New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#16 by Bogomips » 28 Dec 2015, 20:28

e.g.

Code: Select all

    guest@porteus:~$ dmesg|grep command
    [    0.000000] Kernel command line: quiet copy2ram ramsize=30% noauto timezone=Europe/London volume=60% noload=kde norootcopy 3
Text Mode
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 205
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 3.5...with a twist
Location: In a hayfield

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#17 by roadie » 28 Dec 2015, 20:32

Ed_P wrote:
Bogomips wrote:^ 3 8)
??

So I tried noload=LXQT and then base-only and in each case I got a screen worth of msgs ending with a Signon prompt and 1 sec later a blank screen. I tried entering a string of characters to the prompt hoping I would get a error and the screen wouldn't blank but that didn't work.

:wall:
Ed_P,

It's not "base-only"...it's "base_only"....no quotes....and you should be using it to diagnose....no other modules at all.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#18 by Ed_P » 29 Dec 2015, 00:16

roadie wrote:It's not "base-only"...it's "base_only"....no quotes....and you should be using it to diagnose....no other modules at all.
Thanks roadie. Whether I use base_only or noload=3 the screen goes blank after the signon prompt appears. :x
Ed

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 205
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 3.5...with a twist
Location: In a hayfield

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#19 by roadie » 29 Dec 2015, 01:09

Ed_P wrote:
roadie wrote:It's not "base-only"...it's "base_only"....no quotes....and you should be using it to diagnose....no other modules at all.
Thanks roadie. Whether I use base_only or noload=3 the screen goes blank after the signon prompt appears. :x
Are you able to get another tty with CTRL-ALT-F2...or F3?

The "noload=3" is new to me....as bogomips has said, adding a 3 to the end of your kernel line may boot to text mode.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#20 by Ed_P » 29 Dec 2015, 05:08

roadie wrote:Are you able to get another tty with CTRL-ALT-F2...or F3?
I wasn't aware of that sequence but will certainly try it. Thanks roadie.
as bogomips has said, adding a 3 to the end of your kernel line may boot to text mode.
:shock: That's not what he said initially. And I just now see his follow up. :oops: noload=3 was my interpretation of his original posting. :sorry:

:wall:
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#21 by Ed_P » 29 Dec 2015, 05:51

UP 3.1 LXQT with the 3 parm works!! :Yahoo!:

The screen stops at the signon prompt. :good: I see no error msgs or flags on the screen. I am able to sign on and to use mc, which reminds me an awful lot of a favorite DOS app named PC Valet. I tried to view a file or two with it but F3 didn't show it. F1 worked though.

Progress, finally.

And here I am on the new laptop back in Windows reporting it.
Ed

kalo86
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 18:04
Location: Italy

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#22 by kalo86 » 29 Dec 2015, 14:06

Hello, I have a great news!
I managed to upgrade manually every package which is inside the xorg module and Porteus v3.1 x86_64 now boots fine on my new machine with 6th gen processor.
To be sure I also tried booting on an older Intel Core i7 3th generation and it's really good.
As soon as possible I will make an updated ISO file and I will share the link somewhere.
Porteus rocks! :D :Yahoo!:

Best regards,

kalo86

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#23 by Ed_P » 29 Dec 2015, 14:27

:) :good:

What kernel are you using with it kalo86?
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#24 by Ed_P » 29 Dec 2015, 18:25

brokenman wrote:Specs of new machine would also help to troubleshoot.
Agreed. The HP Pavilion's psinfo file.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B1Uj3O ... sp=sharing
Ed

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 205
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 3.5...with a twist
Location: In a hayfield

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#25 by roadie » 29 Dec 2015, 18:45

Ed_P wrote:UP 3.1 LXQT with the 3 parm works!! :Yahoo!:

The screen stops at the signon prompt. :good: I see no error msgs or flags on the screen. I am able to sign on and to use mc, which reminds me an awful lot of a favorite DOS app named PC Valet. I tried to view a file or two with it but F3 didn't show it. F1 worked though.

Progress, finally.

And here I am on the new laptop back in Windows reporting it.

Thats great news Ed_P.....you're gonna love MC, it's very handy to have in a console. Now, F3 should open a file for viewing, F4 will allow editing. You should be able to view /var/log/Xorg.0.log and possibly see why it's not running X.

While you're in the console, run some commands, you might get some info.....dmesg is good....ifconfig...I'm kinda confused as to what Porteus you're running.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#26 by Ed_P » 29 Dec 2015, 19:47

roadie wrote:Now, F3 should open a file for viewing, F4 will allow editing. You should be able to view /var/log/Xorg.0.log and possibly see why it's not running X.
I pressed F3 & F4 the file didn't open. not sure which files at this point.
I'm kinda confused as to what Porteus you're running.
I'm running Porteus 3.1 LXQT with a 4.3 kernel update.
Ed

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 205
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 3.5...with a twist
Location: In a hayfield

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#27 by roadie » 29 Dec 2015, 20:26

Ed_P wrote:
roadie wrote:Now, F3 should open a file for viewing, F4 will allow editing. You should be able to view /var/log/Xorg.0.log and possibly see why it's not running X.
I pressed F3 & F4 the file didn't open. not sure which files at this point.
I'm kinda confused as to what Porteus you're running.
I'm running Porteus 3.1 LXQT with a 4.3 kernel update.
Not sure why MC isn't working as usual.....you're using the F3 function key, right? Not a cap F and 3

You can also run "cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | less" and scroll through it and hit "q" to get out.

kalo86
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 18:04
Location: Italy

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#28 by kalo86 » 30 Dec 2015, 02:52

Ed_P wrote::) :good:

What kernel are you using with it kalo86?
Linux-4.3.3 by neko (upkernel tool)

aus9

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#29 by aus9 » 30 Dec 2015, 05:03

there seems to be a little glitch in then NEW intel graphics and suggest you reboot and remove 3 as a cheatcode, keep the xorg module and try this new kernel parameter=cheatcode
i915.preliminary_hw_support=1
reference
http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=a ... -530&num=1

if that fails it might need firmware?

@brokenman may need to look at this link?
https://01.org/linuxgraphics/intel-linu ... -firmwares

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#30 by Ed_P » 30 Dec 2015, 06:47

aus9 wrote:there seems to be a little glitch in then NEW intel graphics and suggest you reboot and remove 3 as a cheatcode, keep the xorg module and try this new kernel parameter=cheatcode
i915.preliminary_hw_support=1
Thanks aus9. :friends:

I replaced the 3 with the i915 string, rebooted with the 4.3 kernel and the screen filled with msgs like before and blanked after it reached the signon prompt.

The string may need to be embedded in the kernel somehow rather than used as a cheatcode. :(
Ed

Post Reply