New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#1 by Ed_P » 26 Dec 2015, 05:21

So, for Christmas I received a new 13.3" screen laptop. :Yahoo!: 4 GB of RAM, etc., etc. But it doesn't boot my multi-boot Portues flash drive!!! :shock: :bad:

My multi-boot drive booted Porteus on BIOS and UEFI machines (https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php ... 638#p33604) and ISOs via Grub2 and worked fine on the various netbooks I have and support and shocked at the result on the new HP Pavilion laptop.

Booting using the Porteus rEFInd menu item shows rEFInd invoking the command string and then the system stalls there. Nothing added to the screen. C+A+D reboots.

Booting using the rEFInd/Grub2 menu results in the Grub2 menu showing the various menu items. and whether I select the 3.0.1 Porteus or the 3.1 ones the system starts to boot and then goes blank and stalls. C+A+D reboots.

I've rebooted the EFI Secure Boot option so I know that's not the problem.

Suggestions. Other than return it.
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#2 by Bogomips » 26 Dec 2015, 12:45

Image Upgrade the kernel? See neko's in Community Effort. Going quite a while now with 4.2.5, but you might be needing a 4.3.x kernel, if my reading serves me right.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#3 by Ed_P » 26 Dec 2015, 13:49

Thanks Bogomips. Hopefully that works.

I tried booting Porteus 3.4 and it did boot but the mouse touchpad didn't. I tried Porteus 3.3 and it booted also and the touchpad mouse worked. So the kernel update suggestion definitely sounds promising.

I was definitely shocked when my Porteus wouldn't boot on the new machine.
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#4 by Ed_P » 27 Dec 2015, 14:23

:( Tried 3.1 with an updated 4.2.8 kernel and it still yields the blank screen after starting the Porteus boot. :sorry:

I suspect I need a driver but don't know how to determine which one or where or how or ..... :(
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#5 by Bogomips » 27 Dec 2015, 14:49

^ Thought had mentioned a 4.3 kernel was needed. :roll:
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#6 by Ed_P » 27 Dec 2015, 15:46

Bogomips wrote:^ Thought had mentioned a 4.3 kernel was needed. :roll:
Ability to follow directions: -C

I didn't realize there was more than 1 version 4 kernel and took the 1st one. :sorry: Will retry later. :)

Thanks.
Ed

User avatar
Slaxmax
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 403
Joined: 03 Jan 2013, 09:51
Distribution: KDE4
Location: Campinas Brazil https://goo.gl/yrxwKi

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#7 by Slaxmax » 27 Dec 2015, 17:09

boot without X
and see dmesg output
“DNA is like a computer program but far, far more advanced than any software ever created.”
― Bill Gates, The Road Ahead

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#8 by brokenman » 27 Dec 2015, 18:13

Specs of new machine would also help to troubleshoot.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#9 by Ed_P » 28 Dec 2015, 00:53

It's an HP Pavilion x360 Convertible 13-s120nr.
Ed

kalo86
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 18:04
Location: Italy

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#10 by kalo86 » 28 Dec 2015, 02:24

Hi, I have a similar new machine (HP Spectre x360 convertible) with 6th generation i5 processor.
I am able to boot only Porteus-Nemesis v3.3. On Porteus-Nemesis v3.4 I don't have a working mouse, so I decided to stay with v3.3.
I think that Porteus v3.1 does not require only a newer kernel, but also a new xorg module due to the new integrated graphic card (Nemesis v3.3 brings a new xorg module and it boots fine). I also tried the most recent kernel upgrade with the neko's tool in Porteus v3.1 but this did not help. So, the main issue is related to the X server and graphic driver in Porteus v3.1.
The only way to boot Porteus v3.1 is to remove the xorg module from /base folder and boot in text mode. But I don't know what is the right procedure to get a new set of packages to create a new container-module xorg...
If this can help, I can share my tentaives on upgrading the content of xorg module: with the slackyd tool I tried to upgrade all packages to slackware64-current branch but this did not help me.
The only way is to wait someone who is able to make a new xorg module or a new stable Porteus version.
Brokenman is doing an amazing work with Porteus-Nemesis, a modular distro based on Arch but with the same criteria of Porteus. The change is not immediate but now I feel familiar with the new Arch system.
Regards,

kalo86

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#11 by Ed_P » 28 Dec 2015, 04:01

Slaxmax wrote:boot without X
and see dmesg output
Thank Slaxmax but the screen goes blank as soon as the grub2

Code: Select all

     echo "Loading Linux" 
     linux (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$iso extramod="$linux_drv/Modules;$linux_drv/modsavedat" volume=33 reboot=cold
 
line is executed.
kalo86 wrote:Hi, I have a similar new machine (HP Spectre x360 convertible) with 6th generation i5 processor.
I am able to boot only Porteus-Nemesis v3.3. On Porteus-Nemesis v3.4 I don't have a working mouse, so I decided to stay with v3.3.
Yes, me too.
I think that Porteus v3.1 does not require only a newer kernel, but also a new xorg module due to the new integrated graphic card (Nemesis v3.3 brings a new xorg module and it boots fine). I also tried the most recent kernel upgrade with the neko's tool in Porteus v3.1 but this did not help.
That's what I'm trying to do now. Did you use the upkernel4.3 command?
So, the main issue is related to the X server and graphic driver in Porteus v3.1.
The only way to boot Porteus v3.1 is to remove the xorg module from /base folder and boot in text mode. But I don't know what is the right procedure to get a new set of packages to create a new container-module xorg...
If this is the case then the Porteus I know is dying. brokenman can't support two versions, he's alone at this point.
Ed

kalo86
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 133
Joined: 28 Mar 2011, 18:04
Location: Italy

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#12 by kalo86 » 28 Dec 2015, 07:37

Ed_P wrote:Did you use the upkernel4.3 command?
Yes, I tried different kernels but no ways.
I think you should have to try Porteus Nemesis because the "old" Porteus v3.1 will not be upgraded.
Regards,

kalo86

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#13 by Ed_P » 28 Dec 2015, 16:59

Slaxmax what cheatcode do I use to "boot without X"? I read thru all of them on http://www.porteus.org/component/conten ... -them.html but didn't pickup on one that would do that.

I ask because I changed my boot's vmlinuz line to drop the extramod= cheatcode and I did see the ISO boot lines briefly when I rebooted.

-edit-

noload= :good:
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#14 by Bogomips » 28 Dec 2015, 17:48

^ 3 8)
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3058
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: New laptop- yeah. porteus doesn't boot - blah

Post#15 by Ed_P » 28 Dec 2015, 19:26

Bogomips wrote:^ 3 8)
??

So I tried noload=LXQT and then base-only and in each case I got a screen worth of msgs ending with a Signon prompt and 1 sec later a blank screen. I tried entering a string of characters to the prompt hoping I would get a error and the screen wouldn't blank but that didn't work.

:wall:
Ed

Post Reply