace them with your. Then I booted it up with your modules and it work in text mode.

So I think your problem might be in "initrd.img". The "ptest.sgn" has 0 bytes but I don't think that's the problem.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2536
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Building Blocks

Post#67 by Bogomips » 03 Feb 2016, 20:16

Had no problem booting from a CD. So try neko's tool which will boot the iso from usb stick, and let us know. Do not have any spare usb sticks to try it out on. :(
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Building Blocks

Post#68 by Jack » 03 Feb 2016, 20:42

Well I use his tool and it didn't work same thing. I will try and some CD later today and see if it will.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2536
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Building Blocks

Post#69 by Bogomips » 03 Feb 2016, 20:51

Works fine from CD. I'll upload the corrected iso which I burnt to CD. All I can think of is that it must have been corrupted somewhere along the line.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Building Blocks

Post#70 by Jack » 03 Feb 2016, 22:25

I made a CD copy of the ISO. And when I booted it the same thing happen. You must have all the good luck cause I have no luck at all. I don't know what to do cause we are out of option I think.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2536
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Building Blocks

Post#71 by Bogomips » 03 Feb 2016, 23:25

@ Jack

ISO burnt had md5sum: 915a798e416ed0cddae8641c040d1299 abSlak_030216.iso. Don't talk about luck! Had an absolutely terrible day today with just about everything going wrong, and having a terrible head as well.

Let's keep our fingers crossed. Burn the CD, take out the usb to make sure. and select bios boot from CD, Nothing should go wrong this time. :twisted:

On the somewhat brighter side, tried again running usm, but this time without changing the /var/usm DBDIR nor the /tmp/usm for downloaded packages. As well inserted diagnostic at the download point where usm froze last time. Managed to get through all the updates except for the Slackwarepatches rep. Everything else checked out:

Code: Select all

 Starting slackware database update
Downloading: CHECKSUMS.md5 --> DLOADER=wget --passive-ftp --trust-server-names --no-check-certificate --progress=dot -O 2nd Par = /var/usm/slackware /CHECKSUMS.md5 url=http://mirrors.slackware.com/slackware//slackware64-14.1/slackware64/CHECKSUMS.md5
 DONE
Downloading: MANIFEST.bz2 --> DLOADER=wget --passive-ftp --trust-server-names --no-check-certificate --progress=dot -O 2nd Par = /var/usm/slackware /MANIFEST.bz2 url=http://mirrors.slackware.com/slackware//slackware64-14.1/slackware64/MANIFEST.bz2
 DONE
Downloading: PACKAGES.TXT --> DLOADER=wget --passive-ftp --trust-server-names --no-check-certificate --progress=dot -O 2nd Par = /var/usm/slackware /PACKAGES.TXT url=http://mirrors.slackware.com/slackware//slackware64-14.1/slackware64/PACKAGES.TXT
 DONE
Downloading: LIBS.TXT.gz --> DLOADER=wget --passive-ftp --trust-server-names --no-check-certificate --progress=dot -O 2nd Par = /var/usm/slackware /LIBS.TXT.gz
url=http://downloads.sourceforge.net/project/usm/db/slackware/x86_64/LIBS.TXT.gz
 DONE
File verification was good.
Optimizing manifest
 slackware  database updated.

 Starting slackwarepatches database update
Downloading: CHECKSUMS.md5 --> DLOADER=wget --passive-ftp --trust-server-names --no-check-certificate --progress=dot -O 2nd Par = /var/usm/slackwarepatches /CHECKSUMS.md5 url=http://mirrors.slackware.com/slackware//slackware64-14.1/patches/CHECKSUMS.md5
 DONE
Downloading: MANIFEST.bz2 --> DLOADER=wget --passive-ftp --trust-server-names --no-check-certificate --progress=dot -O 2nd Par = /var/usm/slackwarepatches /MANIFEST.bz2 url=http://mirrors.slackware.com/slackware//slackware64-14.1/patches/MANIFEST.bz2
 DONE
Downloading: PACKAGES.TXT --> DLOADER=wget --passive-ftp --trust-server-names --no-check-certificate --progress=dot -O 2nd Par = /var/usm/slackwarepatches /PACKAGES.TXT url=http://mirrors.slackware.com/slackware//slackware64-14.1/patches/PACKAGES.TXT
 DONE
Downloading: LIBS.TXT.gz --> DLOADER=wget --passive-ftp --trust-server-names --no-check-certificate --progress=dot -O 2nd Par = /var/usm/slackwarepatches /LIBS.TXT.gz url=http://downloads.sourceforge.net/project/usm/db/slackwarepatches/x86_64/LIBS.TXT.gz
 DONE
File verification was good.

gzip: /var/usm/slackwarepatches/LIBS.TXT.gz: unexpected end of file


==============================================================================
WARNING!        WARNING!        WARNING!        WARNING!        WARNING!
==============================================================================
One or more errors occurred while usm was running:

FATAL ERROR!
usm update_database 308
Could not decompress: LIBS.TXT.gz

==============================================================================
So went on to install a package and test it out:

Code: Select all

root@darkstar:~# usm -g tree

 The following items were found.
 Choose an number to confirm.
 ctrl+c to quit

1) tree-1.6.0-x86_64-1.txz
2) treeview-0.5-x86_64-1_slack.txz
#? 1

Processing:   tree-1.6.0-x86_64-1.txz

 The following packages are required.
tree-1.6.0-x86_64-1.txz [44K] [not installed]

Total size: 44 KB

 Press [r] to remove packages, [q] to quit, or enter to start downloading.

 Updates are available.
 Program update:   not required
 Database update:  available
 Please run:  usm -u all  and/or  usm -u usm
 This message can be disabled in /etc/usm/usm.conf
 ###############################
Downloading: tree-1.6.0-x86_64-1.txz --> DLOADER=wget --passive-ftp --trust-server-names --no-check-certificate --progress=dot -O 2nd Par = /tmp/usm /tree-1.6.0-x86_64-1.txz url=http://mirrors.slackware.com/slackware//slackware64-14.1/slackware64/a/tree-1.6.0-x86_64-1.txz
 DONE

Package tree-1.6.0-x86_64-1.txz installed.

root@darkstar:/# tree root
root
├── tmp64
│   ├── gettext-0.18.2.1-x86_64-2.txz
│   ├── gpm-1.20.7-x86_64-2.txz
│   └── usm-latest-0.0-noarch-1.txz
└── var64

2 directories, 3 files
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 723
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Building Blocks

Post#72 by beny » 04 Feb 2016, 00:08

hi bogomips, jack can change the initrd line in porteus.config with initrd.img instead of initrd.xz work, but for me porteus not load modules,i have put on a microsd run installer and modified the boot line with initrd.img,the boot goes well but when starting porteus no modules found,i am not shure for the next step,i have to read well the topic.

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Building Blocks

Post#73 by Jack » 04 Feb 2016, 00:32

Here is the md5sum.
Your File info
md5sum: 915a798e416ed0cddae8641c040d1299 abSlak_030216.iso

Download File info
md5sum: 915a798e416ed0cddae8641c040d1299 abSlak_030216.iso
And again it didn't work and the same thing happen. I even try it on 2 computer and I made a CD and thumb drive copy to be sure. Sorry I don't know what to tell you or how to fix it.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2536
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Building Blocks

Post#74 by Bogomips » 04 Feb 2016, 00:43

@ Jack

Remember you have to get the bios to load from CD, so at start up I have to press F9, your key might be different. Then bios asks from which drive to boot, and you select cdrom drive. After this you should get Porteus Boot screen.

@beny

Will be great if you could just try and boot the new iso abSlak_030216.iso, and see what you get. It is burnt to a CD, and for me it works.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1063
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: Building Blocks

Post#75 by Jack » 04 Feb 2016, 01:00

All my computer boot up in bios mode cause I think mind are too old for anything else. They all came with Windows Vista but been upgraded to Windows 7.

EDIT:

My boot up order is
1 CD Rom
2 USB
3 Hard Drive
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Post Reply