Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Arch based Porteus community project
aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#196 by aus9 » 30 Jan 2016, 11:50

Hi

In the meantime are you going to compile a one off wl module for member or make a dev 486 module so I can have a go at it?

I am not sure if member would like to try 64 bit or 686 but I assume he is now watching this thread.

datruche
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 95
Joined: 20 Sep 2015, 21:02
Distribution: Arch, Porteus-Nemesis 3.5
Location: London > . < Paris

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#197 by datruche » 30 Jan 2016, 13:37

@aus9 :beer:

@brokenman yeap, semms a pretty good example of hash-file advantage over metadata only comparison. Will run excellent 'rmlint' on both directories to check and will report. Also
- emphases the advantages of having an even very, very basic notice on how to test the alpha distro efficiently (ootherwise the spreading fuss its absence can add on our workflow) . Will see what i can do on that point;
- what else than kernel, initrd, base modules --and the 'changes' folder or .dat file ned to be replaced for swipping to the next alpha release? Note that I for example use Nemesis as my *working* OS (on one of my boxes: find the best way to test a software is to *use* real-life). Therefore formating is not an option, as I mixed /home within 'changes' and presently need this box to get my work done!

Beside it's cool to see my initial report on the lack of wireless support for this laptop since Nemesis 3.4 reaches its goal, with aus9 help on three steps :good:

A propos
- 'pman-setup' does a very; very neat job. Could be backported into Manjaro (if not already affiliated)
- What about displaying the distro's short 'Notes to start' (bare minimum to start) on gui/tty login? <--- c'mon, please !
- (-) leafpad (+) mousepad which handles history, tabs, a reloable Search & replace function.

EDIT: (-) in (+) since Nemesis 3.4.
Last edited by datruche on 30 Jan 2016, 23:37, edited 1 time in total.

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#198 by aus9 » 30 Jan 2016, 23:27

Hi

I don't want to mislead anyone here including the enthusiasm of our latest member who in another post has compiled fifth so well done datruche
Beside it's cool to see my initial report on the lack of wireless support for this laptop in Nemesis 3.4 reaches its goal, with aus9 help on three steps
That quote looks like I might be offering support for v 3.4 and I want to correct any impression on that without edit of that above post. At the risk of appearing captain grumpy (again) :D
I do not support any older version of Nemesis in my tutorials nor do I try to help people with older versions. IMHO it goes against the concept of getting to a stable release of Nemesis.

brokenman I am sure is a nicer person than me and he may well offer such support.

@datruche
Since brokenman may be tied up with other matters, and you have displayed exceptional skills to compile fifth where I gave up, can I suggest you on Nemesis 486 consider using pman or pacman to install the build environment tools to compile a kernel module....you know the usual suspects of gcc make etc

it appears on 486 you could try this as root (pman or pacman).....or try the gui package manager----on 64 bit base-devel does not appear for gui search

Code: Select all

pacman -S base-devel
I don't think you need to worry about any patches to build the wl module AFAIK subject to others to comment on so have a gander at
http://www.broadcom.com/docs/linux_sta/ ... 23.271.txt
and you probably want the top download
http://www.broadcom.com/support/802.11

good luck

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#199 by aus9 » 30 Jan 2016, 23:30

- (-) leafpad (+) mousepad which handles history, tabs, a reloable Search & replace function.
The window manager distro is called LXDE so it comes with leafpad not mousepad. mousepad is an XFCE package but you can simply install it on Nemesis
as root, pman or pacman or gui package manager

Code: Select all

pacman -S mousepad

datruche
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 95
Joined: 20 Sep 2015, 21:02
Distribution: Arch, Porteus-Nemesis 3.5
Location: London > . < Paris

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#200 by datruche » 30 Jan 2016, 23:50

Well, Porteus Lxde comes with mousepad and that was a good choice for the user.
Btw on Nemesis you *can* install with pacman but to keep the modularity/freedom of choice you better use

Code: Select all

pman -S <software>
That quote looks like I might be offering support for v 3.4 and I want to correct any impression on that without edit of that post. At the risk of appearing captain grumpy (again) :D
^^ Yeah, and without your direction I may still be posting on the 'Future of Porteus', still ignorant of the right sub-sub-forum in Porteus forum » scroll scroll » Derivatives » scroll » Porteus Nemesis (other distros I know put their testing forum well in view for a good reason, unless of course devs/commercials are ashamed of their alpha efforts). Thanks Captain, edited my post.

Will see what & when I can rebuild the kernel.

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#201 by aus9 » 31 Jan 2016, 02:24

Therefore formating is not an option, as I mixed /home within 'changes' and presently need this box to get my work done!
I am not sure that is a attempted bug report or just an observation? If so, why not use your file manager to navigate to your changed dir and copy various files or directories to somewhere safe and then re-format, if you need to.

I am aware that you have another post about upgrading and maybe I am reading you wrong. What I do is not quite Official but I have grub legacy in PBR and the grub legacy files I leave untouched except the bootloader menu. If I need to upgrade I download the iso or module .....unpack the iso....copy some files and I may need to update my bootloader menu.

I am also perverted and always attempt to abbreviate any common file like vmlinuz to just v.

I don't use syslinux bootloader so not sure if the same method can work.

datruche
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 95
Joined: 20 Sep 2015, 21:02
Distribution: Arch, Porteus-Nemesis 3.5
Location: London > . < Paris

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#202 by datruche » 31 Jan 2016, 03:17

capt... aus9, do you mean something like this:
The following can be done from your live system

Code: Select all

0. john@porteus-3.N $ mount -o loop nemesis lxde v3.N+1 iso
1. replace any $MODDIR base modules with v3.5's,
   copy the new initrd.xz + kernel to $BOOTDEV/boot/syslinux/ && update your Syslinux or Grub boot menu file
2. update the config files as per the v3.5 ones
3. reboot with v3.5 xinitrd.xz    # one and only reboot
4. update the system
?

Yes syslinux workflow's totaly similar to grub's (the good old one not that oil factory they called the same name).

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#203 by aus9 » 31 Jan 2016, 07:07

simlar but that won't be enough for updates. Its safer to make backups of some files and delete changes dir and let it start again. That is because there was a major change 3.4 to 3.5 but I am sure you already know that. I prefer to start with a clean porteus dir and a clean changes dir, that way I have no gremlins.

but I have independent copies of any home dir files as well.

ingosia
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 27 Jan 2016, 22:46
Distribution: Nemesis 3.5, Mint 17.2 Xfce
Location: Slovakia

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#204 by ingosia » 31 Jan 2016, 11:07

My hardware buttons for display brightness adjustment does not work, but it does in Porteus 3.1 (Mate, also Xfce). I have no clue if this is Ach related or not. As I said it is LED display that i use, not LCD one. What can I do please?
brokenman wrote: Let's start with the model of the monitor.
@brokenman, here is HW info:

Code: Select all

hwinfo --short
cpu:                                                            
                       Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3337U CPU @ 1.80GHz, 955 MHz
                       Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3337U CPU @ 1.80GHz, 996 MHz
                       Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3337U CPU @ 1.80GHz, 997 MHz
                       Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3337U CPU @ 1.80GHz, 1000 MHz
keyboard:
  /dev/input/event3    AT Translated Set 2 keyboard
mouse:
  /dev/input/mice      SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad
graphics card:
                       Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller
sound:
                       Intel 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller
storage:
                       Intel 7 Series Chipset Family 6-port SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
network:
  eth0                 Intel 82579V Gigabit Network Connection
  wlan0                Intel Centrino Wireless-N 2230 BGN
modem:
  /dev/ttyACM0         Toshiba H5321 gw
network interface:
  wwan0                Ethernet network interface
  wlan0                WLAN network interface
  eth0                 Ethernet network interface
  lo                   Loopback network interface
disk:
  /dev/sda             TOSHIBA THNSNF12
  /dev/sdb             Kingston DataTraveler 2.0
  /dev/mmcblk0         Disk
partition:
  /dev/sda1            Partition
  /dev/sda2            Partition
  /dev/sda3            Partition
  /dev/sda4            Partition
  /dev/sdb1            Partition
  /dev/sdb2            Partition
  /dev/mmcblk0p1       Partition
usb controller:
                       Intel 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family USB xHCI Host Controller
                       Intel 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #2
                       Intel 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1
bios:
                       BIOS
bridge:
                       Intel 3rd Gen Core processor DRAM Controller
                       Intel 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1
                       Intel 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 3
                       Intel HM76 Express Chipset LPC Controller
hub:
                       Linux 4.3.3-porteus ehci_hcd EHCI Host Controller
                       Hub
                       Linux 4.3.3-porteus ehci_hcd EHCI Host Controller
                       Hub
                       Linux 4.3.3-porteus xhci-hcd xHCI Host Controller
                       Linux 4.3.3-porteus xhci-hcd xHCI Host Controller
memory:
                       Main Memory
bluetooth:
                       Bluetooth Device
unknown:
                       FPU
                       DMA controller
                       PIC
                       Keyboard controller
                       PS/2 Controller
                       Intel 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1
                       Ricoh PCIe SDXC/MMC Host Controller
                       Unclassified device
                       Unclassified device
                       Unclassified device
                       Unclassified device
                       Unclassified device
                       Unclassified device
                       Unclassified device
                       Unclassified device
  /dev/input/event5    Chicony Electronics TOSHIBA Web Camera - HD
                       AuthenTec Fingerprint Sensor
                       Toshiba H5321 gw
Can You find usefull information rom it?
If not, please guide me a liitle bit. :D

Thanks

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#205 by aus9 » 31 Jan 2016, 12:56

Ingosia

1) I assume the download of the abiword is working for you OK?

2) I can't see any make or model in your output, can't you find that info by looking at the sticker or marks on your monitor please?

3) Are you doing a twinview such as a laptop with its monitor and a cable to this LED monitor?

ingosia
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 27 Jan 2016, 22:46
Distribution: Nemesis 3.5, Mint 17.2 Xfce
Location: Slovakia

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#206 by ingosia » 31 Jan 2016, 16:42

aus9 wrote:
1) I assume the download of the abiword is working for you OK?

2) I can't see any make or model in your output, can't you find that info by looking at the sticker or marks on your monitor please?

3) Are you doing a twinview such as a laptop with its monitor and a cable to this LED monitor?

1/ No aus9, I got this return from intallation window:
package architecture is not valid:
package abiword-gtk2-3.0.1-2-x86_64 does not have a valid architecture
But I downloaded the version 3.0.1.1 gtk2 and that one works well, no flickering.

2/ Same in my case. :lol: , my stickers are gone already so only thing I know is that this laptop display is from TOSHIBA, 13,3 inches LED technology.
There is possibility to adjust display brightness directly by keyboard hot keys, these work in 3.1 but not in Nemesis 3.5.
BTW what is GUI software for control/adjust display brightness in lxde please?

3/ This monitor is laptop incorporated, no external display is used. Sorry for not precise information.

thx

ingosia
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 27 Jan 2016, 22:46
Distribution: Nemesis 3.5, Mint 17.2 Xfce
Location: Slovakia

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#207 by ingosia » 31 Jan 2016, 17:11

Guys, I just solved hot keys by my own with a litte help from omnio:

http://www.pclinuxos.com/forum/index.php?topic=127998.0

Bye!

datruche
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 95
Joined: 20 Sep 2015, 21:02
Distribution: Arch, Porteus-Nemesis 3.5
Location: London > . < Paris

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#208 by datruche » 31 Jan 2016, 20:02

@ingosia Woosh I didn't realise getting the monitor spec was unset like this.
A trail
EDIT: Ah glad you found it.

Bug report
---------------
/var/log/rc.log

Code: Select all

prelogin         |/etc/init.d/prelogin: line 51: setxbmap: command not found
It's setxkbmap. No consequences that I could test atm.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5542
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#209 by brokenman » 31 Jan 2016, 21:06

Nice catch. Fixed in my local tree. Thanks.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

rchase
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 158
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 xfce x64
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#210 by rchase » 01 Feb 2016, 02:46

On my Kangaroo (Atom XZ-8500), 64-bit Nemesis 3.5 boots to the desktop, but the graphical cursor can't be seen. When I boot to text mode and issue "startx", I get the GDBus error described by Ed P. but the desktop appears and Wi-Fi is working. In the error box and all the GUI's text labels, certain letters are invisible ("b", "c", "m", and "U", e.g.). Suggestions?

Post Reply