Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#31 by fanthom » 29 May 2011, 19:56

@Blaze
1) Xorg looks fine. is it the same in 64bit version? nvidia binary working for you?
i'm out of clues why nouveau could work after 1 min....
2) brokenman will decide about wallpaper for 1.0 FINAL (ufff....)
3) thanks for kwrite tip - will check it.

@feng
1) "the script prompt me that password file passwd.xzm was in /home/guest/Desktop, and it has to be move to /etc
actually, i couldnt find out that one "
thanks for bug report - will fix it asap.
2) will remove /tmp/passwd$$ folder - thanks.

@andre5775
welcome back :)
your booting problem is caused by my bad assumption. i thought that all i586 CPU's are PAE capable :oops:
@brokenman - i think you will have to go back to i486 so.
please use kernel from rc-1 for now as suggested by crashman.

@Syntux Hamza
LST will be updated for FINAL by brokenman (32bit) and me (64bit). you must be patient until then.

Good stuff guys.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

crashman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 118
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:03
Location: Poland

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#32 by crashman » 29 May 2011, 20:06

@Hamza and @ Ahau
thanks a lot - i need config for enable KVM for Qemu !

@fathom
fanthom wrote: @andre5775
your booting problem is caused by my bad assumption. i thought that all i586 CPU's are PAE capable :oops:
I use the same hardware configuration intel celeron M 1400Mhz (pentium III) and 1 GB memory and no have problems :%)

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#33 by Ahau » 29 May 2011, 20:36

@crashman, it might be that the kernel doesn't try to activate PAE unless you have over 3GB of RAM. Or, maybe it is an issue with different motherboard. strange...
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
82issa
DOC Team
DOC Team
Posts: 127
Joined: 13 Apr 2011, 17:24
Location: USA, NC

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#34 by 82issa » 30 May 2011, 09:54

Love it. Looks wonderful, everything worked except the wirless network, driver wasn't included thats fine tho. Also my number one key and right arrow key don't work. Wait a minute that is from spilling fluids onto my netbook not porteus related. That is what happens when you leave windows "xp" open so close to the keyboard. Anyways awsome job guys. One thing that I don't aprove of to much, firefox comes with add-ons by default. I would prefer empty and let users select the add-ons they want. The flashplayer lib is fine there is to much flash content out there on the internet.
Sorry guys... I got to go. My girlfriend just casted "get your dirty ass into the shower" on me.
Oh and here is some naked grandpa pictures too.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1352
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#35 by Blaze » 30 May 2011, 11:51

Xorg looks fine. is it the same in 64bit version? nvidia binary working for you?
In 64 bit all works fine :good:

Before I had this error:
Failed to open VDPAU backend libvdpau_nvidia.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
I found this library (/usr/lib/libvdpau_nvidia.so) in the module nvidia driver270.41.19 porteusv1 rc2 i486.xzm

With nvidia driver270.41.19 porteusv1 rc2 i486.xzm from beny - all work fine for me :)
This is my Xorg.0.log (i used nvidia driver270.41.19 porteusv1 rc2 i486.xzm)
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#36 by Hamza » 30 May 2011, 14:45

That's fine! We can add the beny's driver to Porteus as a native component ?
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#37 by fanthom » 30 May 2011, 15:17

@crashman
KVM is enabled in kernel by default:

Code: Select all

grep kvm /lib/modules/2.6.38.7-porteus/modules.dep
kernel/arch/x86/kvm/kvm.ko:
kernel/arch/x86/kvm/kvm-intel.ko: kernel/arch/x86/kvm/kvm.ko
kernel/arch/x86/kvm/kvm-amd.ko: kernel/arch/x86/kvm/kvm.ko
try to modprobe these.

@82issa
broadcom-sta is provided with rc2 000-kernel.xzm by default. try "modprobe wl".

@all - should we remove addons from firefox?
personally i find flashblock very useful, flashgot is also ok : )

@Blaze
1) 32bit rx2 has latest xf86-video-vouveau driver while 64bit has older one. please try to remaster 002-xorg and replace current nouveau driver with this one:
http://ftp.heanet.ie/mirrors/ftp.slackw ... i486-1.txz
2) "Failed to open VDPAU backend libvdpau_nvidia.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory"
this message comes from Mplayer which tries to use nvidia binary (even on intel and amd) for video playback with vdpau as backend. it does not harm anything and is not connected with your black screen issue.

@Hamza
Mplayer needs hardware capable of Vdpau playback. one lib does not change it....

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#38 by Ahau » 30 May 2011, 16:33

I find flashblock to be particularly useful, especially for those who might be connecting over dial-up.

I see two options to increase flexibility--
1) make modules out of the addons, so users could delete them easily (or ship without them and make them available on the repo)

2) create entries for them in /var/log/packages (if they aren't there already), with all of the related files. Any user who does not want them installed could then run extpkg on the firefox module and remove either or both addons, and I could add instructions to do this in the FAQ. (I would prefer this over option 1)

Or...we could just leave it the way it is. lol.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

Seq_Res
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 51
Joined: 17 Jan 2011, 02:07
Location: China

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#39 by Seq_Res » 31 May 2011, 04:21

@Ahau,
I chose lilo when I made a new installation, and it works very nicely on all my PCs; so just kept your instructions but
do not try it yer. :wink:

suggestions or modules needed :

1. I used .sq4.lzm modules GIMP from ahz and LibreOffice from cch; both put their own icon on v09 desktop,
but after converted to .xzm, error messenges roar screen after screen, and lost the way to boot up rc2.

2. locale module constructed with language-selection-tool does not show characters in name of the first folder
folder ("guest" or root's ) correctly, but all other 3 desktop folders are okay.

Thanks !

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1352
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#40 by Blaze » 31 May 2011, 07:33

fanthom, you are right :friends:
I tweaked 002-xorg.xzm (added xf86-video-nouveau-git_20110417_8378443-i486-1.xzm) - now i don't have a black screen at boot up.
Thanks.

Image
I see a floppy drive icon :roll:
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#41 by Ahau » 31 May 2011, 17:31

the porteus save.dat manager seems to be missing from RC2.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

crashman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 118
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:03
Location: Poland

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#42 by crashman » 31 May 2011, 18:20

@fanthom
[quote="fanthom"]@crashman
KVM is enabled in kernel by default:

Code: Select all

grep kvm /lib/modules/2.6.38.7-porteus/modules.dep
kernel/arch/x86/kvm/kvm.ko:
kernel/arch/x86/kvm/kvm-intel.ko: kernel/arch/x86/kvm/kvm.ko
kernel/arch/x86/kvm/kvm-amd.ko: kernel/arch/x86/kvm/kvm.ko
Heh it's my bad i search /dev/kvm - this option available only on hardware support - in my laptop doesn't hardware support :( and Kqemu project lose i need use earlier distro with kqemu support :wall:

User avatar
agreimann
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 137
Joined: 19 Apr 2011, 21:09
Location: U.S.

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#43 by agreimann » 31 May 2011, 18:55

Please see my comments on the boot scripts... I think we need to re-work how the save.dat container is built. Writing from Porteus now... congrats on fixing the boot-stopping bugs on 64-bit notebooks!

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#44 by Hamza » 01 Jun 2011, 08:40

@agreimann
Please see my comments on the boot scripts... I think we need to re-work how the save.dat container is built.
You don't respect this rule.
11. Keep on topic - If you are replying about something to do with iptables for example, and someone mentions a configuration tool that runs in KDE, don't start talking about KDE, stick to the topic. Go start a new topic and post a link to the old one if there is relevant information there.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

toby
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 09 May 2011, 02:29
Location: Kuala Lumpur

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#45 by toby » 01 Jun 2011, 12:20

Hi,

I would like to report something here with the latest V.1 x86 and 64 rc2

psinfo:

Code: Select all

----------------------
Output from psinfo
----------------------
script by jayflood
.
.

====== USER INFO =====
User is: root
.
===== MACHINE INFO =====
Platform: i686
Kernel: 2.6.38.7-porteus
Processor: AMD E-350 Processor
Base Board Information
	Manufacturer: ASUSTeK Computer Inc.
	Product Name: K43U 
MemTotal:        7816196 kB
MemFree:         6965984 kB
Bootparam: root=/dev/ram0 ramdisk_size=6666 rw initrd=/boot/initrd.xz vga=791 autoexec=xconf;telinit~4 changes=/porteus/ BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz 
.
===== SOUND INFO =====
Sound card:  0 [Generic        ]: HDA-Intel - HD-Audio Generic
                      HD-Audio Generic at 0xfeb44000 irq 41
 1 [SB             ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
                      HDA ATI SB at 0xfeb40000 irq 16
Sound driver: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.23.
.
===== PARTITION INFO =====
Porteus is on: /mnt/sr0
.
Partitions: 
sda
sda1
sda2
.
Mounted: 
/dev/sr0       iso9660  251M  251M     0 100% /mnt/sr0
/dev/sda1      fuseblk   56G   28G   29G  50% /mnt/sda1
/dev/sda2      fuseblk  243G   24G  220G  10% /mnt/sda2
.
===== OPTICAl DRIVE =====
sr0
.
===== USB INFO =====
Removables: 
Removable status: sd0:0:0:0:[sda]Protect
.
lsusb: Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0bda:8187 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. RTL8187 Wireless Adapter
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 04f2:b23b Chicony Electronics Co., Ltd 
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 002: ID 15d9:0a4d Trust International B.V. 
Bus 004 Device 003: ID 13d3:3304 IMC Networks 
.
===== SCREEN INFO =====
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1366 x 768, maximum 8192 x 8192
.
===== MODULES LOADED =====
000-kernel.xzm
001-core.xzm
002-xorg.xzm
003-lxde.xzm
004-kde.xzm
005-kdeapps.xzm
006-koffice.xzm
007-devel.xzm
008-firefox.xzm
.
===== NETWORK INFO =====
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr F4:6D:04:A3:F1:AE  
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
          Interrupt:40 Base address:0x2000 

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:14 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:14 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:856 (856.0 b)  TX bytes:856 (856.0 b)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr E0:B9:A5:46:F0:DE  
          inet addr:192.168.1.4  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::e2b9:a5ff:fe46:f0de/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:3873 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:3993 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:4689422 (4.4 Mb)  TX bytes:474250 (463.1 Kb)

wlan1     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:C0:CA:4F:D9:9F  
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
.
# Generated by dhcpcd from wlan0
# /etc/resolv.conf.head can replace this line
nameserver 192.168.1.1
# /etc/resolv.conf.tail can replace this line
.
===== PCI INFO =====
lspci: 00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Pavilion DM1Z-3000 Host bridge
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Device 9802
00:01.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc Device 1314
00:04.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device 1512
00:11.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 SATA Controller [AHCI mode] (rev 40)
00:12.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 42)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 IDE Controller (rev 40)
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 LPC host controller (rev 40)
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge (rev 40)
00:14.5 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI2 Controller
00:15.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc Device 43a0
00:15.1 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc Device 43a1
00:16.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:16.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 0 (rev 43)
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 1
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 2
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 3
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 4
00:18.5 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 6
00:18.6 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 5
00:18.7 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 7
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 06)
04:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)
.
.
===== LOGS INFO =====
dmesg | tail 
.
[  306.477059] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
[  310.028238] wlan0: authenticate with 00:1e:58:ba:a0:fe (try 1)
[  310.030270] wlan0: authenticated
[  310.030323] wlan0: associate with 00:1e:58:ba:a0:fe (try 1)
[  310.033341] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 00:1e:58:ba:a0:fe (capab=0x471 status=0 aid=2)
[  310.033351] wlan0: associated
[  310.033824] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready
[  310.261583] Intel AES-NI instructions are not detected.
[  310.380251] padlock_aes: VIA PadLock not detected.
[  320.362024] wlan0: no IPv6 routers present
.
.
cat /var/log/messages | tail
.
Jun  1 16:02:27 (none) kernel: [  310.033824] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready
Jun  1 16:02:27 (none) kernel: [  310.261583] Intel AES-NI instructions are not detected.
Jun  1 16:02:27 (none) kernel: [  310.380251] padlock_aes: VIA PadLock not detected.
Jun  1 16:02:28 (none) dhcpcd[3329]: version 5.2.11 starting
Jun  1 16:02:28 (none) dhcpcd[3329]: wlan0: broadcasting for a lease
Jun  1 16:02:30 (none) dhcpcd[3329]: wlan0: offered 192.168.1.4 from 192.168.1.1
Jun  1 16:02:30 (none) dhcpcd[3329]: wlan0: acknowledged 192.168.1.4 from 192.168.1.1
Jun  1 16:02:30 (none) dhcpcd[3329]: wlan0: checking for 192.168.1.4
Jun  1 16:02:35 (none) dhcpcd[3329]: wlan0: leased 192.168.1.4 for 3600 seconds
Jun  1 16:02:35 (none) dhcpcd[3329]: forked to background, child pid 3355
..
========x86 V1.0 rc2=========

Informatinal - artsmessage
==========================

Sound server informational message:
Error while initializing the sound driver:
device: default can't be opened for playback (No such file or directory)
The sound server will continue, using the null output device.


same thing happen in both cases on kde desktop
1.direct boot from liveCD
2.logout and login again

######################################

There is no audio output when playing mp3 file with Audacious, unless I manually change the pcm device which is under "preferences---->audio--->preferences"
several options are available under pcm device:
1) default(Default PCM device)
2) null (Discard all samples(playback) or generate zero samples(capture))
3) hdmi:CARD=Generic,DEV=0(HD-Audio Generic,HDMI 0 HDMI Audio Output)
4) default:CARD=SB(HDA ATI SB, ALC269VB Analog Default Audio Device)
5) front:CARD=SB,DV=0(HDA ATI SB, ALC269VB Analog Front speakers)
6) surround40:CARD=SB,DEV=0(HDA ATI SB,ALC269VB Analog 4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers)
7) surround41:CARD=SB,DEV=0(HDA ATI SB,ALC269VB Analog 4.1 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers)
8) surround50:CARD=SB,DEV=0(HDA ATI SB,ALC269VB Analog 5.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers)
9) surround51:CARD=SB,DEV=0(HDA ATI SB,ALC269VB Analog 5.1 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers)
10) surround71:CARD=SB,DEV=0(HDA ATI SB,ALC269VB Analog 7.1 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers)
11) hw:0,3(HDMI 0)
12) hw:1,0(ALC269VB Analog)

obviously, only item 3 to 10 and 12 are working if and only if with the option "hw:1(HDA ATI SB)" to be selected under "Mixer device" otherwise the following message will pop out:.

ALSA error
=========
No suitable mixer element
"snd_pcm_hw_params_set_rate failed:Invalid argument."

There are 3 options under Mixer device:
1) default (Default mixer device)
2) hw:0 (HD-Audio Generic)
3) hw:1 (HDA ATI SB)

###################################################


volume controller on the lower right panel(speaker icon):
========================================================
Initially, the default "Current mixer" is set to "ATI R6xx HDMI". with this setting the volume can not be adjusted, this also bring to another problem of no audio output when playing my rmvb movies with kPlayer, fortunately, this could be easily overcome when I manually change the mixer from "ATI R6xx HDMI" to "Realtek ALC269VB".
Just simply right click the speaker icon, select "Select master channel" and finally, change the option of "Current Mixer" with "Realtek ALC269VB".

####################################################

Problem remain the same of no audio output when playing the file on youtube website with firefox browser.

From the above,I suspect the problems exist are because of the OS did not auto associate the audio device correctly i.e "Realtek ALC269VB" & "HDA ATI SB" although it could detectable during start up.

####################################################

For =========64 bit rc2=========

The KDE desktop startup music is audible and the volume controller associate correctly with the device, the problem is the video and mp3 players did not auto select the device correctly, and I have to manually change them both. Finally, the youtube file is not audible as well.


Please let me know if you need more info, hope you can fix these all for the coming official release..

Thank you

Regards

Toby.
small little potato

Post Reply