Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Arch based Porteus community project
Post Reply
Philip
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 63
Joined: 28 Dec 2013, 15:21
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE, Openbox
Location: England

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#61 by Philip » 11 Jan 2016, 14:29

nemesis 3.5 LXDE 32-bit

I installed nemesis to a USB memory stick formatted to ext4, plus
a swap partition, and the mouse works fine, the touchpad on my
laptop works too.

At this stage I have not tried connecting to wifi - I will test
this later.

I have found that the zram cheatcode is not working, and iptables
does not set.

Previous to installing nemesis to a ext4 filesystem, I installed it
to a FAT32 partition on USB memory, which apart from the swap
partition, I also had a xfs partition to use as a filesystem to
save the changes to. With this arrangement, nemesis had multiple
problems including the mouse and the touchpad not working.

Philip
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 63
Joined: 28 Dec 2013, 15:21
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE, Openbox
Location: England

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#62 by Philip » 11 Jan 2016, 14:43

In /boot/docs/cheatcodes.txt

There is an error for the entry:
kmap=keyboardmap

A full list of supported layouts can be found in
/etc/X11/xkb/symbols

The correct place is /usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1549
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#63 by Blaze » 11 Jan 2016, 16:05

Blaze wrote:
It's nice to have them all in the side bar, but some poeple (like me) have 19 partitions.
I have a suggestion - to show 6 partitions in this sidebar and to give priority for a flash drive (it will be good for mount and umount USB flash drives).
By default, others partitions will be in /mnt directory.
I thought again :ROFL: and brokenman, not everyone has 19 partitions and 19 partitions is not critical.
Need all partitions in this sidebar 8)
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 733
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#64 by beny » 11 Jan 2016, 21:09


beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 733
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#65 by beny » 11 Jan 2016, 22:28

hi https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/topi ... d-errors-/
well the 4.4 kernel is out i try if someone have solved the issue, recompiled on slackware first,work in progress....

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3413
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#66 by Ed_P » 12 Jan 2016, 07:16

roadie wrote:Ed_P,

So, you weren't able to start X with lxdm either?
I started lxde with 'as guest, "startx /usr/bin/startlxde".' like you said. And I still got the GDBus.Error window. I have not tried just lxdm.
your post is confusing as it looks as if the commands were run from a terminal, rather than the console.
The 'guest ~$ exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch startlxde' command was entered in console mode and it and the resulting msgs were manually typed into my posting, since I don't know how to copy a screen's output to a file in console mode.
As for consolekit, you can run "/etc/init.d consolekit restart" and hopefully it will kick in. Seems consolekit is somewhat tempermental, I had problems with it this morning.
What exactly is consolekit suppose to provide me? At this point I'm not sure what I should be looking for. I ran the restart command that specified, as sudo, it ran then I ran ck-list-sessions and got the same null response.

- edit -

Rebooted, signed on as guest, entered lxdm received msg stating only root can execute it. Tried sudo lxdm, it asked for the guest password which I entered and nothing happened. I then used the su command, entered the root password then the lxdm command and it brought up the DE and no GDBus.Error window.

And now the ck-list-sessions command produces:

Code: Select all

guest ~ $ ck-list-sessions
Session1:
	unix-user = '1000'
	realname = '(null)'
	seat = 'Seat1'
	session-type = ''
	active = TRUE
	x11-display = ''
	x11-display-device = ''
	display-device = '/dev/tty1'
	remote-host-name = ''
	is-local = TRUE
	on-since = '2016-01-12T02:22:31.502466Z'
	login-session-id = ''
Session2:
	unix-user = '1000'
	realname = '(null)'
	seat = 'Seat1'
	session-type = ''
	active = FALSE
	x11-display = ':0'
	x11-display-device = '/dev/tty1'
	display-device = '/dev/tty1'
	remote-host-name = ''
	is-local = TRUE
	on-since = '2016-01-12T02:22:31.521660Z'
	login-session-id = ''
guest ~ $ 
lxdm - a good command to know. :good:

If only the wi-fi problem were so easy. :(
Ed

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 733
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#67 by beny » 12 Jan 2016, 12:39

hi brokenman also the 4.4 kernel need this patch to compile the nvidia driver.

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 206
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 3.5...with a twist
Location: In a hayfield

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#68 by roadie » 12 Jan 2016, 17:01

Ed_P wrote:
Rebooted, signed on as guest, entered lxdm received msg stating only root can execute it. Tried sudo lxdm, it asked for the guest password which I entered and nothing happened. I then used the su command, entered the root password then the lxdm command and it brought up the DE and no GDBus.Error window.

And now the ck-list-sessions command produces:

Code: Select all

guest ~ $ ck-list-sessions
Session1:
	unix-user = '1000'
	realname = '(null)'
	seat = 'Seat1'
	session-type = ''
	active = TRUE
	x11-display = ''
	x11-display-device = ''
	display-device = '/dev/tty1'
	remote-host-name = ''
	is-local = TRUE
	on-since = '2016-01-12T02:22:31.502466Z'
	login-session-id = ''
guest ~ $ 
lxdm - a good command to know. :good:

If only the wi-fi problem were so easy. :(


You're getting there, Ed_P, at least you have consolekit running now. As for what consolekit gives you, I really don't know. This stuff is all new to me too, though it seems to be tied to dbus and one doesn't work properly without the other. I'm wondering if polkit is causing any of this too.

I had hoped that NetworkManager would be functioning with consolekit running...did you check this? I would go through the logs and possibly you might see an error.

Lxdm is a desktop manager, it gives you the place with the nice background where you can login/logout, or shutdown. When you logout from a session, you should end up at the lxdm prompt.

You should run some rc commands and see if anything has crashed....try 'rc-status -c'...'rc-status -a'...going from memory here, as I'm not running openrc....and I'm old so I forget most of this stuff.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3413
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#69 by Ed_P » 12 Jan 2016, 18:26

roadie wrote:You're getting there, Ed_P, at least you have consolekit running now. As for what consolekit gives you, I really don't know. This stuff is all new to me too, though it seems to be tied to dbus and one doesn't work properly without the other. I'm wondering if polkit is causing any of this too.
It's interesting that when booting and in console mode after signing on a guest I enter sudo lxdm I get prompted for the guest password. I enter it and end up with a guest prompt again. If I reenter sudo lxdm the DE starts, with no prompt, and I have a working mouse pointer and no error msg. Using the cheatcode exec=lxdm didn't work/help.
I had hoped that NetworkManager would be functioning with consolekit running...did you check this? I would go through the logs and possibly you might see an error.
Yes I checked but no Wi-Fi connections.

Code: Select all

guest ~ $ dmesg | grep error
[    6.750443] hp_accel: probe of HPQ6007:00 failed with error -22
[    6.757226] bluetooth hci0: Direct firmware load for intel/ibt-hw-37.8.10-fw-1.10.3.11.e.bseq failed with error -2
[    6.757276] bluetooth hci0: Direct firmware load for intel/ibt-hw-37.8.bseq failed with error -2
[    6.833337] i915 0000:00:02.0: Direct firmware load for i915/skl_dmc_ver1.bin failed with error -2
[    7.000796] iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: Direct firmware load for iwlwifi-7265D-17.ucode failed with error -2
[    7.000851] iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: Direct firmware load for iwlwifi-7265D-16.ucode failed with error -2
[    7.000898] iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: Direct firmware load for iwlwifi-7265D-15.ucode failed with error -2
[    7.000947] iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: Direct firmware load for iwlwifi-7265D-14.ucode failed with error -2
[    7.000993] iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: Direct firmware load for iwlwifi-7265D-13.ucode failed with error -2
[   58.512128] pool[2286]: segfault at e4 ip 00007f855fe26c70 sp 00007f854bffecc8 error 4 in libalpm.so.9.0.1[7f855fe10000+31000]
guest ~ $ 

guest ~ $ dmesg | grep eth
[    6.887899] r8169 0000:03:00.0 eth0: RTL8107e at 0xffffc9000069e000, b0:5a:da:a9:1b:b9, XID 14100800 IRQ 129
[    9.740801] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
[    9.814691] r8169 0000:03:00.0 eth0: link down
[    9.814776] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
[  459.489436] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
[  459.500884] r8169 0000:03:00.0 eth0: link down
[  459.500978] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
[ 1750.757633] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
[ 1750.768087] r8169 0000:03:00.0 eth0: link down
[ 1750.768165] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
guest ~ $ 
No reference to eth1.
You should run some rc commands and see if anything has crashed....try 'rc-status -c'...'rc-status -a'...going from memory here, as I'm not running openrc....
rc-status -c returned nothing. rc-status -a was more useful. It showed NetworkManager as being inactive. However if I right click on the NetworkManager taskbar icon and click on Enable Networking the icon changes to indicating Networking disabled. This latter problem due to a missing icon that aus9 picked up on a while ago.
and I'm old so I forget most of this stuff.
My doctor says being old beats the alternative. :D
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#70 by brokenman » 12 Jan 2016, 19:28

Beny, still need the source of the patch please.

lxdm is run automatically from /etc/inittab during a normal graphical boot. I am not sure what causes lxdm to quit the first time, I also experienced this, but because of the `respawn` in /etc/inittab it is started twice in any case.
lxdm also sorts out consolekit.

consolekit gives (among other things) guest the ability to shut down.

Ed_P I noticed the driver crash in your output. Have you tried blacklisting this driver? Sorry I don`t recall the history of this problem.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3413
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#71 by Ed_P » 12 Jan 2016, 20:55

brokenman wrote: consolekit gives (among other things) guest the ability to shut down.
Well, that's useful to have. :) Whenever I have had the mouse working, with or without the QDBus error, I have been able to shutdown.
Ed_P I noticed the driver crash in your output. Have you tried blacklisting this driver?
I don't recall how to do that in 3.5. I will search and try it. Thanks. :)
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3413
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#72 by Ed_P » 13 Jan 2016, 00:12

brokenman wrote:Ed_P I noticed the driver crash in your output. Have you tried blacklisting this driver? Sorry I don`t recall the history of this problem.
Ok, I have added "blacklist iwlwifi" to the Broadcom_blacklist.conf file in /etc/modprobe.d/ directory. But how do I use it? I boot from an ISO and save.dat doesn't work yet.
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#73 by brokenman » 13 Jan 2016, 00:27

Try blacklisting it at the kernel command line. So in your grub line or hit TAB at the porteus boot menu. The format is:

modprobe.blacklist=modname1,modname2,modname3

so you would enter:

Code: Select all

modprobe.blacklist=iwlwifi
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3413
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#74 by Ed_P » 13 Jan 2016, 03:58

brokenman wrote:so you would enter:

Code: Select all

modprobe.blacklist=iwlwifi
Thank you brokenman.

Unfortunately...still no Wi-Fi.

Code: Select all

guest ~ $ dmesg | grep error
[    6.870426] bluetooth hci0: Direct firmware load for intel/ibt-hw-37.8.10-fw-1.10.3.11.e.bseq failed with error -2
[    6.870457] bluetooth hci0: Direct firmware load for intel/ibt-hw-37.8.bseq failed with error -2
[    6.875353] hp_accel: probe of HPQ6007:00 failed with error -22
[    6.896773] i915 0000:00:02.0: Direct firmware load for i915/skl_dmc_ver1.bin failed with error -2
[   32.569446] pool[2269]: segfault at e4 ip 00007f93d681bc70 sp 00007f93ca9aacc8 error 4 in libalpm.so.9.0.1[7f93d6805000+31000]
guest ~ $ dmesg | grep eth
[    6.946704] r8169 0000:03:00.0 eth0: RTL8107e at 0xffffc9000069e000, b0:5a:da:a9:1b:b9, XID 14100800 IRQ 129
[    9.874301] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
[    9.941448] r8169 0000:03:00.0 eth0: link down
[    9.941537] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
guest ~ $ sudo setup-network

We trust you have received the usual lecture from the local System
Administrator. It usually boils down to these three things:

    #1) Respect the privacy of others.
    #2) Think before you type.
    #3) With great power comes great responsibility.

[sudo] password for guest: 
guest ~ $ lsmod | grep -e wifi
guest ~ $ sh /mnt/sdb1/Guest/bootdev.sh
Boot device:   /mnt/sdb1
Boot device format: "vfat" 
Boot folder:   /porteus/
Boot mode:     ISO /ISOs/porteus-nemesis-v3.5-lxde-x86_64.iso
OS:       Porteus-v3.4
ARCH:     x86_64
Kernel:   Linux porteus 4.3.3-porteus #1
Cmdline:  quiet BOOT_IMAGE=(loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/ISOs/porteus-nemesis-v3.5-lxde-x86_64.iso volume=33 reboot=cold modprobe.blacklist=iwlwifi 3
guest ~ $ 
Ed

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#75 by aus9 » 13 Jan 2016, 04:44

Ed_P

sorry to jump in, but is this the same hardware where I suggested you needed firmware and that firmware was missing?
If so, did you download and install that firmware from either of my previous links?

Post Reply