Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4626
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#1 by fanthom » 27 May 2011, 05:33

As you probably know due to kindness of brokenman i had a pleasure to work on 32bits (again) and release rc2 for this arch. I must say that i enjoyed that and after a week with KDE-3.5.12 Trinity i have no doubts that it works faster than KDE-4, especially on PC's with older hardware.
Here is the result of my 32bit adventure:
http://ponce.cc/porteus/i486/testing/po ... 1_rc2-x86/

Userland stays with slackware-13.37 (except for the graphics stack) and it will be like that for 1.0 Final. Kernel got bumped to "safe" 2.6.38.7 version, many packages were re-compiled from sources to provide maximum compatibility with slack-13.37. No big changes as this is mostly a bugfix release.
Short changelog:
- updated python to 2.6.6 (added deps: tcl, tclx, tk, libodbc)
- some new packages: libnotify, librsvg, sqlite (rpm is 008-firefox independent now), faad, libsndfile
- added pm-utils so lxde and kde supports hibernation/suspend through KDM/LXDM
- all multimedia packages moved from 004/005 to 002 so they are available by default in every desktop
- updated graphics stack: mesa, libdrm, nouveau to slackware-current.
- BMP replaced by Audacious (thanks Blaze for the new Skin)
- all porteus tools/scripts moved from /usr/bin to /opt/porteus-scripts so it's very easy to find them - especially cli ones.
- linuxrc adds -x bit for all files in executable path copied from /rootcopy folder during pxe-boot (Falcony's request)
- /boot/pxelinux.cfg/start launches pxe boot services also from /mnt/sdx folder and not /boot. This is useful with copy2ram cheatcode when /boot is not mounted at all (credits: Falcony)
- old color scheme for bootsplash is back ( credits: brokenman)
- UAC.exe replaced by TweakUac.exe (credits: Blaze)
- various fixes in /boot/docs (credits: Ahau, Rava)
- moved all kde settings to ~/.kde and symlinked it to ~/.kde3
- added KDE desktop boot option to LXDM. now you can switch from LXDE to KDE without leaving runlevel 4
- gtk-nodoka theme replaced Water Vapor and is set as default for gtk applications in both LXDE/KDE desktops
- all configs are unified for guest/root, 64bit/32bit LXDE (not possible for KDE)
- enabled autologin in KDM/LXDM. it works the same as in 64bits (sorry Blaze)


following bugs are closed off:
- removed modesetting driver
- linuxrc ejects CD's properly during shutdown
- kernel headers reverted back to slackware-13.37 (thanks ponce)
- fixed activation of kde apps in LXDE which caused system hang in some circumstances, also closed another potential bug from "Stale NFS handle" series.
- fixed mc ncurses menu after 'su' from guest
- added suid to kcheckpass so guest is able to 'lock' KDE session properly
- fixed zoom shortcut in Kpdf (thanks rnport)
- syslinux has i586 arch and not i686 (thanks cest73)
- fixed autostart for wicd in LXDE and kmix in KDE (second instance does not appear after logout/login)
- added missing KDE/Koffice headers to 007-devel
- fixed all konqueror services. they now uses kdesu for guest
- fixed DCOP server bug after using kdesu by guest
- removed "detailed view" icon from konqueror (upstream bug: confirmed with Kubuntu)
- fixed some missing icons in Kmenu/Lxde menu
- psinfo produces output on caller's desktop (previously it was always root)

one bug stays open:
- KDM "invisible shutdown/reboot window". this requires recompilation of Trinity i guess.

I didn't touch these ones:
extpkg, modtools, xpns-tool
brokenman is the best person to fix them.

I didn't merge gksu-polkit as i was not happy with the result (always got a window with notification: couldn't enter a folder). ponce - thanks for your effort....
Floppy support was removed from Trinity. Up to brokenman if he want's it back.

Hope you will enjoy this rc and waiting on first bug reports :)

Regards,
The Porteus Team
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Seq_Res
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 51
Joined: 17 Jan 2011, 02:07
Location: China

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#2 by Seq_Res » 27 May 2011, 07:35

Really love it ! is there an easy way to convert .sq4.lzm to .xzm ?
@ahau, thanks (this rc2 doesn't boot this old pc either; try to use v09 bootinst)

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 733
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#3 by beny » 27 May 2011, 12:19

http://www.mediafire.com/?n500id0e2k0fb hi, nvidia driver for the new baby.bye

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1551
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#4 by Blaze » 27 May 2011, 12:29

fanthom, thanks a lot.
Blaze wrote:If i boot up Porteus
1) and when i press faster the button 'Enter' to skip password) i have a black screen.
2) i wait 1 minute and then i press faster the button 'Enter' to skip password - Porteus 32 bit is started. I don't have a black screen.
The same story with RC2. I checked the md5sum of RC2 - all ok.

I think:

a) need to set by default this wallpaper http://img801.imageshack.us/img801/4516/porteus.jpg for 32 bit
but need to tweak the url text - it look badly for me.

b) need to add the crystal decoration (crystal 1.0.7.xzm).

hm, the way is broken..., look at this scrrenshot http://img804.imageshack.us/img804/632/teus2.jpg
if i type my way in adress - all ok.
Floppy support was removed from Trinity.
I see a floppy drive again :D and kwrite does not set by default for txt files.
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5657
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#5 by brokenman » 27 May 2011, 19:11

Looks good. Too rephrase Fanthom ... HE was kind enough to give me a chance to work on the Package Manager and push out rc2 for me. Much appreciated!

I think crystal theme is nice, will probably use this.
/tmp/.ICE-unix needs chmod 4777 or you get annoying interrupts in console.
Activating a sq4 .lzm module still uses the kdialog

Everything else for me runs nicely, apart from my dual graphics switcheroo ... but this has nothing to do with porteus.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

crashman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 118
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:03
Location: Poland

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#6 by crashman » 27 May 2011, 20:18

ndiswrapper not work is wrong path actually /lib/modules/misc must be /lib/modules/2.6.38.7-porteus/kernel/drivers/misc

Porteus standard logged as guest user but switch to root and open home folder in konqueror i see /home/guest not a /root.

Great job !!!

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1116
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#7 by wread » 28 May 2011, 01:18

@fanthom
I was happy to read you bumped python to version 2.6.6. for I found it was necessary for the HP Printer modules to work, and had made an extra package for it.

To test rc.2, I installed the printing modules and deleted my python 2.6.6, rebooted and tested "hp-check". The test failed, it said "python-2.6.4 detected, needed is 2.6.6".... :o

I installed again my python 2.6.6. and it worked again.

Cheers!

Posted after 1 hour 5 minutes 4 seconds:
@fanthom
This is a post from April 12 to brokenman; he didn't pass it on to you :no: . Please take note for the final.

Hola brokenman!
I am working on the HPPrinting chapter and I found that there is no Kde Printer Setup any more. If you type "kcmshell --list", you can verify that. Maybe that is a Trinity issue, I don't know.

Then, printer setups are to be made over Start>System>Manage Printers. I did so and got "Error 404: Not Found" . To correct that I simply added "admin" to the call of Manage Printers; it was "http://localhost:631", now is "http://localhost:631/admin.

For that you have to open 002-core.xzm and go to /usr/share/applications/cups.desktop and add "admin" to the call and repack again. :D ( I must say that the kde envelopes for unpacking and repacking sometimes don't work for me, I use the konsole commands, they are more reliable)
Regards!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5657
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#8 by brokenman » 28 May 2011, 14:14

Thank you. I will begin tweaking rc2 with all of your suggestions.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4626
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#9 by fanthom » 28 May 2011, 15:59

@wread
"This is a post from April 12 to brokenman; he didn't pass it on to you :no: . Please take note for the final."
some clarification: brokenman is scheduled for FINAL - i have done rc2 only :)
will help with debugging anyway.

a) pls double check your installation as python-2.6.6 is there for sure :)
b) thanks for cups tip. added to 64bits as well.

@Seq_Res
does it mean that current syslinux doesn't work for you? i have downgraded it to i586 so should be ok...

@beny
thanks for nvidia :) added to the main repo.

@Blaze
1) pls provide Xorg.0.log when you get black screen once again.
i thinks it may be caused by 'ldconfig' process running in the background which has not enough time to update shared libs cache. could you try to boot the system (with 1 min delay) and then copy /etc/ld.so.cache to /rootcopy and check if that helps during next boot?
if yes then we will have to include ld.so.cache in FINAL for 32/64 bits.
2) i didn't set your wallpaper for rc2 (didn't like the logo - sorry). this is a problem with graphics design: one like this, second one that....

@all) any ideas how to set priority for kwrite over kate globally?
(maybe remove kate as there is kword as 3rd word processor?)

@crashman
my bad - i'm sure brokenman wont do this mistake for FINAL :)
temporary solution:

Code: Select all

mv /lib/modules/misc /lib/modules/2.6.38.7-porteus
depmod -a
Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1551
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#10 by Blaze » 28 May 2011, 17:15

fanthom wrote:1) pls provide Xorg.0.log when you get black screen once again.
i thinks it may be caused by 'ldconfig' process running in the background which has not enough time to update shared libs cache. could you try to boot the system (with 1 min delay) and then copy /etc/ld.so.cache to /rootcopy and check if that helps during next boot?
I have failed. /etc/ld.so.cache (with 1 min delay) in /porteus/rootcopy/etc/ does not help me.
Look at my Xorg.0.log from RC2

Note.
I use the PCI-E NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 1024Mb DDR2 128bit.

fanthom wrote:2) i didn't set your wallpaper for rc2 (didn't like the logo - sorry). this is a problem with graphics design: one like this, second one that....
You are right (about one like this, second one that...), sorry, but my IMHO: The black style for 32 bit look badly..., for 64 bit it look fine :)
fanthom wrote:any ideas how to set priority for kwrite over kate globally?
Look at this how to http://davelers.com/Linux/KDE/Kate/

Cheers
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

feng
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 62
Joined: 18 Jan 2011, 15:51
Location: internet

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#11 by feng » 29 May 2011, 05:57

hi! I met problem.

1. i ran pppoe-setup, it didnt create the file resolv.conf


2. and the file /etc/resolv.conf didnt be replaced by the one i put in /porteus/rootcopy/etc/resolv.conf

so i have to copy that one to overwrite the one in /etc manually once while i boot up the porteus rc2

3. very first to change the password of root and guest,
the script prompt me that password file passwd.xzm was in /home/guest/Desktop, and it has to be move to /etc
actually, i couldnt find out that one

and later i find out one file gshadow in /tmp/passwdxxxx/
so i copy this one to /porteus/rootcopy/etc/

crashman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 118
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:03
Location: Poland

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#12 by crashman » 29 May 2011, 06:55

@feng
look in this thread http://porteus.org/forum/viewtopic.php? ... ndns#p2460 and my solution .

User avatar
andre5775
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Jan 2011, 18:20
Location: Leipzig

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#13 by andre5775 » 29 May 2011, 07:24

no boot on Intel Celeron M processor 1400Mhz is incompatible :cry:

IBM Thinkpad R50e
Intel 855
1gb Ram

crashman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 118
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:03
Location: Poland

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc2-x86 "So close to the FINAL..."

Post#14 by crashman » 29 May 2011, 07:33

@ andre5775
no boot on Intel Celeron M processor 1400Mhz is incompatible
In my toshiba-satellite L20 is the same procesor intel celeron M 1400Mhz and work fine ,
please tell me how do you boot porteus, from cd or pendrive ? and what you see ?

User avatar
Syntux
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 24
Joined: 24 May 2011, 06:01
Location: Germany

Problems in language selection tool

Post#15 by Syntux » 29 May 2011, 09:35

I have found some problems with the language-selection-tool that used to work fine in previous releases:

1. Since porteus uses /opt/porteus-scripts as new HOME for the scripts like the language-selection-tool, the old hardcoded path /usr/bin should be changed to /opt/porteus-scripts, else there will be some problems. Ideally the path should be not be hardcoded, but made relative to where the script is called from.
2. When choosing German settings and using the created module 009-locales-de_DE.utf8.xzm I get the following errors: "warning: setlocale: LC_ALL: cannot change locale (de_DE.utf8)

Post Reply