Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Arch based Porteus community project
aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#106 by aus9 » 16 Jan 2016, 23:57

Hi

until you get a better reply from brokenman
I have found that Nemesis does not always create a module
I believe setup-pman is a specific script but general pman commands are affected by your config in /config/modules
htop
this is a terminal command....forgive me as I know you already know this
can you open a terminal and show the output of

Code: Select all

ls -al /usr/bin/htop
htop
its possible that you attempted to install from the mirrors a package like abiword and just got the timing wrong and some dependency was not there but may be there now. If you think this point might be true can you retry it.

I assume you prefix your commands with sudo? Or do you nearly always login as root?

eg sudo pman -S <packagename

tuxfriend
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 09 Jan 2016, 01:48
Distribution: Linux Mint
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#107 by tuxfriend » 17 Jan 2016, 10:15

In the same vein: When startet, Porteus loads modules, but not all of them. And even when loaded, not all modules are activated - you need to activate them manually. That's what I experienced e.g. using Blender.

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#108 by aus9 » 17 Jan 2016, 10:22

@ tuxfriend

thanks for that info can you expand on it so brokenman can try and duplicate it.

1) have you made any changes to your /config/modules and if so can you list them here please.
2) Is blender a combined/merged module or is blender and any of its dependences all sitting in the same dir of porteus/modules

---are you aware that only modules sitting in porteus/modules will load on reboot?
-- are you aware that any modules not in modules dir need a cheatcode to load them at boot?

3) Is it possible that at some point in time....you made a merged module for blender and then ran some kind of update that resulting in new dependencies updated?

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#109 by brokenman » 17 Jan 2016, 16:14

I can't reproduce it.

Please show a list of files that you have in both: (sdXy is your installation partition)
/mnt/sdXy/porteus/base
/mnt/sdXy/porteus/modules
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 720
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#110 by beny » 17 Jan 2016, 22:42


User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 787
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#111 by ncmprhnsbl » 18 Jan 2016, 09:01

RE Blender

Code: Select all

guest ~ $ blender
connect failed: No such file or directory
AL lib: (EE) UpdateDeviceParams: Failed to set 44100hz, got 48000hz instead
/build/blender/src/blender-2.76.b/intern/ghost/intern/GHOST_WindowX11.cpp:177: X11 glXQueryVersion() failed, verify working openGL system!
initial window could not find the GLX extension
Writing: /tmp/blender.crash.txt
Segmentation fault
related to glx errors..
as per posting.php?mode=reply&f=137&t=5382#pr41039
mhwd-gpu --setgl mesa
and restart xserver should fix it..
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

tuxfriend
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 09 Jan 2016, 01:48
Distribution: Linux Mint
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#112 by tuxfriend » 18 Jan 2016, 10:02

@ncmprhnsbl: That explains it. Thank you! Your suggestion regarding MIME ('update-cache') I'll apply, too. Thank you! :good:

@aus9 and brokenman: I'll have to leave for work, but after coming back I'll do it fresh and explain what's going wrong. Is there a certain way to put the modules, e.g. libraries before or after applications or does it make no difference? Oh, and thank you as well for your patience. :friends:

EDIT: Ah, there's a newer bigger KDE version of 3.5 available for download. I think I'll start with that. :Yahoo!:

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#113 by brokenman » 18 Jan 2016, 10:28

It makes no difference which order you use ... but only .xzm modules can be loaded. KDE has a few bugs as I mentioned in the release notes but I use it every day without any major problem.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#114 by aus9 » 18 Jan 2016, 10:48

I am still unable to fix my glxgears or glxinfo from booting up with a NO changes cheatcode.
The error lies with me for failing to document all the changes I made with a changes cheatcode.
I shall live in shame for the rest of my life :D :D

In /etc/init.d/ there is no openrc init for lxdm
/etc/lxdm exists but I can't see how to shut it down and restart it without a reboot.
---reboot is of course an option for those starting with a changes cheatcode but I feel the need to get this right without it.

at this stage I have made multiple attempts so if any one can spot the obvious please say so.

thanks in advance

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#115 by aus9 » 18 Jan 2016, 10:51

@ncmprhnsbl

Your link does not work for me, it sends me to a login page. but hovering over my own post I think you are alluding to my earlier claim of resolving the glxinfo or glxgears error.

If you have solved this from a clean install or especially from a no changes cheatcode feel free to enlightenment as my brain hurtz

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 787
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#116 by ncmprhnsbl » 18 Jan 2016, 21:37

@aus9
link fixed..
am working with no changes (except for various modules) and a custom openbox setup.. tho am using lxdm..
less than systematic in my approach... i did at one stage reinstall mesa... i'll redo with a standard setup..
/etc/lxdm exists but I can't see how to shut it down and restart it without a reboot.
this puzzled me for a while then i just 'killall xorg' bit rough but worked...
a better way might be in /etc/lxdm/lxdm.conf : (havnt tried yet)
# uncoment this if you want reset the xserver after logou(t)
# reset=1
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#117 by aus9 » 19 Jan 2016, 00:39

@ncmprhnsbl and any interested users

reset=1 was done
then with a changes cheatcode as I am impatient... :D
sudo killall Xorg takes me to prompt

Do nothing and for me in about eleven seconds I regain the lxdm (login) screen

thanks heaps

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 787
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#118 by ncmprhnsbl » 19 Jan 2016, 02:25

just to confirm wyak:
okay reset bit in lxdm.conf doesnt seem to have the desired effect...
did:
booted to lxde (with 1 update module)
checked that glxgears didnt work
did #mhwd-gpu --mesa
killall Xorg (@anyone feel free to offer a better/correct way)
log back in
glxgears > works
activate blender > works

possible bug--
update-cache script doesnt save /usr/share/applications/mimeinfo.cache to caches.xzm..
mimeinfo.cache is created by update-desktop-database
and is why pcmanfm(and others) dont know what to use..(pretty sure)
otherwise maybe run update-desktop-database at startup...
also /usr/share/mime seems short of a few files..(compared to p_cache output)
(doesnt seem to affect pcmanfm but spacefm crashes without them(need to test this more))
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#119 by aus9 » 19 Jan 2016, 04:02

@ncmprhnsbl

OK I just logged in to a no changes cheatcode as per

Code: Select all

cat /proc/cmdline
quiet root=LABEL=p3
Literally meaning no mention of changes in the boot menu action line

2) steps to duplicate

a) No change to /etc/lxdm/lxdm.conf meaning the entry must remain as is ...the line remains
# reset=1

Obtain root powers...I log in as guest some login as root...guest users try

Code: Select all

sudo su
(input password)
mhwd-gpu --setgl mesa
killall Xorg
Takes you to lxdm login prompt and login as guest or root
glxgears works
glxinfo works

Thanks heaps cheers and WOO HOO....I will fix up my vlc tutorial later

Don't forget if you have ATI video chipset you may need to swap from mesa to catalyst in the second last command

As this may affect multiple users and maybe later versions of Nemesis I am tempted to start a new thread in Nemesis for members to consider.
with credit to you-know-who

aus9

Re: Porteus Nemesis v3.5 BUG REPORTS

Post#120 by aus9 » 19 Jan 2016, 08:56

(mod action) copy post from v 3.4 to here as bugs against 3.4 are unlikely to be addressed

rchase writes
On my Kangaroo (with an Atom X5-Z8500), in both 3.4 and 3.5 (lxde), Nemesis boots to the desktop and my mouse seems to work properly -- except that the graphical cursor is invisible.

Post Reply